I Want my FOCUS back! - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2014, 11:02 AM   #11
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,672
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
I dont either , I wouldnt throw money at it till you find the problem , its odd it happened when you changed the batt but I dont think changing the batt is the issue like heat said

what mods are on the car if any ?

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2014, 12:17 PM   #12
brianintc
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85972
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
What I Drive: 2004 Tan ZTW

Posts: 30
FF Reputation: 1 brianintc Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Exclamation Looking for a Michigan FF member with a SCT XCAL

I have some base idle and MPG issues since installing a new battery. In the first round of questions Tom @ focus-power suggested "Try to find a FF member local or anyone with a Ford that has a SCT xcal flasher so we can do a datalog and see whats happening". So that's what I'm doing. Any suggestions or referrals would be appreciated.

I'm willing to travel 200 miles (one way) if that is what it takes!!

I have a 2004 ZTW and I live in Traverse City.
brianintc is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 01:44 PM   #13
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,672
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
If you go to the FF section where it is state / local area you may get a faster answer

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 02:53 PM   #14
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,392
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Ask the guys in here --> http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/f...splay.php?f=17
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 11:44 PM   #15
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,358
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Wouldnt a vacuum leak give a symptom like this? maybe he bumped something loose when doing the battery change?

Or the ripped PCV hose? Do the 2004s have that issue?

I remember mine took 200 miles to relearn when i was messing with mine before i got a tune.
__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 05:33 PM   #16
PlasticRacer
Focus Addict
 
PlasticRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51304
Location: Largo, Florida, FL
What I Drive: '02 Yellow ZX3

Posts: 788
FF Reputation: 6 PlasticRacer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (18)
If the ecu has been reset, let the car sit and idle for about 10-15 min, the up and down of the rpm is just the car "re-learning" the crank, then do some normal driving. Try this first before anything. Also check all your grounds and connections, take note of lighting on the car, i e dash lights, dome lights or even headlights, if the brightness changes/pulses as the rpms fluctuates(like mine does right now), might have an issue with the alternator or something electrical.
__________________
Car status: Gettin right
PlasticRacer is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 07:31 AM   #17
brianintc
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85972
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
What I Drive: 2004 Tan ZTW

Posts: 30
FF Reputation: 1 brianintc Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Does a 'wandering' idle at start up indicate just a vacuum leak - not a PCM issue? If not how do I get with Tom to redo the PCM?
brianintc is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 10:15 AM   #18
mac.mogul
Focus Fanatic
 
mac.mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90409
Location: Wichita, KS
What I Drive: 2011 Sterling Grey SES Sedan

Posts: 3,677
FF Reputation: 13 mac.mogul Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Seriously?

Here's what you do - You take the car out somewhere isolated, pull over and shut it off. When it is clear to do so, start the car and drive WOT to 60-65mph and pull over and shut the car off.

Repeat this a few times and whammo, your car should be idling smoothly and running efficiently.
__________________
2011 SES 5spd #006 >> SR #213

What other people think of me is none of my business.
mac.mogul is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 08:15 PM   #19
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,672
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianintc View Post
Does a 'wandering' idle at start up indicate just a vacuum leak - not a PCM issue? If not how do I get with Tom to redo the PCM?
I doubt you have a PCM issue as for the learning there isnt much you have to do on the early cars you start it and if it doesnt run right something is wrong , you have a STFT that fixes fueling issues right then , it doesnt take time

You didnt loose anything by changing the Batt , you need to barrow a Ford xcal flasher they datalog and with that I can see whats happening with a datalog

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.