Updating instrument panel display to new Quadrant setup? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Discussions > Ford Focus Purchasing Center

Ford Focus Purchasing Center Discuss about special incentives and ordering information on the Focus & Focus ST.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2013, 09:10 PM   #1
Userdenied
Focus Enthusiast
 
Userdenied's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116334
Location: Indianapolis, IN
What I Drive: '13 Black Ti Hatch 5-Speed

Posts: 279
Points 813, Level 15
Points: 813, Level: 15 Points: 813, Level: 15 Points: 813, Level: 15
Level Up 13% Completed
Level up: 13% Level up: 13% Level up: 13%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 Userdenied Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Updating instrument panel display to new Quadrant setup?

I am not sure if this is the best sub to be asking this in, if not please move it or let me know and I will. This was just the only place I saw that would put me in touch with dealers who might be able to answer this question.

I ran across these two images in another thread.



Both of these Foci have a quadrant setup for the trip computer rather than the older one at a time menu style setup. The second one also has a 'current' fuel economy readout which I think is awesome.

My question is this, does anyone know if it's possible to update an older focus to have this display layout? I would think there aren't any big hardware changes going on here. If so is this something any Ford dealer could do, and would it be expensive to get them to do so?


Userdenied is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2013, 11:33 PM   #2
techman
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Fan#: 116212
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: N/A

Posts: 47
FF Reputation: 1 techman Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
From what I've heard, yes, it IS possible but it's tricky convincing a dealer to do it. You may have to pay the labour for it (and the update takes over an hour to do!). But mostly, it's hard finding a dealer that knows about the update...
techman is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2013, 09:50 AM   #3
Userdenied
Focus Enthusiast
 
Userdenied's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116334
Location: Indianapolis, IN
What I Drive: '13 Black Ti Hatch 5-Speed

Posts: 279
Points 813, Level 15
Points: 813, Level: 15 Points: 813, Level: 15 Points: 813, Level: 15
Level Up 13% Completed
Level up: 13% Level up: 13% Level up: 13%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 Userdenied Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by techman View Post
From what I've heard, yes, it IS possible but it's tricky convincing a dealer to do it. You may have to pay the labour for it (and the update takes over an hour to do!). But mostly, it's hard finding a dealer that knows about the update...

That is what I am finding out. Another user in the MK3 thread gave me a TSB that may get them to update it for me without having to pay for it. I will report back any findings here and there once I have some.
Userdenied is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2013, 01:54 PM   #4
dbsimms63
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 737
Points 1,641, Level 23
Points: 1,641, Level: 23 Points: 1,641, Level: 23 Points: 1,641, Level: 23
Level Up 41% Completed
Level up: 41% Level up: 41% Level up: 41%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 2 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What is the TSB? I want to update my Job1 Focus Ti to the Job 2 4 quadrant read out.
dbsimms63 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2013, 02:26 PM   #5
Userdenied
Focus Enthusiast
 
Userdenied's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116334
Location: Indianapolis, IN
What I Drive: '13 Black Ti Hatch 5-Speed

Posts: 279
Points 813, Level 15
Points: 813, Level: 15 Points: 813, Level: 15 Points: 813, Level: 15
Level Up 13% Completed
Level up: 13% Level up: 13% Level up: 13%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 Userdenied Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsimms63 View Post
What is the TSB? I want to update my Job1 Focus Ti to the Job 2 4 quadrant read out.
TSB 13-06-27 is what you're looking for.

Here is a link to the TSB.
http://www.fordservicecontent.com/pu...sb13-06-27.pdf

Also here is a more developed thread on the same subject.
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=320465
Userdenied is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2013, 02:37 PM   #6
dbsimms63
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 737
Points 1,641, Level 23
Points: 1,641, Level: 23 Points: 1,641, Level: 23 Points: 1,641, Level: 23
Level Up 41% Completed
Level up: 41% Level up: 41% Level up: 41%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 2 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Well I'll keep my fingers crossed that Thursday you get a 4 quadrant display. If you do then I'm off to the dealer with mine. Love how the foreign markets gets the "additional" features of instant fuel economy.
dbsimms63 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2013, 02:39 PM   #7
Userdenied
Focus Enthusiast
 
Userdenied's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116334
Location: Indianapolis, IN
What I Drive: '13 Black Ti Hatch 5-Speed

Posts: 279
Points 813, Level 15
Points: 813, Level: 15 Points: 813, Level: 15 Points: 813, Level: 15
Level Up 13% Completed
Level up: 13% Level up: 13% Level up: 13%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 Userdenied Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsimms63 View Post
Well I'll keep my fingers crossed that Thursday you get a 4 quadrant display. If you do then I'm off to the dealer with mine. Love how the foreign markets gets the "additional" features of instant fuel economy.
Yep, they also get being able to roll down the windows with the keyfob... For some reason we get screwed out of features in the states.

Don't get your hopes up too much about instant fuel economy, no one has confirmed that this updates gives us that, or even quadrant for that matter :P
Userdenied is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2013, 02:45 PM   #8
dbsimms63
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 737
Points 1,641, Level 23
Points: 1,641, Level: 23 Points: 1,641, Level: 23 Points: 1,641, Level: 23
Level Up 41% Completed
Level up: 41% Level up: 41% Level up: 41%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 2 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Userdenied View Post
Yep, they also get being able to roll down the windows with the keyfob... For some reason we get screwed out of features in the states.

Don't get your hopes up too much about instant fuel economy, no one has confirmed that this updates gives us that, or even quadrant for that matter :P
Oh I know even if we get the four quad display we WON'T get instant MPG since that's for the foreign markets. We miss out on a TON of options and features, especially safety features as simple as DRLs, have to have a fleet Focus for that(makes no damn sense), to as tricked out as city assisted braking and blind spot notification, BLIS.
dbsimms63 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2013, 02:49 PM   #9
Userdenied
Focus Enthusiast
 
Userdenied's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Fan#: 116334
Location: Indianapolis, IN
What I Drive: '13 Black Ti Hatch 5-Speed

Posts: 279
Points 813, Level 15
Points: 813, Level: 15 Points: 813, Level: 15 Points: 813, Level: 15
Level Up 13% Completed
Level up: 13% Level up: 13% Level up: 13%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 Userdenied Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsimms63 View Post
Oh I know even if we get the four quad display we WON'T get instant MPG since that's for the foreign markets. We miss out on a TON of options and features, especially safety features as simple as DRLs, have to have a fleet Focus for that(makes no damn sense), to as tricked out as city assisted braking and blind spot notification, BLIS.

Has Ford, or anyone for that matter, come out and explained why software features are left out of the US market? Are there really people out there who wouldn't buy a car if it had the extra stuff? I can't think of any reasons to leave things like instant MPG and key fob windows. Lights I suppose could be a cost/regulation thing maybe, but that still seems like BS.
Userdenied is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2013, 02:53 PM   #10
slybarman
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105425
Location: the not-so-free state, MD
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus Titanium hatchback

Posts: 1,256
Points 1,664, Level 23
Points: 1,664, Level: 23 Points: 1,664, Level: 23 Points: 1,664, Level: 23
Level Up 64% Completed
Level up: 64% Level up: 64% Level up: 64%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 6 slybarman Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I think it is a price/market issue. Europe has embraced the luxury compact concept and Ford has to compete there. The USA really doesn't do luxury compacts and USA buyers don't want to pay big prices for compact cars.

Sent from my Galaxy Note 2 using FF Mobile.
__________________
MK3 Focus = a lot of good ideas rather poorly executed.
slybarman is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Cadillac ATS-V, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.