How-To: Audiophile Enclosure Upgrade - Page 7 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2007, 08:03 AM   #61
Jopala
Focus Enthusiast
 
Jopala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Fan#: 5902
Location: Silver Spring, MD
What I Drive: 2002 blue SVTF

Posts: 184
FF Reputation: 23 Jopala Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KahunaB14 View Post
On the first page it is mentioned that you have to trim the inner "Cone". Does anyone know what this did/does and what mounting depth do you have with the cone in vs. cut away?

Also, where do the wires get routed inside the box??
I can't give you any mounting depth numbers, but I do know that I couldn't have gotten the sub to fit unless I trimmed the inner cone area down a bit. I can't remember how I routed my wires. I'll try to remember to take a look at mine and maybe take a picture to show how I routed mine.
__________________
Pioneer DEH-P7700MP receiver, K&N air filter, 20% tint all but front, Steeda rear sway bar...hopefully more to come!
SVT Squad # 270
Jopala is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2007, 08:19 AM   #62
KahunaB14
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 13831
Location: Jackson, MI
What I Drive: 2008 Cosmic Blue Mazdaspeed 3 Sport

Posts: 362
FF Reputation: 1 KahunaB14 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Thanks, I will check back tomorrow. Anyone else have the info...what mounting depths am I working with here?
KahunaB14 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2007, 11:26 AM   #63
KahunaB14
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 13831
Location: Jackson, MI
What I Drive: 2008 Cosmic Blue Mazdaspeed 3 Sport

Posts: 362
FF Reputation: 1 KahunaB14 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Do you need to epoxy the hole that the speaker wire runs in through?
KahunaB14 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2007, 11:56 AM   #64
KahunaB14
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 13831
Location: Jackson, MI
What I Drive: 2008 Cosmic Blue Mazdaspeed 3 Sport

Posts: 362
FF Reputation: 1 KahunaB14 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
one last brain teaser for ya. If the stock sub was/is 8" how is the volume .065 unless the thing was acting as a ported box??? All the 8" subs I found were recommending .035-.045 cu/in. What do we do if we want to run an 8" instead of a 10"?
KahunaB14 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2007, 11:43 AM   #65
SVTmonkey
Focus Addict
 
SVTmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Fan#: 9482
Location: Canada
What I Drive: 04 CD Silver SVT Focus

Posts: 1,261
FF Reputation: 2 SVTmonkey Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KahunaB14 View Post
Do you need to epoxy the hole that the speaker wire runs in through?
I don't think I did.
__________________
"Real revolution starts with learning. If you're not angry, you're not paying attention."
SVTmonkey is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2007, 11:45 AM   #66
SVTmonkey
Focus Addict
 
SVTmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Fan#: 9482
Location: Canada
What I Drive: 04 CD Silver SVT Focus

Posts: 1,261
FF Reputation: 2 SVTmonkey Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KahunaB14 View Post
one last brain teaser for ya. If the stock sub was/is 8" how is the volume .065 unless the thing was acting as a ported box??? All the 8" subs I found were recommending .035-.045 cu/in. What do we do if we want to run an 8" instead of a 10"?
There was a ton of foam in the box that was cutting the volume down. Also remember that we are making the box slightly bigger with all the cutting.
__________________
"Real revolution starts with learning. If you're not angry, you're not paying attention."
SVTmonkey is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2007, 12:33 PM   #67
Jopala
Focus Enthusiast
 
Jopala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Fan#: 5902
Location: Silver Spring, MD
What I Drive: 2002 blue SVTF

Posts: 184
FF Reputation: 23 Jopala Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KahunaB14 View Post
Do you need to epoxy the hole that the speaker wire runs in through?
I checked last night and took pic's (go figure I brought the camera to work but forgot the cord to upload the pics). My wires are ran through a small hole that I drilled on the side and I didn't epoxy it or anything. I just ran the wires through it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jopala View Post
I actually used the same sub. When I first read up on this How-to I didn't want to take any chances so I tried to get almost identical equipment. I might just go find a grill somewhere that I could just screw on that would fit around the sub without it reaching any. I'm not sure why mine does rub and yours doesn't though. I'm definitely not losing any sleep over it though.
I also took pic's of this to show but I have to wait until I can get them off my camera.
__________________
Pioneer DEH-P7700MP receiver, K&N air filter, 20% tint all but front, Steeda rear sway bar...hopefully more to come!
SVT Squad # 270
Jopala is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2007, 01:18 PM   #68
Jopala
Focus Enthusiast
 
Jopala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Fan#: 5902
Location: Silver Spring, MD
What I Drive: 2002 blue SVTF

Posts: 184
FF Reputation: 23 Jopala Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
So I found another way to upload my pics...the joys of being the main IT guy of a whole bldg of computers.

Pic 1 and 2 are of the rubbing that the grill is doing to my 10" sub.
Pic 3 is where my wires are running out of the box. Nothing spectacular...just a simple hole on the side. I didn't have good lighting so it's a bit blurry though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	punch1.JPG
Views:	168
Size:	91.8 KB
ID:	11335  

Click image for larger version

Name:	punch2.JPG
Views:	149
Size:	91.8 KB
ID:	11336  

Click image for larger version

Name:	punch3.JPG
Views:	146
Size:	22.4 KB
ID:	11337  

__________________
Pioneer DEH-P7700MP receiver, K&N air filter, 20% tint all but front, Steeda rear sway bar...hopefully more to come!
SVT Squad # 270
Jopala is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2007, 07:11 PM   #69
KahunaB14
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 13831
Location: Jackson, MI
What I Drive: 2008 Cosmic Blue Mazdaspeed 3 Sport

Posts: 362
FF Reputation: 1 KahunaB14 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
thanks guys, so what I think I am hearing hear is...
1) You don't need to epoxy the wire holes
2) If you want to run another 8 (like the soundsplinter RL-i8 that I was thinkin about) all you have to do is leave the foam in the box. If you want to run a 10", then pull it out.
3) The cone must have been there to support the 8" stock sub, so I am assuming you will have to trim it down to accomodate any sub that is deeper.

Thank you!!
KahunaB14 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2007, 07:43 PM   #70
fast_ryda
Focus Addict
 
fast_ryda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Fan#: 20772
Location: Bay Area, CA
What I Drive: 2002 SC Sonic Blue SVT

Posts: 888
Points 3,242, Level 35
Points: 3,242, Level: 35 Points: 3,242, Level: 35 Points: 3,242, Level: 35
Level Up 28% Completed
Level up: 28% Level up: 28% Level up: 28%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 3 fast_ryda Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
for the wire coming out of the box...I think it would be possible to use a 2" terminal cup which can be epoxied in. This way it's a sealed box
fast_ryda is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Cadillac ATS-V, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.