Component Speakers w/ oem Head Unit? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2013, 08:38 AM   #1
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,283
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
Component Speakers w/ oem Head Unit?

My brothers car was recently totaled and he had decent speakers in the car. He was too lazy to take them out and said if I did I could use them. So even though these things are old, I'm sure they are still miles above better than my stock stuff. They are a little dirty but other wise look to be in good shape still, nothing looks blown, torn or otherwise broken.




They are Diamond Audio; S6.0m 6.5" and S5.0m 5.25". The cross overs are from the S5's and not pictured are the tweeters. I have a few questions on how these would work in my car though. I have the stock 6-disc unit in my '07 now, no sub or anything else. I added the 6disc to replace my stock single because i found one really cheap.

Can I run these with out an amp or upgrading my head unit and have them sound better than my stock speakers? Or is it just a better idea to get an amp to power these?

Will they all fit in my stock spaces, I just need to make or buy a bracket to fit them?

any risk of hurting these if i was able to run them, under powering them going to hurt them (my brother mentioned that?)

If I need an amp to power these, any suggestions on something affordable(not cheap but not expensive) that I can hook up to the stock head unit?



Since my photo is lousy, found this link with some better pictures of the s5's


rambleon84 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-13-2013, 10:16 AM   #2
Gadabout
Focus Enthusiast
 
Gadabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114774
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
What I Drive: 2006 Vermillion Red ZX4 SE

Posts: 429
FF Reputation: 4 Gadabout Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The 5.25 can be made to fit, with a speaker bracket. Tho our 5x7/6x8 is too small to fit that 6.5, without some imagination and a spacer-bracket combo (I hate those things, they usually don't work. And I don't have a solid answer for Our car).
I couldn't find the specs on those speakers, but I'm assuming they are the ones that were 100w RMS. With that said, our h/u is putting well less than 1/5th of that, so don't expect them to sound like a 100watt set of speakers. I'd recommend amplifying them, not because you might "hurt them" (only possible if you start clipping at the h/u, typically done when you want more volume), but because you'll have a set of speakers just starving for more power, and you'll never have to worry about distortion from a h/u that is only doing 15-20watts.
If ou Really wana get the most out of these, find a h/u doing 4volts+ (Sony GS series does 5 btw), and match it up with a solid amp. :)
Ill look up some stuff at work, but you'll probably have more responses before I can check =P
__________________
“Things work out best for those who make the best of the way things work out.” - J Wooden
Team Duratec #42
Gadabout is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 10:42 AM   #3
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 4,176
FF Reputation: 22 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
5x7, 6x8 to 6.5" adapter. they are are on ebay.

or, you can just send me the 6.5's and be done with them.

They are really good speakers and deserve to have an amp to drive them. The crossover will work with either set FWIW
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 11:56 AM   #4
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,283
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by freemind View Post
5x7, 6x8 to 6.5" adapter. they are are on ebay.

or, you can just send me the 6.5's and be done with them.

They are really good speakers and deserve to have an amp to drive them. The crossover will work with either set FWIW
So I can get an adapter to make the 6.5's work, tha'ts good news. The crossover was actually in the front doors where they had the 6.5's mounted and they had the 5's on the rear shelf. The ones in the rear were mounted in a bracket, not sure on the size of it but i should probably go back and see if i can remove that bracket to re-use. (hopefully he hasnt had the car towed away yet, sitting in front of our house the past week.)


So moral of this story is to take advantage of these speakers, I must get an amp and then to take full advantage I must get a better head unit. So I'd probably have to turn this into a little build and rewire everything with decent wire. He has a pair of subs but they are too big and I dont want the wieght and the hassle of wiring up even more. I dont really listen to anything other than rock music so the bass would be wasted on me. Lol, any familiar with HCCA's by Orion? He has a pair of their 12s and a pair of 1000 amps
rambleon84 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 12:06 PM   #5
wheelstudio
FF Affiliate
 
wheelstudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Fan#: 116213
Location: Santa Fe Springs, CA
What I Drive: 2013 Lexus CT200h

Posts: 330
FF Reputation: 1 wheelstudio Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambleon84 View Post
So I can get an adapter to make the 6.5's work, tha'ts good news. The crossover was actually in the front doors where they had the 6.5's mounted and they had the 5's on the rear shelf. The ones in the rear were mounted in a bracket, not sure on the size of it but i should probably go back and see if i can remove that bracket to re-use. (hopefully he hasnt had the car towed away yet, sitting in front of our house the past week.)


