New owner problems - windows - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2014, 01:27 PM   #1
Krayz_tom
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Fan#: 150042
Location: Chester, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2013 Black 1.6 Zetec

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 Krayz_tom Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Unhappy New owner problems - windows

Is it normal that my drivers side window will go all the way down with one touch but not come up with one touch? I've tried resetting it using the 3 second tip from another thread but still no luck! And also is there meant to be a passenger side one touch feature as well as this is non existent at the moment?

Also I've been told that there isn't an engine cover for the 1.6 petrol version of the focus does anyone know if this is true or where I can find one?

Many thanks
Newb


Krayz_tom is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2014, 02:21 PM   #2
kam327
-----<M>-----
 
kam327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 94700
Location: Tampa, FL
What I Drive: '14 Ruby Ti w/ Handling Pkg

Posts: 2,372
FF Reputation: 11 kam327 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
In the U.S. it's one-touch down AND up. All 4 windows on the higher trim levels. Make sure you're following the reset procedure from the manual. I had to reset them every time the battery was disconnected.
kam327 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 02:35 PM   #3
Joeywhat
Strichmädchen & Koks
 
Joeywhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85247
Location: Brighton, MI
What I Drive: 2014 Mustang 3.7L SGM

Posts: 2,694
FF Reputation: 11 Joeywhat Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kam327 View Post
In the U.S. it's one-touch down AND up. All 4 windows on the higher trim levels. Make sure you're following the reset procedure from the manual. I had to reset them every time the battery was disconnected.
Maybe on a '14. My '12 only goes down one touch.
__________________
Hatch Nation #29
Joeywhat is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 02:50 PM   #4
kam327
-----<M>-----
 
kam327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 94700
Location: Tampa, FL
What I Drive: '14 Ruby Ti w/ Handling Pkg

Posts: 2,372
FF Reputation: 11 kam327 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeywhat View Post
Maybe on a '14. My '12 only goes down one touch.
Oh really? My bad. I was talking about my '12. SEL though. All four windows went up and down one touch.
kam327 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 06:02 PM   #5
CunFFS13
Focus Fanatic
 
CunFFS13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 117411
Location: Cancun, Mexico
What I Drive: 2013 Sterling Gray Ford Focus S MT

Posts: 2,240
FF Reputation: 6 CunFFS13 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
My '13 only goes down one touch.... No up
CunFFS13 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 06:24 PM   #6
SilverPony2001
Focus Addict
 
SilverPony2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 27073
Location: Naperville, IL
What I Drive: 2013 SGM Sedan SE

Posts: 1,361
FF Reputation: 8 SilverPony2001 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
All model year S and SE's do not have door modules, and only have one touch down on the driver side.

SEL, Ti, and ST have modules in all the doors and have 4 window one touch UP/DOWN.

This is for US cars. I have no idea on cars in other countries.

EDIT: The physical buttons are different between door module cars and non modules as well.



SilverPony2001 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 06:29 PM   #7
goingtoscotland
Focus Addict
 
goingtoscotland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Fan#: 132001
Location: Hull, IA
What I Drive: '14 Tuxedo Black HB, 05 Kawi ZX-10R

Posts: 774
FF Reputation: 6 goingtoscotland Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeywhat View Post
Maybe on a '14. My '12 only goes down one touch.
Only down on the 14 SE, not up.
__________________
Dawkins....Dennett....Harris....Hitchens

Hatch Nation #46
goingtoscotland is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 09:11 AM   #8
GhiaFan
Focus Fanatic
 
GhiaFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50498
Location: Tallinn Estonia
What I Drive: 2007 Panther Black Focus 1.6 Ti-VCT

Posts: 1,606
FF Reputation: 12 GhiaFan Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krayz_tom View Post
Is it normal that my drivers side window will go all the way down with one touch but not come up with one touch? I've tried resetting it using the 3 second tip from another thread but still no luck! And also is there meant to be a passenger side one touch feature as well as this is non existent at the moment?

Also I've been told that there isn't an engine cover for the 1.6 petrol version of the focus does anyone know if this is true or where I can find one?

Many thanks
Newb
UK Zetec spec Focus is equipped with drivers window one touch down only.
All other windows do not have this function.
Titanium spec is equipped with one touch up/down on all 4 windows.
GhiaFan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 01:44 PM   #9
Krayz_tom
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Fan#: 150042
Location: Chester, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2013 Black 1.6 Zetec

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 Krayz_tom Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks for the guys!
Is there anyway I can swap the window modules to make mine go up and down with one touch?
Krayz_tom is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 02:35 PM   #10
SilverPony2001
Focus Addict
 
SilverPony2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 27073
Location: Naperville, IL
What I Drive: 2013 SGM Sedan SE

Posts: 1,361
FF Reputation: 8 SilverPony2001 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krayz_tom View Post
Thanks for the guys!
Is there anyway I can swap the window modules to make mine go up and down with one touch?
I'm not sure if that's even possible. The cars with door modules, the switches and the module itself are controlled by the BCM. The switches only have 3 wires, power, ground and a data wire. You would probably have to re-wire a bunch of stuff, then have the BCM programmed to tell it you now have door modules.

The cheapest/easiest way IMO to add one touch UP/DOWN would be to install an Autoloc module, or something similar. I did this to my SE.

See here:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=324298
SilverPony2001 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.