Stealth CAI installed. - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > DURATEC Performance (2003-2007)

DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) The place to chat about any Duratec 23, 23E, and 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2014, 07:36 PM   #1
daspazzZX3
Focus Addict
 
daspazzZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 133961
Location: Rawkin Monkeytown to Kemha, TX
What I Drive: 02 ZX3 chcl gry - Dakota-PatE02 5sp

Posts: 1,286
FF Reputation: 1 daspazzZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Stealth CAI installed.

Well car was being really thirsty so I went to my buddies and installed a stealth CAI before upgrading my headlights from stock to HID Angel eyes.

Now I'm in need of some info on how I can tweak my car to reset the CEL for the MAF. I cleaned the MAF sensor while I was in there. But I'm thinking I might need to replace the MAF sensor for now.

I have noticed a bit better gas mileage and and it much peppier, but it still stalls at lights from time to time.

Any ideas?

Pics on 3rd page


__________________
Focus Danielshan!! - 02 Dakota-PatE02 Low R0lla!
05s Orangello & Blackie (Pat) R.I.P. - He'll always roll TRILLl!
http://www.virtual-memorials.com/main.php?action=view&mem_id=21170 Please visit Pats memorial and say "hey"!

Last edited by daspazzZX3; 01-30-2014 at 11:51 PM. Reason: I R Tarded
daspazzZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-19-2014, 07:45 PM   #2
ferret15
Focus Enthusiast
 
ferret15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Fan#: 83494
Location: RFD, IL
What I Drive: 03 zx3 and a screeming yellow eap

Posts: 498
FF Reputation: 2 ferret15 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=195366
ferret15 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 08:02 PM   #3
daspazzZX3
Focus Addict
 
daspazzZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 133961
Location: Rawkin Monkeytown to Kemha, TX
What I Drive: 02 ZX3 chcl gry - Dakota-PatE02 5sp

Posts: 1,286
FF Reputation: 1 daspazzZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferret15 View Post
been there read that, but thanks for the pointer!!

anybody else?

I have a USB to OBDC II cable inbound from china..... /me tap rap taps fingers on table....
__________________
Focus Danielshan!! - 02 Dakota-PatE02 Low R0lla!
05s Orangello & Blackie (Pat) R.I.P. - He'll always roll TRILLl!
http://www.virtual-memorials.com/main.php?action=view&mem_id=21170 Please visit Pats memorial and say "hey"!
daspazzZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 08:17 PM   #4
ferret15
Focus Enthusiast
 
ferret15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Fan#: 83494
Location: RFD, IL
What I Drive: 03 zx3 and a screeming yellow eap

Posts: 498
FF Reputation: 2 ferret15 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
IDK, shouldn't kill your car at idle. You've let it run for a bit and driven some miles for the computer to adjust I assume? Maybe your spark plugs are at the end of their life or maybe your IAC is dirty? You can't change the parameters without a proper tune if that is the problem. MAF sensors aren't exactly cheap, but if you car runs its probably working.
ferret15 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 08:19 PM   #5
GreySkorpion
saved from the grave
 
GreySkorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 94674
Location: B'game, KS
What I Drive: 2004 LG ZX5 2.3D

Posts: 6,079
FF Reputation: 11 GreySkorpion Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
To reset just about any CEL, unplug your battery for 30 minutes. My SRI has never caused a single issue on my car, its this style:

GreySkorpion is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 08:35 PM   #6
daspazzZX3
Focus Addict
 
daspazzZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 133961
Location: Rawkin Monkeytown to Kemha, TX
What I Drive: 02 ZX3 chcl gry - Dakota-PatE02 5sp

Posts: 1,286
FF Reputation: 1 daspazzZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferret15 View Post
IDK, shouldn't kill your car at idle. You've let it run for a bit and driven some miles for the computer to adjust I assume? Maybe your spark plugs are at the end of their life or maybe your IAC is dirty? You can't change the parameters without a proper tune if that is the problem. MAF sensors aren't exactly cheap, but if you car runs its probably working.
it runs great on the road and on the freeway!!

