Tachdriver install help needed - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2005, 12:22 AM   #11
OAC_Sparky
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 25741
Location: Hamilton, Canada
What I Drive: Liquid Grey 2005 ZX4 ST

Posts: 118
FF Reputation: 1 OAC_Sparky Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Just a follow up to Caleb,

Microtonal is correct.

PCM pin# 21 is crankshaft position sensor + white/red stripe
PCM pin# 22 is crankshaft position sensor - brown/red stripe

Your PCM is in the same location (passenger side kickpanel), but instead it has one large plug on it.

I cannot tell by the diagram if the connector is held in by as screw in the center of the plug (it looks like it is, maybe someone can confirm) but if you can get the plug out, turn the face toward you.

Looking at the face, there are 4 rows of pin sockets, with a gap in the middle (around what I'm assuming is the screw)

Orient the plug so that the wire at the UPPER LEFT is a GREEN wire with a BLUE stripe. This is PIN 1

Pins are numbered LEFT to RIGHT -- LOOKING at the FACE
Each row has 26 pins
Row 1 >> 1 to 26
Row 2 >> 27 to 52
Row 3 >> 53 to 78
Row 4 >> 79 to 104

Looking at the face of the plug #21 & #22 should be the 5th and 6th wires from the RIGHT on the top row.

There have been reports that #48 is a clean tach signal, but the official schematics say that this pin is "not used". If you are at all electrically competent, you can test this with a DC voltmeter, between PIN #48 and a good ground. If it is a tach signal you should be able to watch a voltage increase with an RPM increase. Make sure you have the right pin, there won't be a wire in it. It'll be the 5th hole from the RIGHT in the second row. Apparently the connector is very deep, so you'll have to push the wire in FAR.

If it is indeed a tach signal, you don't NEED the driver.

Good luck

Edit: Corrected pin count orientation. Make sure you count pins looking at the face of the connector.

Last edited by OAC_Sparky; 08-02-2005 at 06:54 PM.
OAC_Sparky is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2005, 03:27 PM   #12
Caleb
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1534
Location: San Antonio, Tx
What I Drive: 2002 Focus LX

Posts: 51
FF Reputation: 1 Caleb Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
thanks a ton
Caleb is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2005, 04:17 PM   #13
microtonal
FF #1 Most Wanted
 
microtonal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 470
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2012 GTI, 2014 Forester XT

Posts: 6,890
FF Reputation: 12 microtonal Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (7)
Thanks for the detailed instructions. This will allow you to install the tach driver in the car and no need to get into the engine bay to splice the CPS wire.

Very informative.
__________________
Just reading.....
microtonal is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 12:15 AM   #14
DareDevil03
Across the Pond
 
DareDevil03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 13938
Location: I can't tell you, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2001 Nissan Primera (UK Spec)

Posts: 1,743
Points 5,115, Level 45
Points: 5,115, Level: 45 Points: 5,115, Level: 45 Points: 5,115, Level: 45
Level Up 83% Completed
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 DareDevil03 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (18)
What about for the 02 SVT? I just installed a shift light. I'm running it off the stck tach and having a hard time finding the signal to set it off at the right RPM.
__________________
Proudly Serving
Ask me about UK parts.
DareDevil03 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 12:45 AM   #15
OAC_Sparky
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 25741
Location: Hamilton, Canada
What I Drive: Liquid Grey 2005 ZX4 ST

Posts: 118
FF Reputation: 1 OAC_Sparky Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally posted by DareDevil03
What about for the 02 SVT? I just installed a shift light. I'm running it off the stck tach and having a hard time finding the signal to set it off at the right RPM.
You have to be more specific. What shift light do you have? What does the instructions for your shift light say?

A shift light needs something to trigger it. Internally, or externally.

Internally triggered shift lights basically have a tachometer integrated into it, you then set it to trigger when it senses the proper RPM, whether digitally set (like my Stewart-Warner GUS) or by a "pill" which is hardware set.

