Where can I buy a ITB? - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > ZETEC Performance (2000-2004)

ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) The place to chat about any 2.0L Zetec engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2013, 02:17 PM   #11
GhostTribute
Focus Enthusiast
 
GhostTribute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 107929
Location: 506 East Coast, Bangladesh
What I Drive: 2001 Mazda Tribute (2.0L Zetec)

Posts: 195
FF Reputation: 1 GhostTribute Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It's a GSW5.

I hear yea about the OEM ECUs. I'm coming over form the Honda world and there is nothing like chipping and tuning an OEM OBD1 ECU. It's easy and reliable, add and remove components and circuits. It's great! The Ford hardware is all new to me.
GhostTribute is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2013, 09:08 PM   #12
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 9,759
FF Reputation: 44 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Only reason kids do OBD1 is because Hondata is too complicated for them.
I've played a bit with K Pro (all motor and turbo). The Ford ECU has much more in the way of tunability and options.
You just have to think outside the box with it. For instance, just because something is for EGR (DPFE) doesn't mean that's all it can do. It's simply a tunable switch with and input. You can do whatever you want with it.

Far as things like sequential spark, there you'll have to swap to a V-8 ECU to get the added drivers. It's the project next up on my list.
iminhell is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 11:16 PM   #13
GhostTribute
Focus Enthusiast
 
GhostTribute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 107929
Location: 506 East Coast, Bangladesh
What I Drive: 2001 Mazda Tribute (2.0L Zetec)

Posts: 195
FF Reputation: 1 GhostTribute Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
Only reason kids do OBD1 is because Hondata is too complicated for them.
I've played a bit with K Pro (all motor and turbo). The Ford ECU has much more in the way of tunability and options.
The Hondata S300 is for OBD1 ECUs and it has a lot more tuning options than the Hondata K Pro does. I've used both.... The K pro is very limited compared to the available OBD1 tuning options.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
You just have to think outside the box with it. For instance, just because something is for EGR (DPFE) doesn't mean that's all it can do. It's simply a tunable switch with and input. You can do whatever you want with it.
That is the same way that the OBD1 Honda ECUs work. The signals are just input or output and can be used any way you want... if you know the hex addresses in the ROM they can be tuned even further.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
Far as things like sequential spark, there you'll have to swap to a V-8 ECU to get the added drivers. It's the project next up on my list.
May have to look into this option.... however my MS3 is sitting here and I don't really want to spend more money on tuning hardware and software.
GhostTribute is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 07:11 AM   #14
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,004
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
an your ms3 use and control the knock sensor ? nope , kinda of an important thing to have that the Ford ECU and you can control the ns3 cannot

How will you turn off the adaptive learning in the stock ECU so it doesnt try to over do what you have changed with the ms3 ?

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 08:24 AM   #15
GhostTribute
Focus Enthusiast
 
GhostTribute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 107929
Location: 506 East Coast, Bangladesh
What I Drive: 2001 Mazda Tribute (2.0L Zetec)

Posts: 195
FF Reputation: 1 GhostTribute Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
an your ms3 use and control the knock sensor ? nope , kinda of an important thing to have that the Ford ECU and you can control the ns3 cannot

How will you turn off the adaptive learning in the stock ECU so it doesnt try to over do what you have changed with the ms3 ?

Tom
Yes I have the knock board on my MS3. So monitoring the stock knock sensor will not be an issue. As far as adaptive learning goes, not sure what you mean. The Stock ECU will no longer be installed in my vehicle. so the adaptive learning will not be a worry.

The MS3 is a complete stand alone engine management system. it works without the use of the OEM ECU.
GhostTribute is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 02:33 PM   #16
beatmaniac1
Focus Enthusiast
 
beatmaniac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90996
Location: mtl, Canada
What I Drive: 2003 red svtf

Posts: 111
FF Reputation: 2 beatmaniac1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Tom is there a way that the stock ecu program could be tricked out to run with a MAP input instead of a MAF ? Or to convert the signal into a comparable MAF signal ?
beatmaniac1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 02:46 PM   #17
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,004
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
I have not tried that so I am not sure

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 02:59 PM   #18
beatmaniac1
Focus Enthusiast
 
beatmaniac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90996
Location: mtl, Canada
What I Drive: 2003 red svtf

Posts: 111
FF Reputation: 2 beatmaniac1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Maybe some kind of piggy-back device could be programmed to convert a MAP voltage into a proportionnal signal for the ecu... Just throwin ideas loll
beatmaniac1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 03:19 PM   #19
GhostTribute
Focus Enthusiast
 
GhostTribute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 107929
Location: 506 East Coast, Bangladesh
What I Drive: 2001 Mazda Tribute (2.0L Zetec)

Posts: 195
FF Reputation: 1 GhostTribute Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
In order to remove the mass air flow sensor completely you would also have to find a replacement signal for the intake air temperature signal.

Or you could keep the MAF just for the IAT signal.

The ECU's use completely different processes to convert the flow of air entering an engine. There is no changing a MAP reading to be proportional to a MAF signal. They don't work on the same principles.

That is why they are two separate engine management processes, Speed density (MAP) and Mass Air (MAF)
GhostTribute is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 03:24 PM   #20
Hardline
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 117092
Location: Georgetown, CO
What I Drive: 2000 Red ZX2

Posts: 49
FF Reputation: 1 Hardline Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Seems to be a lot of megasquirt hating going on here....

1turbofocus, I have yet to find something my factory ecu did that my ms3 does not do... Aside of OBD-II Connectivity, which I have no want or need for.
Hardline is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.