What happens when you move the MAF Sensor - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2014, 01:06 AM   #1
photn02
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116617
Location: Werombi, Australia
What I Drive: Silver

Posts: 57
FF Reputation: 1 photn02 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What happens when you move the MAF Sensor

Hi All,

Im sure its a noob question and i might get flamed. Im doing my research on a turbo conversion before i commit and start buying parts.

Now i was thinking of using/getting a Focus RS Chargecooler setup (because they are OEM, look good and still provide good cooling upto 300BHP). Now ive read through and i know that Tom does awesum tunes but i also know that the MAF sensor has to be a certain distance away from the Throttle.

My Question is this, With a Tune can the MAF sensor be moved closer to the TB? to show you what i mean here is a pic of the FOcus RS mk1 ChargeCooler Setup. i was thinking of mounting the MAF Sensor between the Outlet from the ChargeCooler and the TB.



Any Help Would be appreciated.


photn02 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2014, 01:20 AM   #2
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,403
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
The MAF can be placed anywhere. It just take a little extra tuning.
One thing that helps is not having sharp bends before it for a short distance.
Anywhere in the pipe near the brake res. is a good location.
iminhell is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 02:24 AM   #3
photn02
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116617
Location: Werombi, Australia
What I Drive: Silver

Posts: 57
FF Reputation: 1 photn02 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks mate, THAT is just awesum. i really like this setup and was hoping it could be moved.
photn02 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 09:43 AM   #4
FriskyDingo
Focus Enthusiast
 
FriskyDingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Fan#: 145578
Location: Englishtown, Canada
What I Drive: 2000 Bright Atlantic Blue LX

Posts: 68
FF Reputation: 1 FriskyDingo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I would have the maf on the intake side of the turbo instead of inbetween the turbo and engine where it will see boost.Mafs usually dont like to be mounted in a blow through setup.
FriskyDingo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 04:45 PM   #5
photn02
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116617
Location: Werombi, Australia
What I Drive: Silver

Posts: 57
FF Reputation: 1 photn02 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Whats a blow through setup?
photn02 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 05:00 PM   #6
FriskyDingo
Focus Enthusiast
 
FriskyDingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Fan#: 145578
Location: Englishtown, Canada
What I Drive: 2000 Bright Atlantic Blue LX

Posts: 68
FF Reputation: 1 FriskyDingo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by photn02 View Post
Whats a blow through setup?
Where the maf is connected to the turbo outlet and boost 'blows through' it.Mafs are happier on the inlet side where air is being 'sucked through'.
FriskyDingo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 08:21 PM   #7
photn02
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116617
Location: Werombi, Australia
What I Drive: Silver

Posts: 57
FF Reputation: 1 photn02 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
ohh okay, i was planning on putting the MAF in a 3" MAF tube that Tom sells in the gap from the TB to the Intercooler. Is that still classed as a Blow Through?

i had a look at Toms DIY kit and he has the MAF after the Turbo and before the TB as well. is there a difference in my setup at all?
photn02 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 04:25 PM   #8
FriskyDingo
Focus Enthusiast
 
FriskyDingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Fan#: 145578
Location: Englishtown, Canada
What I Drive: 2000 Bright Atlantic Blue LX

Posts: 68
FF Reputation: 1 FriskyDingo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Im guessing toms kit comes with a tune? then it should be ok
FriskyDingo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.