Predator on 2000 Ranger - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Exclusive Vendor Discussions > Focus-Power Tuning

Focus-Power Tuning Discuss about forced induction upgrades and performance tuning for your Ford Focus.
Sponsored By: Focus-Power


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2005, 08:57 PM   #1
duc450
Focus Enthusiast
 
duc450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Fan#: 10651
Location: La Vergne, TN
What I Drive: 2004 Ford Focus SVT CD Silver

Posts: 295
FF Reputation: 4 duc450 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Predator on 2000 Ranger

Hey fellas I'm definately going to buy a Predator soon, my question is I know its going to work on the Focus, but my wife owns a 2000 Ranger with 2.5, can I retune the stock computer with it or will it only flash the Focus and diagnose the other Fords??? Thanks fellas


__________________
"If you ain't moving fast enough your costing me money and if your costing me money you ain't moving fast enough." -"The Machine"-
duc450 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2005, 09:12 PM   #2
WD40
The Librarian
 
WD40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 5157
Location: Helena, MT
What I Drive: '04 Sonic Blue - SVT 3Door

Posts: 13,116
FF Reputation: 138 WD40 Excellent Standing MemberWD40 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Moving to ”Ford Focus & General Car Chat”....

The Predator is "VIN Locked" to the vehicle you flash.
You can't flash 2 separate vehicles with custom tunes with one unit.
However, if you flash your fOCUS back to stock, you could load up a tune for the Ranger, and flash it.
Though, you're stuck with the stock tune on the fOCUS.
Make sense?

What you can do though, is pull codes on multiple vehicles if the need arises.

Actually, IIRC, the Ranger couldn't be flashed anyway.
It takes a chip, doesn't it?
WD40 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 11:15 PM   #3
duc450
Focus Enthusiast
 
duc450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Fan#: 10651
Location: La Vergne, TN
What I Drive: 2004 Ford Focus SVT CD Silver

Posts: 295
FF Reputation: 4 duc450 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hey thanks for the answer, I'm thinking that it takes a chip too, but dont know for sure. Thats why I asked, originally I thought I could only use a chip upgrade, but thought maybe it could be flashed after that. Lets say I saved the stock tune on the focus to a CD or harddrive, could I upload another tune to the predator and use it for another car, that way if I ever need to go back to stock on the focus all I need to do is load the program back to the predator from the desktop. Is that possible with the predator??? Thanks again fellas
__________________
"If you ain't moving fast enough your costing me money and if your costing me money you ain't moving fast enough." -"The Machine"-
duc450 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 06:40 PM   #4
WD40
The Librarian
 
WD40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 5157
Location: Helena, MT
What I Drive: '04 Sonic Blue - SVT 3Door

Posts: 13,116
FF Reputation: 138 WD40 Excellent Standing MemberWD40 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally posted by duc450
Lets say I saved the stock tune on the focus to a CD or harddrive, could I upload another tune to the predator and use it for another car
Nope.
You'd have to flash the focus back to stock first,
before the Predator would allow you to flash a different car.
As mentioned, it's VIN locked to whichever car has the custom tune.
You can't load a tune to another car, until the existing car's custom tune is unloaded,
and flashed back to the factory tune.

Hope that makes sense.

Actually, you can ask the source.
Tom of Focus Power has an area in these forums...>>>Focus-Power
Or, you can PM him...>>>Clicky

I probably should have done this in the first place, but I thought he'd see this thread or a few others would chime in and help.
I'll move this to the "Focus-Power" forum area.
WD40 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 09:22 PM   #5
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,505
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
No sorry didnt see it , No you cannot use the SVT Predator to tune anything but the Focus SVT , it will read other Ford broducts but wont tune them

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.