2004 AC clutch issue - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Old 07-25-2013, 01:22 AM   #1
tbm3fan
Focus Rookie

Fan#: 117139
What I Drive: 2004 ZTS Sedan Light Tundra 5spd

FF Reputation: 1 tbm3fan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
2004 AC clutch issue

To set the picture I have been working on family cars since 1966 and currently have 9 cars at the moment. Naturally I have learned to rebuild engines, automatics, clutches, brakes, suspensions, weld, body work and paint. Only thing left is electrical and AC.

Since I just acquired 15lbs. of R-12 for some of my older cars I decided to take a look at the AC issue in my Focus. It worked fine for 3 summers and then on the 4th summer (2007) it failed to blow cold. Oh well, no big deal to me since I can get by without it. Yet with starting into the R-12 systems and my wife's 98 Sable AC working great I decided to investigate.

Right off the bat the clutch does not ever engage. Since it was dark already I managed to check the fuse and it was fine. I swapped relays back and forth finding no defects. AC green light goes on inside the car as it should. Moving around the car with flashlight showed perfectly clean hoses and connections. Actually the whole engine is clean top to bottom.