turbo or supercharger?? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Third Generation > DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance (2012-Current)

DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance (2012-Current) The place to chat about any Duratec 2.0L Ti-VCT engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2013, 11:07 PM   #1
drwiggapeterson
Focus Enthusiast
 
drwiggapeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116479
Location: Spokane, WA
What I Drive: 2012,sterling grey,sel hatchback

Posts: 241
FF Reputation: 2 drwiggapeterson Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
turbo or supercharger??

Does anyone have any Intel if it is possible to put a turbo in. Our Mk3 focuses ?:)


drwiggapeterson is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2013, 11:21 PM   #2
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,165
FF Reputation: 23 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Moved to "DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance (2012-2013)"

Roush had a prototype TVS supercharger on their SEMA 2012 Focus, but the Focus ST uses a turbocharger. Personally I love the responsiveness of the turbocharged engine.

It would probably be simpler now that there is tuning software available to actually modify the turbo manifolds from the MK2 Focus Duratec engine rather than to have to swap the headifold from the 2.0 L EcoBoost engine and be limited in turbocharger size without going to something like the mountune turbo adapter.
__________________
Moderator for: DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance, ST Performance, MK3 Focus
suss6052 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 11:23 PM   #3
darkangelism
Sonic Crew #04
 
darkangelism's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85425
Location: oklahoma city, OK
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium Hatch

Posts: 7,214
FF Reputation: 9 darkangelism Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
yes it is possible, but no kits and I don't think anyone has, so good luck being the first
__________________
2012 Ti Hatch
Sonic Crew #04
Steeda SRI/Newmission | Steeda RSB | SMC Replica ST Wing | SMC Aluminum Oil cap | Injected Tune | 2.5" custom exhaust
darkangelism is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 11:28 PM   #4
Torquer350
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 117488
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2013 Perf Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 88
FF Reputation: 4 Torquer350 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drwiggapeterson View Post
Does anyone have any Intel if it is possible to put a turbo in. Our Mk3 focuses ?:)
Possible? Yes - Ford did it.

No one is making kits, so it would be a custom job. Ping, Ping, Boom.
Torquer350 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 11:30 PM   #5
drwiggapeterson
Focus Enthusiast
 
drwiggapeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116479
Location: Spokane, WA
What I Drive: 2012,sterling grey,sel hatchback

Posts: 241
FF Reputation: 2 drwiggapeterson Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Dang I would love to do it to mine :)
drwiggapeterson is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 11:45 PM   #6
Torquer350
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 117488
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2013 Perf Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 88
FF Reputation: 4 Torquer350 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drwiggapeterson View Post
Dang I would love to do it to mine :)

With the expense involved you'd be better off selling your car and buying an ST, to be honest.

Doing a turbo kit right costs big money on a car that wasn't designed to do one. Doing a turbo kit cheap is why so many ricers blow up their little boxes while playing Tokyo Drift on the streets of Omaha.

Forced induction is a fickle mistress and requires time, money, patience, and more money. It also requires some very extensive and time consuming tuning performed by experts if you don't want to grenade your motor.

That being said, God speed and make sure you post videos of your efforts (and the results)
Torquer350 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 12:13 PM   #7
PrankOne
Focus Enthusiast
 
PrankOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 117902
Location: Bakersfield, CA
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black Metallic ST3

Posts: 61
FF Reputation: 1 PrankOne Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by drwiggapeterson View Post
Does anyone have any Intel if it is possible to put a turbo in. Our Mk3 focuses ?:)
go with nitrous
__________________
I got 99 problems but my Focus ain't one 🚘
PrankOne is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 06:44 PM   #8
MG_MK3
Focus Enthusiast
 
MG_MK3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114522
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
What I Drive: 2013 Blue Candy Focus Hatchback SE

Posts: 524
FF Reputation: 0 MG_MK3 Newbie
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Just swap it out for a B18... VTEC>Turbo
__________________
2013 "Blue Candy" Focus Hatchback SE/DCT
AEM CAI | Steeda RMM | ST wing | TTR UMM
Fswerks Race Exhaust | 3SDM 0.05 18"x8.5J | KSport Kontrol Pro's
Instagram @miKeyGilmore #MK3SLöCUS
MG_MK3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 08:40 PM   #9
builtboosted
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
builtboosted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Fan#: 118615
Location: lake mary, FL
What I Drive: 2014 Tangerine Scream ST

Posts: 27
FF Reputation: 1 builtboosted Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I use to build turbo manifolds for Mazdaspeed 3's and 6's. If my research is correct the manifold flange is the same, isn't that right?

Intercooler, piping, manifold, turbo and lines and downpipe. And then some sort of tunning solution. Probably around $2,000 in parts before tunning
builtboosted is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 09:04 PM   #10
Slo86GT
Focus Addict
 
Slo86GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88885
Location: Hockley, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Sterling Gray Focus SE

Posts: 811
FF Reputation: 2 Slo86GT Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MG_MK3 View Post
Just swap it out for a B18... VTEC>Turbo
/smh

OG VTEC isn't even as good as the cam control that is on the GDI Duratecs.
__________________
2013 Focus SE 5M Daily Driver
2003 Mustang GT V8/Auto Wife's Daily
1986 Mustang GT V8/5M Toy
- Jody -
Slo86GT is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.