Sync Version and Update Mistery - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2013, 08:50 AM   #1
lionheartk
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 118331
Location: NY, NY
What I Drive: 2013 White Platinum Fusion Ecoboost

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 lionheartk Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Question Sync Version and Update Mistery

I'm new around but I would like to ask a question that's been bugging me.
After I got that dealer update needed message, and before reading about the bug here, I gone to the dealer and they checked the Sync Version I had and what was the newest in the system.

What I have, after installing 3.6.2 using the USB stick is:

Assembly: DA5T-14D212-DAD
VIP: DM5T-14D205-AC
CIP: DA5T-14D544-BD Version Gen2 - V3.6.2

Newest version Available according to dealer computer:

Assembly: DA5T-14D212-RB
VIP: DM5T-14D205-AG
CIP: DA5T-14D544-BD Version Gen2 - V3.6.2

Is there any action needed? What is that Assembly and VIP different numbers?

Also, when I first made my USB update the file DA5T-14D544-BD.ZIP was 332MB and contained a file called DA5T-14D544-BD.sec.

Yesterday I made a new one and noticed now the DA5T-14D544-BD.ZIP file is 335MB and contains a file called synciimax.syncii.Retail_Product.sec.

Is that a newer version? I tried doing the upgrade again but got an error.

I posted this on another thread to see if the Ford team answered but seems they didn't see it so, I'm creating a topic in hopes they or someone else elucidates this mistery.

Sorry for so many questions, and thanks for helping!


lionheartk is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-02-2013, 09:06 AM   #2
Deftmetal
Moderator
 
Deftmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 105884
Location: Pennant sk, Canada
What I Drive: 2014 Mazda 3

Posts: 7,435
Points 5,968, Level 50
Points: 5,968, Level: 50 Points: 5,968, Level: 50 Points: 5,968, Level: 50
Level Up 9% Completed
Level up: 9% Level up: 9% Level up: 9%
Forum Activity 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
FF Reputation: 9 Deftmetal Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
If its working fine you don't need to do anything. Sometimes updates change things in annoying ways.
__________________
Rally Revolution #14
Josh
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyn085 View Post
Don't hate on an amputee chick that's still playing with lego's.
Deftmetal is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2013, 09:41 AM   #3
lionheartk
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 118331
Location: NY, NY
What I Drive: 2013 White Platinum Fusion Ecoboost

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 lionheartk Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I know, but It's still a question to be answered. Sometimes it screws things up but sometimes it fixes things, like the stereo/surround annnoying thing. So It's better to have the information and decide what to do with it hehe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deftmetal View Post
If its working fine you don't need to do anything. Sometimes updates change things in annoying ways.
lionheartk is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2013, 10:08 AM   #4
jdubhack
I WILL correct you.
 
jdubhack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103056
Location: Edmond, OK
What I Drive: 2014 SGM Fusion Ti

Posts: 5,327
Points 9,084, Level 64
Points: 9,084, Level: 64 Points: 9,084, Level: 64 Points: 9,084, Level: 64
Level Up 12% Completed
Level up: 12% Level up: 12% Level up: 12%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 37 jdubhack Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
There is certainly a mistery afoot that must be solved!!

Actually, I think the numbers are probably different for dealers and consumers. Ford did not roll out 3.6.2 and multiple variances for it. They rolled out one and the numbers are probably indicators of when, by whom, and in what car it was installed in. Just speculation.

Bottom line, I wouldn't worry about it, at. all. You have the newest version.

Mistery solved.
__________________
<>< Gal. 6:14
April 2013 HOTM
2013 Ford Fun Weekend: Show Class Winner
jdubhack is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2013, 10:12 AM   #5
lionheartk
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 118331
Location: NY, NY
What I Drive: 2013 White Platinum Fusion Ecoboost

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 lionheartk Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Not quite, on the dealer Sync Screen it shows this newer version and the version I have so you can select wich you want to install on the car. And the page specifically tells you that the one named RB and AG is newer than the DAD and AC.

Also, why the first USB had a smaller and different named file? Will this newer one upgrade to the newest version? We don't have a definitive answer to those, so yes, mistery! haha

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdubhack View Post
There is certainly a mistery afoot that must be solved!!

Actually, I think the numbers are probably different for dealers and consumers. Ford did not roll out 3.6.2 and multiple variances for it. They rolled out one and the numbers are probably indicators of when, by whom, and in what car it was installed in. Just speculation.

Bottom line, I wouldn't worry about it, at. all. You have the newest version.

