Tachdriver install help needed - Page 7 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2007, 07:25 PM   #61
StreetFocusZX3
Focus Enthusiast
 
StreetFocusZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 47579
Location: Frankfort, IL
What I Drive: 2006 Sonic Blue ZX3 W/ Sap

Posts: 371
FF Reputation: 1 StreetFocusZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
ok so i have an 06 zx3 with the 2.0 duratec motor and i bought a Ford Racing Tach driver and wondered if i could tap into the harness inside my glove box. u guys might have answered my question prob earlier sometime in this thread but at least if i can get an answer i will know if it will work or not for my motor and year. if any info it would be greatly apperciated thanks
__________________
2006 Sonic Blue ZX3 w/Sap
2002 Black Lightning(Boosted)
1998 Ford F150 Nascar Edition(Sold)
1995 Ford Bronco XLT(Sold)
StreetFocusZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-27-2007, 08:00 PM   #62
Algorhythm
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20623
Location: United Stupid of America, Nauru
What I Drive: 2005 ZX3, 2004 Kawasaki ZX6R 636

Posts: 7,492
FF Reputation: 105 Algorhythm Excellent Standing Member Algorhythm Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
I installed the tach driver on my 05 by tapping into 2 wires in the GEM box in the glove box. Check this thread for the exact wires and plugs to tap in to.
Algorhythm is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 08:27 PM   #63
StreetFocusZX3
Focus Enthusiast
 
StreetFocusZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 47579
Location: Frankfort, IL
What I Drive: 2006 Sonic Blue ZX3 W/ Sap

Posts: 371
FF Reputation: 1 StreetFocusZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
thanks algorhythm helps alot!! taping the the harness in the glove box sounded a whole lot easier and that was the answer i was looking for thanx again and bad ass ride...i want a carbon hood soon!
__________________
2006 Sonic Blue ZX3 w/Sap
2002 Black Lightning(Boosted)
1998 Ford F150 Nascar Edition(Sold)
1995 Ford Bronco XLT(Sold)
StreetFocusZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2007, 04:28 PM   #64
StreetFocusZX3
Focus Enthusiast
 
StreetFocusZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 47579
Location: Frankfort, IL
What I Drive: 2006 Sonic Blue ZX3 W/ Sap

Posts: 371
FF Reputation: 1 StreetFocusZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
ok i do have a couple questions still...i do have an 06 2.0 duratech...with the tach driver..will it mater if i have an automatic transmission or not im hoping not becuz i wanted a tach to monitor when its shift points are since mine didnt come with one...2nd ?....i did read earlier bout tapping into pins...now i bought a Ford Racing Tach Driver and was wondering if pin 34 and 45 were the right ones to tap into? and if they are which pin # does the white wire tap into...other then that i think all of my other questions were answered. Plz Help..!
__________________
2006 Sonic Blue ZX3 w/Sap
2002 Black Lightning(Boosted)
1998 Ford F150 Nascar Edition(Sold)
1995 Ford Bronco XLT(Sold)
StreetFocusZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 02:34 PM   #65
Viper83
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 55140
Location: Kansas
What I Drive: 96 Dodge Ram 1500

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 Viper83 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Tach wiring

My son has a 2002 Focus and just installed a tach. The #48 pin location did the trick. Works Perfect. Thanks Guys for all of your help!!!!
Viper83 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 05:46 AM   #66
Drazhar
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Drazhar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 55148
Location: Kansas
What I Drive: 2006 Silver ZX4

Posts: 26
FF Reputation: 1 Drazhar Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OAC_Sparky View Post

is it at all possible to get that dash fitted in to a 06 ZX4 "S"? and have it function correctly of course...
Drazhar is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 07:36 PM   #67
Derek Zoolander
Focus Addict
 
Derek Zoolander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 55170
Location: US
What I Drive: 2008 Vista Blue SES

Posts: 627
FF Reputation: 26 Derek Zoolander Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
okay sorry to bump such an old thread... but i am installing a window switch which requires a tach signal...

I have a 2.0 duratec on an 08 focus... Now the ecu is located under the hood, not in the glove box like specified here. Now the ECU has 4 wiring harnesses plugged into it... I get how to navigate those, but which ECU wire bunch do i need to look in??

they look like this
..____
-| ECU|
-|ECU |
-| ECU|
-|___|

where each - represents a cluster of wires going in
__________________
Team Duratec #167

If I have helped, rep is always appreciated.

Derek Zoolander is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2008, 08:28 AM   #68
auzzie
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
auzzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 46834
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
What I Drive: 2006 FORD ROUSH ZX3

Posts: 19
FF Reputation: 0 auzzie Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thank you very much for your great input mate! I employed the ECU installation since, as you mentioned, it keeps the cables and tach driver protected from the elements. Installation was straight forward although in my case it was a tad tricky since my focus has a roll cage and access was rather uncomfortable but viable. Power, ground and dimmer lighting for the tachometer and tach driver was obtained from the radio bay. Which in my case was removed and replaced by a gauge bay for my application gauges. Thank you very much. G'day! auzzie.
auzzie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 05:07 PM   #69
focusmike1031
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 52268
Location: Stafford TX
What I Drive: 2007 cd silver, zx3

Posts: 15
FF Reputation: 1 focusmike1031 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
does anyone know how to hook up an msd tach driver which is the cop style?? i have a 2007 focus zx3.
focusmike1031 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 04:32 PM   #70
focus 4x4
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88036
Location: london, United Kingdom
What I Drive: ford focus

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 focus 4x4 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
My Question is a little bit in the opposite direction.....

On a 2000 focus zetec , what id like to know is what engine sensor or sensors does the ecu get its signal from to drive the tacho/rev counter.

Many thanks
focus 4x4 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.