Supercharger with problems - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Forced Induction

General Forced Induction The place to chat about turbochargers, superchargers nitrous systems and custom engine fabrications.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2013, 05:26 AM   #1
teh_touch
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 110785
Location: Pima, AZ
What I Drive: 98 Honda....

Posts: 6
Points 35, Level 1
Points: 35, Level: 1 Points: 35, Level: 1 Points: 35, Level: 1
Level Up 70% Completed
Level up: 70% Level up: 70% Level up: 70%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 teh_touch Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Supercharger with problems

I have an '02 Focus SVT I bought with a supercharger on it. Now, I was wondering how to tell if it has been mapped through the computer or if no can just take it off. When I start off I can only go to 3k rpms in 1st thru 3rd before it sputters. Any help on how to fix/remove supercharger?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent Cyan FF Mobile


teh_touch is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 08:27 PM   #2
teh_touch
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 110785
Location: Pima, AZ
What I Drive: 98 Honda....

Posts: 6
Points 35, Level 1
Points: 35, Level: 1 Points: 35, Level: 1 Points: 35, Level: 1
Level Up 70% Completed
Level up: 70% Level up: 70% Level up: 70%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 teh_touch Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I can't get more than 3lbs of boost in 1st thru 3rd. It's a 6sp manual

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent Cyan FF Mobile
teh_touch is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 10:22 PM   #3
zetecDon
Where am I?
 
zetecDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Fan#: 62506
Location: east of Cincinnati, Ohio, OH
What I Drive: 02 ZX3, 02 MX-5

Posts: 7,574
Points 12,453, Level 73
Points: 12,453, Level: 73 Points: 12,453, Level: 73 Points: 12,453, Level: 73
Level Up 1% Completed
Level up: 1% Level up: 1% Level up: 1%
Forum Activity 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
FF Reputation: 28 zetecDon Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (45)
Moved to "General Forced Induction".
zetecDon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 12:41 AM   #4
kwg2371
Focus Addict
 
kwg2371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Fan#: 82857
Location: springfield, IL
What I Drive: 03 screming yellow SVT #1841

Posts: 1,241
Points 3,612, Level 37
Points: 3,612, Level: 37 Points: 3,612, Level: 37 Points: 3,612, Level: 37
Level Up 75% Completed
Level up: 75% Level up: 75% Level up: 75%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 3 kwg2371 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
have you checked for vac leaks?
__________________
HatchNation #36
FF 13 best audio
FF 13 3rd place best in class SVT
FFW 13 best focus
FFW 13-14 best in class SVT
kwg2371 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 01:09 AM   #5
teh_touch
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 110785
Location: Pima, AZ
What I Drive: 98 Honda....

Posts: 6
Points 35, Level 1
Points: 35, Level: 1 Points: 35, Level: 1 Points: 35, Level: 1
Level Up 70% Completed
Level up: 70% Level up: 70% Level up: 70%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 teh_touch Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'll check tonight and post back asap

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent Cyan FF Mobile
teh_touch is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 03:53 AM   #6
teh_touch
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 110785
Location: Pima, AZ
What I Drive: 98 Honda....

Posts: 6
Points 35, Level 1
Points: 35, Level: 1 Points: 35, Level: 1 Points: 35, Level: 1
Level Up 70% Completed
Level up: 70% Level up: 70% Level up: 70%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 teh_touch Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
No vacuum leaks. Cleaned the MAF but to no avail.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent Cyan FF Mobile
teh_touch is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 07:33 AM   #7
ZXthrizzle05
TURBO ZX3
 
ZXthrizzle05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24434
Location: Marysville, WA
What I Drive: 2007 mazda 3 I sport, TURBO ZX3

Posts: 8,438
Points 49,785, Level 100
Points: 49,785, Level: 100 Points: 49,785, Level: 100 Points: 49,785, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 12%
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
FF Reputation: 6 ZXthrizzle05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
How did u check for vac leaks? Also it could be tune related issue with fueling
__________________
FF MODERATOR
RISE AGAIN EGGYOLK130 WHP 124 WTQ ZETEC CREW #271
RIFF CREW
TURBO DYNO COMING SOON
ZXthrizzle05 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:32 AM   #8
teh_touch
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 110785
Location: Pima, AZ
What I Drive: 98 Honda....

Posts: 6
Points 35, Level 1
Points: 35, Level: 1 Points: 35, Level: 1 Points: 35, Level: 1
Level Up 70% Completed
Level up: 70% Level up: 70% Level up: 70%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 teh_touch Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
One can of carb cleaner with the engine running.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent Cyan FF Mobile
teh_touch is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 11:05 AM   #9
Floodyou76
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 105749
Location: Philadelphia, PA
What I Drive: 2002 SVT

Posts: 108
FF Reputation: 2 Floodyou76 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
a little info might help....S/C type? you have tuner? if so, type? wideband? if so, whats the A/F read like at 3k? where is the intake? have you tried cleaning the MAF? what happened before it started doing that? how long have you had it running ok prior to acting up? how does it idle?

if u you cant get past 3k, then that's why you only see low boost RPMs=boost, so I would think its not S/C related, at least at first.
Floodyou76 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 12:21 PM   #10
teh_touch
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 110785
Location: Pima, AZ
What I Drive: 98 Honda....

Posts: 6
Points 35, Level 1
Points: 35, Level: 1 Points: 35, Level: 1 Points: 35, Level: 1
Level Up 70% Completed
Level up: 70% Level up: 70% Level up: 70%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 teh_touch Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I can go higher than 3k but it starts sputtering higher than 3. It's ran this way since I bought it. It seems to idle fine. Its an injen short ram intake. I don't know how to find if it has a tuner let alone what wideband is. I'll have to look at the S/C when I get a chance to see what brand. I cleaned the MAF last night and made no difference.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Xparent Cyan FF Mobile
teh_touch is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.