Mistery solved.
lionheartk is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2013, 10:15 AM   #6
jdubhack
I WILL correct you.
 
jdubhack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103056
Location: Edmond, OK
What I Drive: 2014 SGM Fusion Ti

Posts: 5,327
Points 9,084, Level 64
Points: 9,084, Level: 64 Points: 9,084, Level: 64 Points: 9,084, Level: 64
Level Up 12% Completed
Level up: 12% Level up: 12% Level up: 12%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 37 jdubhack Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lionheartk View Post
Not quite, on the dealer Sync Screen it shows this newer version and the version I have so you can select wich you want to install on the car. And the page specifically tells you that the one named RB and AG is newer than the DAD and AC.

Also, why the first USB had a smaller and different named file? Will this newer one upgrade to the newest version?
I told you I was speculating. Ford has already chimed in on these boards and elsewhere to say that they are fixing an issue with their systems. Some of the issues are known to us, others I'm sure, are not. One of the issues was that the dealer system was showing customer cars as not-updated when they were indeed, updated.

PM one of the FoMoCo customer service reps on here.
__________________
<>< Gal. 6:14
April 2013 HOTM
2013 Ford Fun Weekend: Show Class Winner
jdubhack is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2013, 10:25 AM   #7
lionheartk
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 118331
Location: NY, NY
What I Drive: 2013 White Platinum Fusion Ecoboost

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 lionheartk Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I did, and waited a week before posting it here since I got no answer from them

If it was only a version name I would agree it could be only a bug in the system, but since I saw the old file being much smaller and differently named than the new one... there's more to it than just a name...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdubhack View Post
I told you I was speculating. Ford has already chimed in on these boards and elsewhere to say that they are fixing an issue with their systems. Some of the issues are known to us, others I'm sure, are not. One of the issues was that the dealer system was showing customer cars as not-updated when they were indeed, updated.

PM one of the FoMoCo customer service reps on here.
lionheartk is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2013, 05:10 PM   #8
lionheartk
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 118331
Location: NY, NY
What I Drive: 2013 White Platinum Fusion Ecoboost

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 lionheartk Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
No FoMoCo comments on this it seems.
lionheartk is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-04-2013, 11:04 AM   #9
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 963
Points 2,161, Level 28
Points: 2,161, Level: 28 Points: 2,161, Level: 28 Points: 2,161, Level: 28
Level Up 8% Completed
Level up: 8% Level up: 8% Level up: 8%
Forum Activity 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lionheartk View Post
I'm new around but I would like to ask a question that's been bugging me.
After I got that dealer update needed message, and before reading about the bug here, I gone to the dealer and they checked the Sync Version I had and what was the newest in the system.

What I have, after installing 3.6.2 using the USB stick is:

Assembly: DA5T-14D212-DAD
VIP: DM5T-14D205-AC
CIP: DA5T-14D544-BD Version Gen2 - V3.6.2

Newest version Available according to dealer computer:

Assembly: DA5T-14D212-RB
VIP: DM5T-14D205-AG
CIP: DA5T-14D544-BD Version Gen2 - V3.6.2

Is there any action needed? What is that Assembly and VIP different numbers?

Also, when I first made my USB update the file DA5T-14D544-BD.ZIP was 332MB and contained a file called DA5T-14D544-BD.sec.

Yesterday I made a new one and noticed now the DA5T-14D544-BD.ZIP file is 335MB and contains a file called synciimax.syncii.Retail_Product.sec.

Is that a newer version? I tried doing the upgrade again but got an error.

I posted this on another thread to see if the Ford team answered but seems they didn't see it so, I'm creating a topic in hopes they or someone else elucidates this mistery.

Sorry for so many questions, and thanks for helping!
Quote:
Originally Posted by lionheartk View Post
No FoMoCo comments on this it seems.
Hi, lionheartk,

Sorry for my delayed response, I was out of the office. There is not a newer version of 3.6.2; I'm not sure why the "numbering" is different than the one you already had downloaded. I sent this thread to my support to make them aware of the your experience. Since you've already installed it on your vehicle, I wouldn't worry about it. :)

Rebecca
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-04-2013, 11:36 AM   #10
lionheartk
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 118331
Location: NY, NY
What I Drive: 2013 White Platinum Fusion Ecoboost

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 lionheartk Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks so much for the response Rebecca! Now I know Ford does care about us hehe.

What bugged me the most was the difference in the file sizes, wich could indicate differences. But I'll wait to see if your support says anything.

Thanks again!

Quote:
Originally Posted by FordIVTteam View Post
Hi, lionheartk,

Sorry for my delayed response, I was out of the office. There is not a newer version of 3.6.2; I'm not sure why the "numbering" is different than the one you already had downloaded. I sent this thread to my support to make them aware of the your experience. Since you've already installed it on your vehicle, I wouldn't worry about it. :)

Rebecca
lionheartk is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Cadillac ATS-V, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.