Auto climate control 2013 focus se - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Discussions > Ford Focus & General Car Chat

Ford Focus & General Car Chat Discussion Forum relating to nonspecific Ford Focus models, car purchasing, auto industry news and any car talk.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2013, 11:39 PM   #1
remosewa
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 117280
Location: san Francisco, CA
What I Drive: 2013, gray, ford focus se

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 remosewa Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Auto climate control 2013 focus se

I have a 2013 ford focus SE with the standard knobs for climate control. Would it be possible to buy an OEM part, or perhaps a aftermarket part that would allow me to install the dual automatic climate control (This part: BM5T-18C612-AJ)?


remosewa is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2013, 01:26 AM   #2
thefocusofattention
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 117077
Location: shelby twp., MI
What I Drive: 2013 white titanium

Posts: 22
FF Reputation: 1 thefocusofattention Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I havent seen the standard knobs for the se but I dont see y you couldn't get the oem climate control. I find it to be one of the coolest parts about the inside of the car lol
__________________
Focusing focusing focusing -_-
thefocusofattention is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 08:12 AM   #3
jdubhack
I WILL correct you.
 
jdubhack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103056
Location: Edmond, OK
What I Drive: 2014 SGM Fusion Ti

Posts: 5,325
FF Reputation: 37 jdubhack Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
I think it would be quite possible to swap the unit out, however, I think it would be entirely something different to get it to work. The connections are likely to be different and I'm sure the ECU would have to be flashed with an IDS.
__________________
<>< Gal. 6:14
April 2013 HOTM
2013 Ford Fun Weekend: Show Class Winner
jdubhack is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 08:48 AM   #4
bringler26
FUBARCUS
 
bringler26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 59705
Location: Mentor, OH
What I Drive: 03 ZX3 & 07 Impreza 2.5i

Posts: 5,683
FF Reputation: 29 bringler26 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
It will likely require you to replace multiple other parts to get it to work correctly.
__________________
2003 Ford Focus ZX3("FUBARCUS" was "Brokus") - old and still busted
2007 Subaru Impreza 2.5i - current DD
Quote:
Originally Posted by zetecDon View Post
I always moderate naked!
bringler26 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 12:37 PM   #5
remosewa
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 117280
Location: san Francisco, CA
What I Drive: 2013, gray, ford focus se

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 remosewa Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
would a ford dealership be able to install it? and if so, can anyone guess how much it would cost?
remosewa is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 01:23 PM   #6
remosewa
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 117280
Location: san Francisco, CA
What I Drive: 2013, gray, ford focus se

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 remosewa Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
nvm, just called a local ford dealership, and he said he didn't think it would be possible
remosewa is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 02:26 PM   #7
splicedwdm
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 92283
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: '12, candy red, Focus Ti hatch

Posts: 68
FF Reputation: 2 splicedwdm Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by remosewa View Post
nvm, just called a local ford dealership, and he said he didn't think it would be possible
My guess would be that the requisite sensors are not installed in the vehicle to feed information to the climate control module. Even with the module, it would not receive any info to adjust fan speed or heat/cold.
splicedwdm is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 03:25 PM   #8
RonMaiden
Focus Fanatic
 
RonMaiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 99230
Location: Littleton, CO
What I Drive: 2012 Red Candy Metallic Hatch SE

Posts: 4,098
FF Reputation: 6 RonMaiden Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm betting theirs a lot to swap out and might not be worth the cost. I've seen this attempted on other cars and it's a big job since some sensors and motors aren't compatible with each other. If it's a simple relatively cheap mod then let me know as I would do it.
__________________
'12 Focus Red Candy SE Sport 5 spd
'99 Toyota 4Runner Sport
'11 Subaru WRX STI Hatch
RonMaiden is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.