Does Ford charge for Dealer mandated SYNC updates? - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Model Specific Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2013, 07:35 PM   #1
CriticalMass
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Fan#: 63989
Location: south, SC
What I Drive: 2009 Focus Coupe SES, Silver

Posts: 229
FF Reputation: 2 CriticalMass Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Does Ford charge for Dealer mandated SYNC updates?

Anyone know? I tried updating my SYNC tonight and it appears one of the updates required has to be done by Ford. :/

I have been hearing that dealers are wanting to charge for this. But according to Sync My Ride, I'm eligible to have it done:

NOTE TO DEALER: The customer is eligible for a SYNC update. Enabling this on the customer's SYNC unit requires dealer installation of software available on the PTS website.
Customer Vehicle Information:


__________________
2009 Ford Focus Coupe SES -- What I don't know about modern cars would fill up a good sized country, but what I don't know about 50's and 60's Ford engines, would fill up a 4 oz glass.
CriticalMass is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-11-2013, 09:08 PM   #2
LensDriven
Focus Enthusiast
 
LensDriven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 111184
Location: Tampa, FL
What I Drive: 2006 Blk ZX4 SES, 2009 Blu Coupe SE

Posts: 236
FF Reputation: 1 LensDriven Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CriticalMass View Post
Anyone know? I tried updating my SYNC tonight and it appears one of the updates required has to be done by Ford. :/

I have been hearing that dealers are wanting to charge for this. But according to Sync My Ride, I'm eligible to have it done:

NOTE TO DEALER: The customer is eligible for a SYNC update. Enabling this on the customer's SYNC unit requires dealer installation of software available on the PTS website.
Customer Vehicle Information:
Yeah, I'd gotten that info too- went to the dealer to see what was up and not only did they insist there's no update, they wanted to charge to check the car just incase and again if it turned out there was something/maybe an update to install. I don't know... If you figure it out, let me know! These guys acted like the car was ancient or something. Man, it was new pretty recently, they should still have current info!
LensDriven is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 10:56 AM   #3
84Camaro_L69
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 105844
Location: Augusta, GA
What I Drive: 2012 Diamond Tri Coat White SEL HB

Posts: 125
FF Reputation: 1 84Camaro_L69 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
My local dealer didn't charge me a dime.

In fact the local dealer, who didn't sell me the car, sent me an email about the update and to schedule an appointment for the update. Also, the dealer I bought the car from sent me the same message.

It seems easy enough to do, but since my car was still under warranty I didn't want to chance screwing it up. My MFT has been much improved since the update. I had my update done sometime between December to March.
__________________
Stock with factory Sony 10-speaker HD stereo and 4-wheel disc brakes.
84Camaro_L69 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 01:27 PM   #4
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 851
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CriticalMass View Post
Anyone know? I tried updating my SYNC tonight and it appears one of the updates required has to be done by Ford. :/

I have been hearing that dealers are wanting to charge for this. But according to Sync My Ride, I'm eligible to have it done:

NOTE TO DEALER: The customer is eligible for a SYNC update. Enabling this on the customer's SYNC unit requires dealer installation of software available on the PTS website.
Customer Vehicle Information:
Hi, CriticalMass,

Since each dealership is independently owned, they each have their own rates. I suggest calling a few dealerships to see what their prices are. :)

Rebecca
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.