Tachdriver install help needed - Page 4 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2005, 09:44 PM   #31
OAC_Sparky
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 25741
Location: Hamilton, Canada
What I Drive: Liquid Grey 2005 ZX4 ST

Posts: 118
FF Reputation: 1 OAC_Sparky Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally posted by Caleb first, i found the #21 and 22 pins and one wire was grey and the other was white, so i figured that i needed to hook the white wire from the driver up to the white wire on the pcm, and that left the black to the grey. [/B]
Hold on --

The wires you should have are :


PCM pin# 21 is crankshaft position sensor + white/red stripe
PCM pin# 22 is crankshaft position sensor - brown/red stripe

Only.

Check your plug orientation, and keep in mind that I don't have a plug to confirm, so double check, make sure I haven't made the mistake (I'm working from the schematics). The wire colours have to be right though.

On the driver, the two wires that go to the PCM are the two in the thick black sheath. The red should go to switched power, the black to ground, the green to the tach.
OAC_Sparky is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2005, 08:24 PM   #32
Caleb
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1534
Location: San Antonio, Tx
What I Drive: 2002 Focus LX

Posts: 51
FF Reputation: 1 Caleb Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
yeah so scratch the whole tach driver thing. i tried the pin 48 on the pcm and it worked! no need for the tach driver. now i have to sell it. oh well i finally have a tach in my car after 2 and a half years. thanks for all the help OAC_sparky.
Caleb is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-12-2005, 03:17 AM   #33
OAC_Sparky
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 25741
Location: Hamilton, Canada
What I Drive: Liquid Grey 2005 ZX4 ST

Posts: 118
FF Reputation: 1 OAC_Sparky Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
w00+ !!

Glad to hear it.
OAC_Sparky is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-12-2005, 03:34 AM   #34
DareDevil03
Across the Pond
 
DareDevil03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 13938
Location: I can't tell you, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2001 Nissan Primera (UK Spec)

Posts: 1,743
Points 5,115, Level 45
Points: 5,115, Level: 45 Points: 5,115, Level: 45 Points: 5,115, Level: 45
Level Up 83% Completed
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 DareDevil03 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (18)
I'm still trying to get my shift light to work.
__________________
Proudly Serving
Ask me about UK parts.
DareDevil03 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-12-2005, 05:15 PM   #35
OAC_Sparky
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 25741
Location: Hamilton, Canada
What I Drive: Liquid Grey 2005 ZX4 ST

Posts: 118
FF Reputation: 1 OAC_Sparky Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What are you stuck at?
OAC_Sparky is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2006, 07:40 PM   #36
idontn02000
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 5607
Location: hartsville S.C.
What I Drive: 2003 zx3

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 idontn02000 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I got a 2003 focus with ztec. Trying to hook up faze tach, with autometer tach adapter. how do you hook it up? ive talked to ford racing and faze techs. They both say hook to CPS. I cant get it to work. From tach hooking red to pos(+) and black to ground(-) green to grey on tach adapter. Tach adapter ground to battery, red/black wire to brown/red and red to brown/red. If any one could help i would apreciate it.
idontn02000 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2006, 12:34 AM   #37
OAC_Sparky
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 25741
Location: Hamilton, Canada
What I Drive: Liquid Grey 2005 ZX4 ST

Posts: 118
FF Reputation: 1 OAC_Sparky Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
If you have a 2003 Zetec you should be able to skip the driver altogether and tap off the ECU pin 48 explained earlier in this thread.
OAC_Sparky is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2006, 01:08 PM   #38
idontn02000
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 5607
Location: hartsville S.C.
What I Drive: 2003 zx3

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 idontn02000 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i cant find pin 48 in ECU. is that not the one on the pass. kick panel? there is not a wire in pin 48.
idontn02000 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2006, 04:41 PM   #39
DareDevil03
Across the Pond
 
DareDevil03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 13938
Location: I can't tell you, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2001 Nissan Primera (UK Spec)

Posts: 1,743
Points 5,115, Level 45
Points: 5,115, Level: 45 Points: 5,115, Level: 45 Points: 5,115, Level: 45
Level Up 83% Completed
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 DareDevil03 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (18)
I hate trying to find the pins.
__________________
Proudly Serving
Ask me about UK parts.
DareDevil03 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2006, 07:17 PM   #40
OAC_Sparky
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 25741
Location: Hamilton, Canada
What I Drive: Liquid Grey 2005 ZX4 ST

Posts: 118
FF Reputation: 1 OAC_Sparky Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally posted by idontn02000
there is not a wire in pin 48.
No, there is no wire in that pin. You have to strip a wire and jam it into the hole, then tape the wire to the harness.
OAC_Sparky is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Cadillac ATS-V, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.