Widebands.... - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus SVT > SVT Performance (2002-2004)

SVT Performance (2002-2004) The place to chat about any 2.0L SVT DOHC Zetec engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2013, 06:38 PM   #11
PumkinSvt
Focus Fanatic
 
PumkinSvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46561
Location: SoCal, CA
What I Drive: 10 Forte DD,Comp SVTF, 14 Fiesta ST

Posts: 7,498
Points 16,375, Level 82
Points: 16,375, Level: 82 Points: 16,375, Level: 82 Points: 16,375, Level: 82
Level Up 5% Completed
Level up: 5% Level up: 5% Level up: 5%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 28 PumkinSvt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (33)
Widebands....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Basselisk View Post
well mixed replies heh, I suppouse its then just a matter of personal preference?

about the location, I have an ORP, iirc the wideband can be placed where the secondary O2 sensor was right? I got it removed because well... ORP...

or where should I place it?
I think putting it there should be a good spot. I have mine close to the first o2 sensor.
__________________


HKS||Garrett||TopSpeed||Tial||Massive||
PumkinSvt is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2013, 08:43 PM   #12
Magus2727
Focus Fanatic
 
Magus2727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Fan#: 62897
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
What I Drive: 2001 Malibu Blue ZX3

Posts: 4,348
Points 8,146, Level 60
Points: 8,146, Level: 60 Points: 8,146, Level: 60 Points: 8,146, Level: 60
Level Up 98% Completed
Level up: 98% Level up: 98% Level up: 98%
Forum Activity 21%
Activity: 21% Activity: 21% Activity: 21%
FF Reputation: 9 Magus2727 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
IIRC You want it as close to where all the exhaust is collected as possible. But also read that about 1 meter from the exhaust valves is also a good rule of thumb. I think you may want it as close to the flange of the header as possible. But a few inches may not matter.
__________________
2001 ZX3 2.0L Zetec-
Hatch Nation #42

Going through Rebuild See "The TICK Build Thread" for details (http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=289168&referrerid=62897)
Magus2727 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2013, 09:02 PM   #13
clownymb
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
clownymb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116722
Location: St. Louis, MO
What I Drive: 2003 Silver SVT

Posts: 33
FF Reputation: 1 clownymb Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I am going to just install my PLX wideband where the primary o2 sensor goes since it will also send a narrowband signal to the ecu. No having to cut or weld is nice. :D
clownymb is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2013, 09:21 PM   #14
GhostTribute
Focus Enthusiast
 
GhostTribute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 107929
Location: 506 East Coast, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Mazda Tribute (2.0L Zetec)

Posts: 353
Points 318, Level 6
Points: 318, Level: 6 Points: 318, Level: 6 Points: 318, Level: 6
Level Up 36% Completed
Level up: 36% Level up: 36% Level up: 36%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 GhostTribute Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by clownymb View Post
I am going to just install my PLX wideband where the primary o2 sensor goes since it will also send a narrowband signal to the ecu. No having to cut or weld is nice. :D
Innovate has the same functionality. The Innovate also has 2 analog outputs that can be setup for ether 0-1v (OE narrow) or 0-5v (wide) outputs!

This is just one of the reasons that Innovate has been my choice for AFT monitoring and tuning hardware..... the LM Programmer and Log works software are also very straight forward to use and setup.
GhostTribute is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2013, 09:42 PM   #15
Basselisk
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102662
Location: Guadalajara, Mexico
What I Drive: 2003 CD Silver SVT

Posts: 55
Points 481, Level 9
Points: 481, Level: 9 Points: 481, Level: 9 Points: 481, Level: 9
Level Up 62% Completed
Level up: 62% Level up: 62% Level up: 62%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Basselisk Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostTribute View Post
Innovate has the same functionality. The Innovate also has 2 analog outputs that can be setup for ether 0-1v (OE narrow) or 0-5v (wide) outputs!

This is just one of the reasons that Innovate has been my choice for AFT monitoring and tuning hardware..... the LM Programmer and Log works software are also very straight forward to use and setup.
So can I just replace my front o2 sensor with the innovate one? without having to cut or weld anything at all?
Basselisk is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2013, 10:30 PM   #16
PumkinSvt
Focus Fanatic
 
PumkinSvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46561
Location: SoCal, CA
What I Drive: 10 Forte DD,Comp SVTF, 14 Fiesta ST

Posts: 7,498
Points 16,375, Level 82
Points: 16,375, Level: 82 Points: 16,375, Level: 82 Points: 16,375, Level: 82
Level Up 5% Completed
Level up: 5% Level up: 5% Level up: 5%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 28 PumkinSvt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (33)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Basselisk View Post
So can I just replace my front o2 sensor with the innovate one? without having to cut or weld anything at all?
No you need the front o2 sensor.
__________________


HKS||Garrett||TopSpeed||Tial||Massive||
PumkinSvt is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2013, 10:44 PM   #17
GhostTribute
Focus Enthusiast
 
GhostTribute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 107929
Location: 506 East Coast, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Mazda Tribute (2.0L Zetec)

Posts: 353
Points 318, Level 6
Points: 318, Level: 6 Points: 318, Level: 6 Points: 318, Level: 6
Level Up 36% Completed
Level up: 36% Level up: 36% Level up: 36%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 GhostTribute Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Basselisk View Post
So can I just replace my front o2 sensor with the innovate one? without having to cut or weld anything at all?
Yes you can use the stock O2 bung, no cutting or welding required. You have to wire/solder one of the Innovates analog wires up to the OEM O2 signal wire to the ECU.

It takes the place of the OEM primary O2 sensor.
GhostTribute is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2013, 11:34 PM   #18
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 4,505
Points 6,375, Level 52
Points: 6,375, Level: 52 Points: 6,375, Level: 52 Points: 6,375, Level: 52
Level Up 13% Completed
Level up: 13% Level up: 13% Level up: 13%
Forum Activity 47%
Activity: 47% Activity: 47% Activity: 47%
FF Reputation: 24 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (23)
From what I have researched, it is best for the wideband sensor to go as close as possible to the 12 o'clock position.

Anyone else?
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2013, 12:03 AM   #19
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,717
Points 18,451, Level 86
Points: 18,451, Level: 86 Points: 18,451, Level: 86 Points: 18,451, Level: 86
Level Up 21% Completed
Level up: 21% Level up: 21% Level up: 21%
Forum Activity 8%
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
FF Reputation: 49 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by clownymb View Post
I am going to just install my PLX wideband where the primary o2 sensor goes since it will also send a narrowband signal to the ecu. No having to cut or weld is nice. :D

It is.
I've been using PLX for a few years now. I'm very happy with it.



Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostTribute View Post
Innovate has the same functionality. The Innovate also has 2 analog outputs that can be setup for ether 0-1v (OE narrow) or 0-5v (wide) outputs!
So does PLX.
Only difference is you don't get the tuning software (which many don't know how to use anyways)



Quote:
Originally Posted by PumkinSvt View Post
No you need the front o2 sensor.
No you don't.
If you use the Analog NB output from the WBO2 to the ECU it'll run just fine ... or better than stock if you have the same results as me.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2013, 12:45 AM   #20
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,210
Points 51,376, Level 100
Points: 51,376, Level: 100 Points: 51,376, Level: 100 Points: 51,376, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
If you want to make your life simple add a bung and install something like the AEM like on C-F-M web site and be done with it

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat