sterio display delete - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Second Generation > MK2 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK2 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2008-2011 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2013, 03:34 PM   #1
fawzie13R
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 71759
Location: watertown, NY
What I Drive: '09 LT Blue Focus SEL Sedan

Posts: 279
FF Reputation: 1 fawzie13R Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
sterio display delete

I had a in dash dvd player in my old foci couple and I took out the stock display because all it did was tell the time which my head unit did also. Im thinking about getting another aftermarket stereo for my sedan I have now. does anyone have any ideas of what to use the space the display unit fit it? does anyone make gauge clusters for that part of the dash? I need some ideas because it might just be a deal breaker for the aftermarket stereo if I cant fill the space and it look good. well im sure out of everyone on this site there should be some good ideas.



Last edited by fawzie13R; 07-20-2013 at 03:37 PM. Reason: typo fix
fawzie13R is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-21-2013, 12:04 PM   #2
Gav-O-SVT
Focus Addict
 
Gav-O-SVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 113561
Location: Concord, CA
What I Drive: '02 Infra-Red SVT

Posts: 1,113
FF Reputation: 6 Gav-O-SVT Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Have you looked at dash kits? It will fill the space of a double din or din and 1/2 and have a single din open for the new sterio, the rest is a slot that u can put your phone or other things in. Not sure if this is what you are talking about but just look it up. Hope this helps.
Gav-O-SVT is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 12:34 PM   #3
fawzie13R
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 71759
Location: watertown, NY
What I Drive: '09 LT Blue Focus SEL Sedan

Posts: 279
FF Reputation: 1 fawzie13R Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
stock sterio display

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav-O-SVT View Post
Have you looked at dash kits? It will fill the space of a double din or din and 1/2 and have a single din open for the new sterio, the rest is a slot that u can put your phone or other things in. Not sure if this is what you are talking about but just look it up. Hope this helps.
the displace for the radio and time on the 2008-2011 foci is separate from the actual head unit. I tried to upload a picture to here but it didn't work. but anyways I think I have a picture of the interior of my car. the display is on top of the dash and the head unit in centered right about the HVAC controls. Im trying to get ideas of what to fill the space up where the display unit was. on my coupe I tried a bin from a dash kit but it was to big and there's nothing to anchor or support the back of the bin. im hoping someone on here has done something cool with that I can try or maybe spark an idea in my head. but gav-o-svt thank you for the suggestion.
fawzie13R is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 01:06 PM   #4
badazz2010focus
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 4,085
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I don't think anyone has ever done anything with that you would be the 1st.
badazz2010focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 09:20 PM   #5
Justinr666
Focus Enthusiast
 
Justinr666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96239
Location: London, Canada
What I Drive: 2008 Ice Blue S

Posts: 112
FF Reputation: 2 Justinr666 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I do recall about a year or so ago someone on here saying they put a volt and oil pressure gauges in that space, you might have to do some modications to the opening.. and look for smallish gauges, but i know people on here have done it
Justinr666 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 12:08 AM   #6
jayboe123
Focus Enthusiast
 
jayboe123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106032
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
What I Drive: 2007 Liquid Grey ZX4

Posts: 122
FF Reputation: 1 jayboe123 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Try this kit not sure exactly how much it is but it will be the cleanest install for your car. And you can choose between single and double din as well as keeping the display or using it as a pocket I believe. Did an 09 using this kit and it looked great!
http://www.metraonline.com/part/99-5816

Best buy Autotech 5 years experience
jayboe123 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 11:25 AM   #7
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,047
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
I bought the aftermarket trim piece and filled in the "tray" section to add the gauges.

__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 10:18 PM   #8
Justinr666
Focus Enthusiast
 
Justinr666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96239
Location: London, Canada
What I Drive: 2008 Ice Blue S

Posts: 112
FF Reputation: 2 Justinr666 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm not sure people understand what fawzie is asking about... He is looking for ideas to do away with the useless screen display that sits atop the dash, not the pocket under an aftermarket stereo.
Justinr666 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 06:16 AM   #9
badazz2010focus
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 4,085
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Kinda figured that, like I said I dont think that anyone has been able to do anything with the upper display LOL.
badazz2010focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 08:56 AM   #10
fawzie13R
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 71759
Location: watertown, NY
What I Drive: '09 LT Blue Focus SEL Sedan

Posts: 279
FF Reputation: 1 fawzie13R Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
lol well i might not even bother messing with the radio. Im not currently home and haven't even been able to drive my new foci :-( but i was wanting to gather some ideas, I have sync so i might just leave it alone but i was thinking about getting another double din in dash dvd player like i had in my old foci but we will see i appreciate you all trying to decipher what i originally posted
fawzie13R is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.