Where can I buy a ITB? - Page 4 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > ZETEC Performance (2000-2004)

ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) The place to chat about any 2.0L Zetec engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2013, 09:04 AM   #31
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,431
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Thats because tweecer sucks worse then ms

Your stock Ford escort/focus ECU didnt support TQ Limitation ? odd what was the ECU code
The last ms I used would only do EVAP open or closed it wouldnt regulate it has that changed with the one you have , what version are you running ?

Altho the last ms I used would regulate fuel psi but limited it wouldnt automatically raise the injector duty cycle as the fuel psi fell off to help keep the engine safe , stock Ford Focus ECU will maybe this also has changed , what version software are you running ?

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-04-2013, 11:33 AM   #32
Hardline
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 117092
Location: Georgetown, CO
What I Drive: 2000 Red ZX2

Posts: 50
FF Reputation: 1 Hardline Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I am running alpha firmware as I help out the development team with testing new features.

As far as EVAP goes, I run mine off a generic PWM table referenced to temp, rpm, load, and tank pressure. Engine has to be over 155F, RPM greater than 1000, load between 40 and 75%, and fuel tank vacuum cannot exceed 1.2 PSI. It also will not attempt to run if it sees the baro has risen over 10000 feet, a daily occurrence for me...

Fuel Pressure, I was the person who got MS to interface with the FPDM the same way the Ford ECU does. Duty Cycle of 5-50% running, 75% for Pump Off.
I believe the portion of the code for fuel pressure adaptive PW is still in development. However there is an option to kill the engine if the pressure drops too low.

Running MS3Pre1.3Alpha5 code

My Factory ECU CatchCode was MTA4
Hardline is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 02:36 PM   #33
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,431
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
MTA4 is a good SCT and diablosport code , I have done a few dozen of them , things work good in that code

Stock ECU for me all the way , you should try it , I think you would change your opinion on a standalone

Tom

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 06:50 PM   #34
beatmaniac1
Focus Enthusiast
 
beatmaniac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90996
Location: mtl, Canada
What I Drive: 2003 red svtf

Posts: 111
FF Reputation: 2 beatmaniac1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
Sure could , SCT also offers the software where you could do your own tuning

Tom
Just to make sure I'm not gettin it wrong : that mean you could tune a stock ecu with SCT to run ITB's and MAP ?
beatmaniac1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 10:01 AM   #35
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,431
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
The US software, ECU does have a section for speed density but not everything is there for it to work properly , the EURO ECU are properly set up for MAP and that ECU in your car with ITB shouldnt be an issue to tune

You would have to check the pin out to make sure all other wiring is the same and wire in a MAP sensor

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 01:18 PM   #36
beatmaniac1
Focus Enthusiast
 
beatmaniac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90996
Location: mtl, Canada
What I Drive: 2003 red svtf

Posts: 111
FF Reputation: 2 beatmaniac1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Hell yeah !! You just made my day It should be easier tahn wiring a complete stand-alone ecu, easier to tune and it retain the stock obd2 port and codes to pass inspections should Quebec impose a new law ( currentkly we have no emission test )
beatmaniac1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 03:53 PM   #37
GhostTribute
Focus Enthusiast
 
GhostTribute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 107929
Location: 506 East Coast, Bangladesh
What I Drive: 2001 Mazda Tribute (2.0L Zetec)

Posts: 225
FF Reputation: 1 GhostTribute Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Don't forget that after 20-30% throttle on an ITB'd engine a MAP sensor is pretty much completely useless. So your ECU also has to be able to cross over from a speed density to a TPS & RPM based tuning algorithm. AKA Alpha-N

Most stand alone engine management systems have the appropriate algorithms to switch over very easily. The price difference for a stand alone like Motech, Haltec AEM or MegaSquirt is comparable. You will have to take your car to a tuner. IMO that is really the only way to get everything out of your engine any way.
GhostTribute is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 04:23 PM   #38
beatmaniac1
Focus Enthusiast
 
beatmaniac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90996
Location: mtl, Canada
What I Drive: 2003 red svtf

Posts: 111
FF Reputation: 2 beatmaniac1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
ahhh It was too good to be true ! Do you know why the MAP is useless ? not enough vacuum ?

Also , I had never tuned a car by myself , but I've learn to program on a couple of different engineering programs (matlab, labview/simulink,cxprogrammer... ) which are based on matrices and logical/switches operations. Is what is the difference between the way ECU are programmed and the kind of programs I'm working with at school ?
beatmaniac1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 04:37 PM   #39
GhostTribute
Focus Enthusiast
 
GhostTribute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 107929
Location: 506 East Coast, Bangladesh
What I Drive: 2001 Mazda Tribute (2.0L Zetec)

Posts: 225
FF Reputation: 1 GhostTribute Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes, it's due to the lack or instability of the vacuum signal. However, the use of a vacuum box can help to stabilize the vacuum signal somewhat. Even that has it's draw backs. As soon as those throttles open up there is a lot of room that requires attention that can only be calculated with TPS RPM and VSS vehicle speed.
GhostTribute is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 05:53 PM   #40
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,431
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
The stock EURO MAP based ECU will be more then enough to handle the ITB

You dont have to take your car to a dyno to get a proper tune or to get everything out of your engine , I never saw the EURO MAP based Foci in the UK and they were highly modded after tuning they went to the dyno where the first tuner tried to tune them and he was impressed by how much better it ran and how much more power it made and said after checking timing and fuel he wouldnt touch a thing , just because you go to a dyno for a tune doesnt mean your going to get a proper tune and all your engine can do safely

You need a good tuner that knows what he is doing , then go to a dyno after your tune is done to confirm

I have done a good bit of ITB tuning and building in the Caterhams / Birkins and dont feel that that big of a deal to tune at all

What ever works best for you is what people need to do , I have tunes with about 20 diff software over the years and if there is proper tuning for the stock ECU thats the way to go


Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.