PCM relay cycling - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2013, 06:05 PM   #1
highplainsbubba
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Fan#: 116082
Location: Anywhere, CO
What I Drive: 2007 Gray SE

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 highplainsbubba Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Relay clicking under dashboard

I have a 5 spd man 2007 SE, 104K miles. It runs well but I hear a relay under the dash cycling every 30 seconds or so. I traced it to the PCM coil relay fuse #39 (2 amp). When I pull the fuse, the relay quits cycling. This is without the engine running, with the key on. Like I said, there is no apparent problem other than the relay cycling. The engine runs well and all the windows, cruise,radio, fuel pump and lights work. NO check engine light. Is there an onboard diag that I can run or do I need a code reader?

Update: The fuse was a wild goose chase. It controls power to a lot of things. See the solution below.



Last edited by highplainsbubba; 07-02-2013 at 12:49 PM. Reason: more descriptive
highplainsbubba is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-24-2013, 08:18 PM   #2
Focus_on_Christ
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96197
Location: Stratford, CT
What I Drive: 2005 Focus ST California Special

Posts: 35
FF Reputation: 1 Focus_on_Christ Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
If there are no idiot lights on, there may not be a code. Pepboys and AutoZone checkcodes for free, though, so you could take it there.

I recommend getting a new fuse, just to be safe, while you are there.
Focus_on_Christ is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 08:35 PM   #3
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 5,056
Points 2,935, Level 33
Points: 2,935, Level: 33 Points: 2,935, Level: 33 Points: 2,935, Level: 33
Level Up 24% Completed
Level up: 24% Level up: 24% Level up: 24%
Forum Activity 43%
Activity: 43% Activity: 43% Activity: 43%
FF Reputation: 23 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Fuse should be good if relay is cycling, couldn't do it if no power to it and no fuse on earth blows and then comes back as good.

Could simply be a bad relay, I'd be trying to find out just what it powers.
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 07:31 AM   #4
highplainsbubba
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Fan#: 116082
Location: Anywhere, CO
What I Drive: 2007 Gray SE

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 highplainsbubba Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The relay that is cycling is inside the interior fuse box. It is not visible from outside the fuse box. I notice there is a fuse on the back side of the fuse box. Any idea what that does? The web says it is for dealers only. Is there anywhere on the web I can get the schematic for this vehicle without forking over the big bucks? I will take the car to the parts house for a code scan. It can't do any harm. I may also disconnect the battery and see if the problem goes away with a power cut.I think something in the logic is causing the relay to cycle. It is probably the "I have run for 100K miles trouble free, and now I am causing problems so you will have to pay" circuit.
highplainsbubba is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 10:56 AM   #5
elsolo
Focus Fanatic
 
elsolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96835
Location: Long Beach, CA
What I Drive: 2003 dark shadow grey metallic ZX3

Posts: 2,209
Points 2,414, Level 29
Points: 2,414, Level: 29 Points: 2,414, Level: 29 Points: 2,414, Level: 29
Level Up 76% Completed
Level up: 76% Level up: 76% Level up: 76%
Forum Activity 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
FF Reputation: 17 elsolo Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Sounds like a loose wire, bad ground, or other connection issue.
There likely will not be a code, and if there is it might send you looking in the wrong place.
elsolo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 12:07 PM   #6
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 5,056
Points 2,935, Level 33
Points: 2,935, Level: 33 Points: 2,935, Level: 33 Points: 2,935, Level: 33
Level Up 24% Completed
Level up: 24% Level up: 24% Level up: 24%
Forum Activity 43%
Activity: 43% Activity: 43% Activity: 43%
FF Reputation: 23 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Look in fusebox for another relay exactly the same with same number on it, if you find one, switch them, will tell you right there if relay or not. A weak coil in relay can easily do that.

After that you will need to assess what that relay does to check things out further.
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 07:46 PM   #7
highplainsbubba
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Fan#: 116082
Location: Anywhere, CO
What I Drive: 2007 Gray SE

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 highplainsbubba Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Found the problem

Apparently the rear wiper was turned on. It seems the rear wiper is in-op so I didn't know it was turned on. I will have to trouble shoot that problem now. The fuse is good, so it is probably the wiper motor. I have the 3 door hatchback so there are plenty of refurbished wiper motors on Ebay.

That was a lot of irritation for a small problem. I see in the forum when searching for "clicking relay", I am not the only one to make that mistake.

Cleaned and checked the wiper motor and re-installed. Works well with the hatch back in the up position, quits when the door is closed.

OK. here's an update for all you hatchback Focus owners. I bought this Focus new and have had it since OCT 2006. The rear wiper was inop due to a broken wire in the bundle at the hinge point of the hatch back, where the bundle leaves the roof and enters the hatch back. EVERY wire in the bundle had broken insulation and frayed wires from the hatch back opening and closing. I had to solder an extension wire into each wire in the bundle to get it to go back together. The saga of the clicking relay is now over. If you're having problems with anything on the rear hatchback, check the harness at the hatch back hinge point.

Last edited by highplainsbubba; 07-02-2013 at 12:40 PM.
highplainsbubba is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.