AEM wideband issues - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2013, 07:04 AM   #1
sgtsmasher
need new focus?!
 
sgtsmasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65000
Location: come find me, United States
What I Drive: 01 cd silver 3 door ztec

Posts: 1,675
FF Reputation: 2 sgtsmasher Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
AEM wideband issues

ok so i have an aem wideband installed on the car has been for a while now. anyways the issue is that its stuck on either 14.7 or 14.8 on start up and stays there the entire time and doesnt move...what is the problem with this thing...it just randomly started doing it one day...could it be from getting to hot and i fried the sensor? has anyone else had this happen to them?


__________________
Hatch Nation #72
Call Me BRANDO COMMANDO
sgtsmasher is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2013, 12:45 PM   #2
kwg2371
Focus Addict
 
kwg2371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Fan#: 82857
Location: springfield, IL
What I Drive: 03 screming yellow SVT #1841

Posts: 1,241
Points 3,641, Level 37
Points: 3,641, Level: 37 Points: 3,641, Level: 37 Points: 3,641, Level: 37
Level Up 94% Completed
Level up: 94% Level up: 94% Level up: 94%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 3 kwg2371 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
check all the wires and make sure they are plugged in correctly
__________________
HatchNation #36
FF 13 best audio
FF 13 3rd place best in class SVT
FFW 13 best focus
FFW 13-14 best in class SVT
kwg2371 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 01:10 PM   #3
PumkinSvt
Focus Fanatic
 
PumkinSvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46561
Location: SoCal, CA
What I Drive: 10 Forte DD,Comp SVTF, 14 Fiesta ST

Posts: 7,499
Points 16,298, Level 81
Points: 16,298, Level: 81 Points: 16,298, Level: 81 Points: 16,298, Level: 81
Level Up 90% Completed
Level up: 90% Level up: 90% Level up: 90%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 28 PumkinSvt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (33)
Sounds like a bad sensor...
__________________


HKS||Garrett||TopSpeed||Tial||Massive||
PumkinSvt is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:34 PM   #4
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A ONE COLOR FOCUS, Ducatis

Posts: 4,434
Points 7,050, Level 55
Points: 7,050, Level: 55 Points: 7,050, Level: 55 Points: 7,050, Level: 55
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
If it was working before, I'd say the sensor went bad. How long was it in, and what brand was it? The Bosch or other brand sensors tend to have issues from what I've seen, motorcraft is the recommend brand for that application. I had similar issues though when my o2 sensor cable had melted to the header. May wanna get down there and just see if the cable is still intact and away from heat.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BertST View Post
Hop on in babe! No really, you're gonna have to hop in. Roll Cage.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02
matmatician is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:43 PM   #5
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,611
Points 18,046, Level 85
Points: 18,046, Level: 85 Points: 18,046, Level: 85 Points: 18,046, Level: 85
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 29%
Activity: 29% Activity: 29% Activity: 29%
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by matmatician View Post
If it was working before, I'd say the sensor went bad. How long was it in, and what brand was it? The Bosch or other brand sensors tend to have issues from what I've seen, motorcraft is the recommend brand for that application. I had similar issues though when my o2 sensor cable had melted to the header. May wanna get down there and just see if the cable is still intact and away from heat.

um
AEM uses a Bosch 4.2LSU sensor.
You can't use a Motorcraft or any other brand with it.


If the sensor is stuck, it's probably damaged.
There are the off chances that there is that big of EX leak, but you'd surely hear it.

Buy a Bosch PN 17014.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 09:55 PM   #6
ZXthrizzle05
TURBO ZX3
 
ZXthrizzle05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24434
Location: Marysville, WA
What I Drive: 2007 mazda 3 I sport, TURBO ZX3

Posts: 8,453
Points 50,141, Level 100
Points: 50,141, Level: 100 Points: 50,141, Level: 100 Points: 50,141, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 10%
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
FF Reputation: 6 ZXthrizzle05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
yea I believe cfm sells just the sensor
__________________
FF MODERATOR
RISE AGAIN EGGYOLK302 WHP 274 WTQ ZETEC CREW #271
RIFF CREW
ZXthrizzle05 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 12:11 AM   #7
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A ONE COLOR FOCUS, Ducatis

Posts: 4,434
Points 7,050, Level 55
Points: 7,050, Level: 55 Points: 7,050, Level: 55 Points: 7,050, Level: 55
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Oh wait. Yeah, I knew that lol. Its for stock o2's you need motorcraft. Duh.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BertST View Post
Hop on in babe! No really, you're gonna have to hop in. Roll Cage.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02
matmatician is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 06:33 AM   #8
sgtsmasher
need new focus?!
 
sgtsmasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65000
Location: come find me, United States
What I Drive: 01 cd silver 3 door ztec

Posts: 1,675
FF Reputation: 2 sgtsmasher Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iminhell View Post
um
AEM uses a Bosch 4.2LSU sensor.
You can't use a Motorcraft or any other brand with it.


If the sensor is stuck, it's probably damaged.
There are the off chances that there is that big of EX leak, but you'd surely hear it.

Buy a Bosch PN 17014.
yea no exhaust leak, it is well away from anything hot...could the wrapped svt header throw that much heat at it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZXthrizzle05 View Post
yea I believe cfm sells just the sensor
i looked and couldnt find it on the cfm website...i might just go back to ebay and look for just the sensor...hopefully they are cheap enough and i do also need a new O2 sensor, mine hasnt worked since i put it in and just havent had the time to change them out.
__________________
Hatch Nation #72
Call Me BRANDO COMMANDO
sgtsmasher is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 06:41 AM   #9
sgtsmasher
need new focus?!
 
sgtsmasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65000
Location: come find me, United States
What I Drive: 01 cd silver 3 door ztec

Posts: 1,675
FF Reputation: 2 sgtsmasher Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
found this...was hoping it was cheaper...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Bosch-o2-Air...#ht_2419wt_904
__________________
Hatch Nation #72
Call Me BRANDO COMMANDO
sgtsmasher is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 09:11 PM   #10
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,611
Points 18,046, Level 85
Points: 18,046, Level: 85 Points: 18,046, Level: 85 Points: 18,046, Level: 85
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 29%
Activity: 29% Activity: 29% Activity: 29%
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtsmasher View Post
yea no exhaust leak, it is well away from anything hot...could the wrapped svt header throw that much heat at it?
Well being the heater circuit generally maintains a 500*F tip temp, I highly doubt radiant exhaust heat affects anything.



One of the things you should have researched prior to buying that WBO2, cost of maintenance. Replacements for mine are ~$38.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.