I just replugged it a week ago with the only plugs I could find at Oriely's. Not my first choice. Ordered some AR103s from ebay. May swap in a set of those and then hard reset....

whadzah IAC?

Thanks ferret!! I will try resetting it again and then idle for 10 minutes.....


berry purdee sk0rpi0n!!
__________________
Focus Danielshan!! - 02 Dakota-PatE02 Low R0lla!
05s Orangello & Blackie (Pat) R.I.P. - He'll always roll TRILLl!
http://www.virtual-memorials.com/main.php?action=view&mem_id=21170 Please visit Pats memorial and say "hey"!
daspazzZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 10:11 PM   #7
GreySkorpion
saved from the grave
 
GreySkorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 94674
Location: B'game, KS
What I Drive: 2004 LG ZX5 2.3D

Posts: 6,079
FF Reputation: 11 GreySkorpion Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
IAC, Idle Air Control, it's right below and slightly left of the throttle body, they get gunked up with carbon. Remove it and clean it with throttle body cleaner or equivalent. I gapped my AR103's to .055 and it ran great, at .060, not so great. Also, that is not my engine bay, mine is much cleaner than that.
GreySkorpion is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 11:46 PM   #8
daspazzZX3
Focus Addict
 
daspazzZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 133961
Location: Rawkin Monkeytown to Kemha, TX
What I Drive: 02 ZX3 chcl gry - Dakota-PatE02 5sp

Posts: 1,286
FF Reputation: 1 daspazzZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
thanks skorp! No joy on the reset. CEL came back on today. Got my ODBDII cable today, had practice so I couldn't putz with it yet. Will look at it tomorrow while waiting on ink.



Maybe i can hard reset it with the software that came with it.
__________________
Focus Danielshan!! - 02 Dakota-PatE02 Low R0lla!
05s Orangello & Blackie (Pat) R.I.P. - He'll always roll TRILLl!
http://www.virtual-memorials.com/main.php?action=view&mem_id=21170 Please visit Pats memorial and say "hey"!
daspazzZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 09:10 AM   #9
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,168
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
Did you use the stock MAF tube with your stealth CAI and are you sure the MAF sensor is facing the correct direction? You should not be getting any sort of CEL.


Did you have any CEL before doing the mod? I doubt the MAF sensor has gone bad, i also would not be going full wide open throttle or enjoying any of the new pep until you get this sorted out. If the MAF sensor is not facing the right direction or not hooked up right, that means un-metered, could cause some issues
rambleon84 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 10:01 AM   #10
daspazzZX3
Focus Addict
 
daspazzZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 133961
Location: Rawkin Monkeytown to Kemha, TX
What I Drive: 02 ZX3 chcl gry - Dakota-PatE02 5sp

Posts: 1,286
FF Reputation: 1 daspazzZX3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambleon84 View Post
Did you use the stock MAF tube with your stealth CAI and are you sure the MAF sensor is facing the correct direction? You should not be getting any sort of CEL.


Did you have any CEL before doing the mod? I doubt the MAF sensor has gone bad, i also would not be going full wide open throttle or enjoying any of the new pep until you get this sorted out. If the MAF sensor is not facing the right direction or not hooked up right, that means un-metered, could cause some issues
Yep to stock MAF tube. The opening of the MAF is facing the filter on the end of the tube. Yep to CEL before mod. I cleaned the MAF and the MAF tube before reinstalling with MAF cleaner. I couldn't get the MAF sensor off of the wiring harness..... So its should be on that correctly.

I did not remove the silver cover from the MAF to clean it better, wonder if that could be the problem.

I will be pulling the code again here in a bit. More later.
Thanks for your input.
__________________
Focus Danielshan!! - 02 Dakota-PatE02 Low R0lla!
05s Orangello & Blackie (Pat) R.I.P. - He'll always roll TRILLl!
http://www.virtual-memorials.com/main.php?action=view&mem_id=21170 Please visit Pats memorial and say "hey"!
daspazzZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.