An externally triggered shift light needs the trigger coming from an aftermarket tach. There is no "shift signal" you can tap into on the PCM, that upshift idiot light in your gauge cluster is for fuel economy, not performance or RPM.
OAC_Sparky is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 09:51 AM   #16
DareDevil03
Across the Pond
 
DareDevil03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 13938
Location: I can't tell you, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2001 Nissan Primera (UK Spec)

Posts: 1,743
Points 5,115, Level 45
Points: 5,115, Level: 45 Points: 5,115, Level: 45 Points: 5,115, Level: 45
Level Up 83% Completed
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 DareDevil03 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (18)
It's an Autometer Pro-Shift light. It's a one or two pulse light. It uses a "pill" to tell when to light up. I bought it used. The 2002 SVT Focus does not have that dummy shift light that you mentioned.

Here is the link to Autometer's instructions:
http://www.autometer.com/download_instruction/440B.pdf
__________________
Proudly Serving
Ask me about UK parts.
DareDevil03 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 10:14 AM   #17
bledandbeaten
Focus Enthusiast
 
bledandbeaten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 18996
Location: Raleigh, NC
What I Drive: 2002 Dark Blue ZX5

Posts: 153
FF Reputation: 1 bledandbeaten Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
is there any way to make the "idiot shift light" light up for performance, jw cause in my opinion it would look much cleaner than having some random light turning on and off sporadicaly in my car
__________________
damage left to fix on my focus: hood, bumper, upper grille, headlights (L and R), driver side fender, radiator support, radiator, and other small asthetics...
bledandbeaten is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 12:28 PM   #18
OAC_Sparky
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 25741
Location: Hamilton, Canada
What I Drive: Liquid Grey 2005 ZX4 ST

Posts: 118
FF Reputation: 1 OAC_Sparky Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally posted by DareDevil03
It's an Autometer Pro-Shift light. It's a one or two pulse light. It uses a "pill" to tell when to light up. I bought it used. The 2002 SVT Focus does not have that dummy shift light that you mentioned.

Here is the link to Autometer's instructions:
http://www.autometer.com/download_instruction/440B.pdf
The shift light that you listed basically has the tach built in. It counts PPR (Pulses per revolution) and when it matches the RPM setting of the "pill" it lights up.

The problem you might have will be that you are trying to hook a motorcycle shift light into a 4 cylinder car.

In theory it should work. That shift light has two settings, 1 PPR and 2 PPR.

Since you have a Zetec, (even though it's an SVT) it should be the same PCM as Caleb's (maybe someone can confirm, I don't have the schematics in front of me). So you should be able to use the pin #48 signal which should be 2 PPR if that is indeed the tach signal.

Now, once you hook it up, the only way to change the point that the light triggers is to change the "pill".

As far as the tach driver method, you can't use the Ford tach driver easily, it puts out a converted 4 PPR signal that you would have to use a pill that is double the RPM value. ie If you want it to trigger at 6000RPM you need a 12000RPM pill.

However, you may be able to use the Autometer tach driver, IIRC you can set the output PPR.

Quote:
bledandbeaten
is there any way to make the "idiot shift light" light up for performance, jw cause in my opinion it would look much cleaner than having some random light turning on and offsporadicaly in my car
I doubt it, the light is governed by a combination of sensors that concludes that you are running at an inefficient throttle setting for the load you are pulling. That is why it is telling you to upshift.

You may be able to get a tuner to turn the light off, but I'm not sure if you can get it to change function.
OAC_Sparky is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 01:12 PM   #19
DareDevil03
Across the Pond
 
DareDevil03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 13938
Location: I can't tell you, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2001 Nissan Primera (UK Spec)

Posts: 1,743
Points 5,115, Level 45
Points: 5,115, Level: 45 Points: 5,115, Level: 45 Points: 5,115, Level: 45
Level Up 83% Completed
Level up: 83% Level up: 83% Level up: 83%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 DareDevil03 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (18)
Now how do I find pin #48? And am I connecting this to one of the 5 plugs, or one of the others behind them?
__________________
Proudly Serving
Ask me about UK parts.

Last edited by DareDevil03; 08-04-2005 at 01:17 PM.
DareDevil03 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 02:10 PM   #20
OAC_Sparky
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Fan#: 25741
Location: Hamilton, Canada
What I Drive: Liquid Grey 2005 ZX4 ST

Posts: 118
FF Reputation: 1 OAC_Sparky Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'd have to check the schematics. I don't own a SVT.

But 5 plugs? Are you certain you have the PCM?

Sounds like you have the GEM -- the door lock/alarm module.
OAC_Sparky is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.