So moral of this story is to take advantage of these speakers, I must get an amp and then to take full advantage I must get a better head unit. So I'd probably have to turn this into a little build and rewire everything with decent wire. He has a pair of subs but they are too big and I dont want the wieght and the hassle of wiring up even more. I dont really listen to anything other than rock music so the bass would be wasted on me. Lol, any familiar with HCCA's by Orion? He has a pair of their 12s and a pair of 1000 amps
Well you don't have to rewire everything. Depending on the gauge of the factory wires, you may just be able to get away with that.

The reason this won't work well with the factory setup is because the factory speakers are much more efficient and sensitive, while these require more power to come alive.

You don't have to get a headunit, however it would be nice as it gives you more control over your components. There are many sound processors out now that work with factory headunits, if you want to keep a stock headunit look.

I would definitely pick up the crossovers as that filters the frequencies specifically for your component set.

Also, I would always add a sub. Contrary and depending how it's setup, it's not always for the boom-boom. You can have it set and leveled to be as it's designed to be, for low end extension. There are a ton of underlying bass notes that don't get reproduced accurately, or at all without a sub.
__________________
Your OFFICIAL Focus Aftermarket Wheel Experts
Avant Garde | Klutch| TSW
Questions? chat now or (888) 288 0070
Facebook

wheelstudio is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 12:19 PM   #6
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,283
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wheelstudio View Post
Also, I would always add a sub. Contrary and depending how it's setup, it's not always for the boom-boom. You can have it set and leveled to be as it's designed to be, for low end extension. There are a ton of underlying bass notes that don't get reproduced accurately, or at all without a sub.
Thanks for the advice, if i did go with a sub it would be something similar to the stock ones..a small 8" tucked into one of the corners. I was mostly saying i didnt want his subs as they are too big and heavy for my needs. Something tuned to accentuate and enhance some bass guitar/drums would be nice.

I have always wanted a double din HU to make use of the space but just have been too cheap to invest in one. I liked the idea of using a tablet as my HU but I doubt i would get that involved.

I think for now I would like to keep the factory look just to keep costs down. What sort of amp would be decent? Something that i can make work with my stock HU now but would fit in with a decent aftermarket HU if i upgraded down the road? Like I said before, something decent but not too pricey.
rambleon84 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 12:39 PM   #7
wheelstudio
FF Affiliate
 
wheelstudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Fan#: 116213
Location: Santa Fe Springs, CA
What I Drive: 2013 Lexus CT200h

Posts: 330
FF Reputation: 1 wheelstudio Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
You usually get more bang for your buck with 10" subs as there is a bigger selection and they are more capable. Not much of a weight gain for the most part, 3-5lbs.

For the double-din, might want to look into the Pioneer App Radio. It's fairly close to a tablet, and relatively cheap for a double din at around $300+.

For the amp, get a decent 4 channel, or 5 channel if you want to power the sub down the road with that. Look at Alpine, JL, JBL as a start. Something along the lines of 100-150watts for the 4 channels, and 200-250 watts for the 5th channel is a good start.
__________________
Your OFFICIAL Focus Aftermarket Wheel Experts
Avant Garde | Klutch| TSW
Questions? chat now or (888) 288 0070
Facebook

wheelstudio is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 01:41 PM   #8
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,283
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
Ive looked at the app-radio's but i dont think they are as polished as I'd like, they got closer with the second gen. I like the direction they are going though, something to consider in the future.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadabout View Post
Ill look up some stuff at work, but you'll probably have more responses before I can check =P
Any recommendations would be great
rambleon84 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 03:03 PM   #9
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 4,176
FF Reputation: 22 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
Get a focus enclosure from subthump built to spec for one of the HCCA's
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 04:01 PM   #10
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,283
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
I lied...he had diamond sub's in there with hcca amps. Apparently he sold his hcaa sub's a while ago. Oh well, doesn't matter since I think he's keeping those but picture anyways. At one point he ran 3 of the hcca sub's lol, he was loud.



Maybe I'll bug him about taking one of them and getting a custom enclosure made up. He has long since stopped caring about car audio
rambleon84 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.