ECU reset? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus SVT > SVT Performance (2002-2004)

SVT Performance (2002-2004) The place to chat about any 2.0L SVT DOHC Zetec engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2005, 02:34 PM   #1
svtfocus954
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Fan#: 12962
Location: NJ
What I Drive: 04 Black SVT Focus

Posts: 52
FF Reputation: 1 svtfocus954 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
ECU reset?

i just put in new plug wires, distribtor, and plugs. i disconnected the battery as advised by a thread on here. the clock didnt reset, so here are my questions:
1. did my ECU reset like it was supposed to?
2. did i loose my tune from the predator when resetting. i dont think so, but it wont hurt to ask?

thanks in advance

dave

BTW. i thought i posted this yesterday, but after searching, i couldnt find it, if i did, im sorry for the repeat, but i cant find it anywhere, if in fact i actually posted it.


svtfocus954 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2005, 02:41 PM   #2
revamp
Cashed in my chips
 
Join Date: May 2004
Fan#: 8133
Location: chicagoland
What I Drive: notafocus

Posts: 2,837
FF Reputation: 4 revamp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (7)
first of all, an ECU reset is not necessary after new mods. The ECU will "learn" the new mods just as easily without a reset as with one. I have never reset my ECU after a mod and have done just fine. A reset just sometimes allows you to notice a faster, more immediate change....but this is debateable.

if your clock didn't reset, the battery wasn't disconnected.

and no, you didn't mess up your predator tune. your tune is fine.
revamp is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2005, 02:42 PM   #3
S2
Retired Fanatic
 
S2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 4939
Location: Canada, Canada
What I Drive: Camaro 2SS/RS

Posts: 19,999
FF Reputation: 67 S2 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
No it didn't reset. Go unplug the 'negative' terminal on the battery for at least 15 minutes and also lay on the horn once you disconnect it to drain the rest of the power out. When you hook it back up, everything should be dead (resetting the clock and the gauges will max out and then fall back to zero).
__________________
Chad (S2)
S2 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2005, 09:34 PM   #4
sidney61199
Focus Fanatic
 
sidney61199's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Fan#: 7904
Location: Columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2002 Black Focus SVT

Posts: 1,860
FF Reputation: 1 sidney61199 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
One main thing that is not mentioned when you reset your ecu is when you rehook your battery cable before starting the car make sure all your accesories are off (fan,air,heat,etc..) then when you start it don't touch anything (especialy the gas) for 1 to 2 min. This is when it relearns the idle. It may not be necessary to reset it after mods but it is nice to have the instant diffrence by resetting the ecu instead of slowly waiting for the ecu to adapt to the mods. If it slowly adapts to the mods you will/may get the same end result but it would be so gradual you would wonder why you did the mod to begin with.
sidney61199 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2005, 09:35 PM   #5
racer1735
Focus Enthusiast
 
racer1735's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 13782
Location: Canyon, TX
What I Drive: 2004 Sonic Blue SVT

Posts: 289
FF Reputation: 5 racer1735 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
And you'll get to reprogram all the presets on your radio!!
__________________
When you've run out of mods, it's time to get something new.
racer1735 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2005, 09:45 PM   #6
sidney61199
Focus Fanatic
 
sidney61199's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Fan#: 7904
Location: Columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2002 Black Focus SVT

Posts: 1,860
FF Reputation: 1 sidney61199 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I was also thinking since I got Tom's tune he must have used default temp, airpreasure, altitude, humidity, etc... settings, by resetting my ecu I would still have the tune installed but it would learn the settings for my location (for example: Temp, Humidity, and altitude). Am I looking into this too much or does this make sense? I guess Tom would be able to give a good reply (HEY TOM!!). Before people start replying that it would not make that big of a diffrence try taking a car in columbus, OH (where I live) and stick it in Denver, it would run like crap or not at all due to the alt. That is a big extreme but a good example.
sidney61199 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2005, 10:19 PM   #7
revamp
Cashed in my chips
 
Join Date: May 2004
Fan#: 8133
Location: chicagoland
What I Drive: notafocus

Posts: 2,837
FF Reputation: 4 revamp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (7)
the ECU is a learning ECU...it only takes a a few miles of driving for the ECU to be making adjustments...it learns at the same rate whether you reset it (set it back to default)...when it is starting from a clean slate, you still have to drive it around for it to "Learn" the environment (temps, altitude, driving style, a/f, etc..) the same as you'd have to drive it around to learn a different "mod"...there's no difference and nothing to be gained by resetting it.

If you have driven to the store in your car, it already knows it's 20 degrees outside and in columbus, not denver.

I have driven cross country more than one, and trust me...even if I start the day in Las Vegas and end the day in Denver, the car knows I've changed altitude and has already adjusted accordingly...you don't see people at rest areas off the interstates "resetting" their ECU's so their cars don't run like crap, do you?
revamp is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2005, 10:41 PM   #8
sidney61199
Focus Fanatic
 
sidney61199's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Fan#: 7904
Location: Columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2002 Black Focus SVT

Posts: 1,860
FF Reputation: 1 sidney61199 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
True but there was an artical by those two car guys that recomend resetting your ecu if you make huge altitude changes the same day. I don't know how could answer this question with 100% accuracy. What you say makes since and is correct but then why do all the high performance auto stores (like jegs, not auto zone) say to reset your ecu after doing a mod? I'll have to make some calls Monday and find out for sure. I'm not disagreeing with anything you say, it makes perfect sense but I have also heard diffrently from big time car guys.
sidney61199 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2005, 10:55 PM   #9
revamp
Cashed in my chips
 
Join Date: May 2004
Fan#: 8133
Location: chicagoland
What I Drive: notafocus

Posts: 2,837
FF Reputation: 4 revamp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (7)
they say that just because they want you to notice a difference in your car so you don't call them up asking for a refund on their products...

but I stand by the assertion that your car doesn't learn any faster by resetting the ECU....

but there WOULD be a noticeable difference if you take a test drive down the road, come back, reset the ECU, and then take another test drive because your ECU has made a large change by going from a) an already learned environment to b) a clean slate...starting over from factory defaults.

of course there would be a more noticeable improvement as your car makes the adjustment from factory default to new mod than it would have to make going from an already learned environment to new mod.

the distance travelled, so to speak, between the two points would be larger, thus more noticeable. Doesn't mean you get to the end point any faster, though.
revamp is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2005, 09:19 PM   #10
silver02svt
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
silver02svt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 14630
Location: Greensboro, North Carolina
What I Drive: 2002 CD silver svt

Posts: 27
FF Reputation: 11 silver02svt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
ok...i will agree to an extent with sidney. i live in the mountains of NC every weekend or so i take a trip down the blue ridge parkway. in order to get there i have a steep grade for about 22 miles. a total of almost 4 miles vertical distance. when i get into the higher elevations i notice that the car becomes more sluggish and requires more gas to go from a standstill. dont really notice on the way back because i just want to get home and am not really "driving" i have noticed that if i stop at a lookout and leave the car running for about 5 or so minutes (just enough to smoke a quick cig.) the car runs just like it did 4 miles below... so yes i can see that altitude does affect things but i cant see it that it would learn any faster by resetting the computer.
~nathan
silver02svt is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat