Duratec "Intake Tuning Valve" - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > DURATEC Performance (2003-2007)

DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) The place to chat about any Duratec 23, 23E, and 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Old 03-27-2005, 02:04 AM   #1
zxtunerdotcom
Focus Enthusiast

Fan#: 19637
What I Drive: 2005 Cloud 9 White ZX3 S

FF Reputation: 1 zxtunerdotcom Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Duratec "Intake Tuning Valve" and "Intake Manifold Runner Control"

since i'm a relative duratec noob, i started seeking sources for information regarding the mysteries of the intake manifold runner control valve, and the intake tuning valve - and how they relate to the motor's operation and performance.

here's what i dug up on the 2.3's intake tuning valve:

• The variable tumble system functions to lower emissions at cold-engine start.

• At cold-engine start, the variable tumble system increases intake airflow speed by closing the shutter valve and narrowing the intake passage. As a result, the air-fuel mixture quality from the injector is improved. Additionally, the creation of a powerful air tumble in the combustion chamber promotes the atomization of the air-fuel mixture. Due to this, exhaust emission efficiency is improved.

VARIABLE TUMBLE (INTAKE TUNING VALVE) OPERATION

Engine speed approx. 3,750 rpm or more and engine coolant temperature approx. 63°C {145°F} and more (variable tumble shutter valve is closed)