Vehicle will not stay running unless I give it gas.. - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2013, 06:59 PM   #11
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 3,522
FF Reputation: 19 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Pretty sure they don't make one either, they would've been the first to dry up stocks since they are the ones forcing you to go to the new throttle body.............

TPS switch is not rocket science, just that in this case makers chose to not make it, why shop can't find one for ATX. They won't find Motorcraft either. Look around here onsite, many more have already been where you are now.
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2013, 07:04 PM   #12
Dmusick
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116735
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2001 Ford Focus

Posts: 27
FF Reputation: 1 Dmusick Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thank you for the ninja fast reply.. I kinda figured that too, it was Manley for peace of mind for the wife. Lol... I got the car back, cause pretty much I do not trust shops that I don't know personally! I think I've read allll the threads on this subject and I'm hoping I can figure this out on my own. Obviously my knowledge comes from all of you guys, I reall do appreciate all the feedback. I will keep you all informed of my progress. Thanks again
Dmusick is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 09:57 PM   #13
Dmusick
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116735
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2001 Ford Focus

Posts: 27
FF Reputation: 1 Dmusick Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Soooo the mechanic shop took my money ($100) and told me what I already knew... Coil pack needs replacing, new comes in tomorrow. And something wrong with TPS.. "Yeah buddy you need to get a new TPS from the stealership.... So I took my keys and left, he didn't even use lube, OUCH!!!! Anywho, I brought vehicle home and with the help of everyone on this forum I dug deeper into the vehicle, with the obvious check.. Ok so I checked my TPS wires on back.. 3 wires BROWN (ground) WHITE (signal) YELLOW (reference 5v)

YELLOW has a constant 5v
WHITE signal checked at computer behind glove box. At idle it runs about 0.5- 1.1 Volts, when accelerated it goes up to about 4.5 or so
BROWN 10v. YIKES

think I found the issue, the ground wire is shorted out somewhere. I stared to dig around and try and trace the wire, I cut the brown wire and jumped it all the way to computer, and nothing happened differently.. I'm thinking at this point... The computer on inside is bad and is causing the ground to short?? I am a Car audio specialist, so tracing wires is something I'm used too. Still no fun... If its shorted out somewhere along the harness from TPS to computer I completely bypassed it, and it still acted up. I will continue to mess with it in morning. And will keep all updated.

Does it sound like it could possibly be the computer itself this whole time??
Dmusick is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 10:17 PM   #14
CotyM
Focus Addict
 
CotyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85558
Location: woodsfield, OH
What I Drive: blue, y2k, 5spd ZX3, zetec inside

Posts: 744
FF Reputation: 3 CotyM Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
No the issue is not the computer. Computers do not simply act up... They are pretty much all or nothing. Unless the terminals are corroded... I know the fuel was mentioned earlier.... Was it ever explored (ie: was the PSI tested)???

I know when I went change my fuel filter on my focus, I removed the pump fuse, so I can re-leave pressure from the line... During this time the car will stall unless I give it gas... I know it sounds weird, but for some reason with the fuel pump fuse out I can get it to run as long as I am giving it gas... If I let off the gas it shakes, sputters, and dies...

I don't know, just a thought...
__________________
Hatch Nation #32

I'm mad! Your mad! We're all mad here!
CotyM is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 10:23 PM   #15
Dmusick
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116735
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2001 Ford Focus

Posts: 27
FF Reputation: 1 Dmusick Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yeah the mechanic shop said it was fine.. I pulled the output side of fuel filter off and turned key over it has a lot of pressure. Also did it at the vacuum thing under hood, pulled side off going into the the fuel rail, and it sprayed hard (into a water bottle)
Dmusick is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 12:22 AM   #16
bringler26
FUBARCUS
 
bringler26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 59705
Location: Mentor, OH
What I Drive: 03 ZX3 & 07 Impreza 2.5i

Posts: 5,616
FF Reputation: 29 bringler26 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
No CEL at all? Sound similar to when my fiance's car had a bad front o2 sensor after disconnecting the battery. The car had learned to compensate for it not reading right but when the battery went so did all that it "learned".
__________________
2003 Ford Focus ZX3("FUBARCUS" was "Brokus") - old and still busted
2007 Subaru Impreza 2.5i - current DD
Quote:
Originally Posted by zetecDon View Post
I always moderate naked!
bringler26 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 09:39 AM   #17
harrison.mike.j
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 113544
Location: Chilliwack, Canada
What I Drive: 2002 Red Focus SE Wagon

Posts: 39
FF Reputation: 1 harrison.mike.j Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmusick View Post
Shop said I HAVE to have a Motorcraft TPS.. Is this true?
Any time you use aftermarket sensors/electronics you are taking a chance. I've found that with a vent solenoid on my Sunfire as well. Have you checked all of your grounds along the motor, firewall, and fenders? Clean grounds are critical on these cars, a bad connection can cause all kinds of strange drivability issues. It's one of the first things we check when a focus comes in. Guys have spent hours chasing stuff just to find a bad ground on the fender or lift eye.
harrison.mike.j is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 10:23 AM   #18
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 3,522
FF Reputation: 19 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
On other things OK but TPS?

'At idle it runs about 0.5- 1.1 Volts'

Not acceptable. It must be under 1 volt at idle, PCM starts ramping up after that. It also must be totally consistent, any jumping between your two numbers there indicates a bad TPS. It must slowly ramp up as you move the switch, any jerks or lags or other is grounds to toss the switch. Look at the idle closely, or where your problem is. The switches wear there because they are there the most time.

I set mine for .9V and works perfect. It must drop back exactly to same number over and over or junk. The .5 to 1.1 won't cut it. The algorithm PCM uses to translate volts is looking for dead same number at base, anything above that it sees as throttle movement and assumes going off idle and starts changing up the engine management strategy. I've heard the one volt is the crossover point.

Extremely rare for computer to be the issue.

Uh, thinking this out. The 'ground' as you call it by electrical schematic ties in with several others from various things like clutch pedal switch, thinking some of those things are not 5V VREF but higher voltage. If you are checking with key off engine off then PCM not powered up and you have no ground since PCM switches it to closed, ergo, the high 10 volts. You're reading the potential from other circuits not grounded either but all tied to same grounding lead. I've run into this problem on other things. It's not a grounded wire until PCM grounds it internally.
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 11:07 AM   #19
Dmusick
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116735
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2001 Ford Focus

Posts: 27
FF Reputation: 1 Dmusick Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ok, I'm stupid.... Was testing the ground with the other end of my meter on the ground from battery, that's where I was getting 10v.

Did it right now, from my Meter black lead to brown wire (ground) and the other red lead to yellow refence 5v, the meter showed 5.v on the dot... The signal wire tested at the computer, at idle is resting at 336. Mv and when gas is given it goes as high as 1.7v...

Took TPS off and did a ohm test on it, it's doing what it's supposed too, fluctuated back and first as I releases and turn the TPS..

Feeling helpless at this point
Dmusick is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 11:08 AM   #20
Dmusick
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116735
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2001 Ford Focus

Posts: 27
FF Reputation: 1 Dmusick Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ok question, how do I set the TPS , Is there is no adjustment on it? I'm confused
Dmusick is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.