2013 Focus TI "disabling" one touch power windows - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2013, 08:50 AM   #1
sportage
Focus Rookie
 
sportage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 113131
Location: dsm, IA
What I Drive: 2013 Blk FORD FOCUS TITANIUM

Posts: 20
FF Reputation: 1 sportage Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
2013 Focus TI "disabling" one touch power windows

I can't seem to disable this feature. I see a lot of threads on how to enable one touch, but I wanted to disable it. Tried the power-down, hold button 5 seconds, power-up, hold 5 seconds as well as attempted other versions of the sequence all with no success. Can't one-touch be disabled via a button sequence?
Thanks fanatics!


sportage is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-24-2013, 08:57 AM   #2
XlarXlar
Focus Enthusiast
 
XlarXlar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 111735
Location: Charlotte, NC
What I Drive: 2013 PB Ford Focus

Posts: 176
FF Reputation: 2 XlarXlar Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I've never heard of anyone doing that. Mine has only stopped working by itself and I've then had to fix it...

I don't know how you would go about doing this. There must be some way to trick the switch into forgetting where the extreme positions of the switch are so that even when it is fully depressed or pulled it doesn't think it has gone far enough to activate the one touch. Maybe if you try just pulling/pushing it in one direction for 5 seconds?

Also, because I'm curious, why do you want to do this?
XlarXlar is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:02 AM   #3
kevinxb
Focus Enthusiast
 
kevinxb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96008
Location: Baltimore/DC Metro, MD
What I Drive: 2012 Blue Candy Ti Hatch

Posts: 363
FF Reputation: 1 kevinxb Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
It gets disabled when the battery is disconnected. So I'd just remove the ground for a minute and don't do the sequence to restore it.
kevinxb is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:04 AM   #4
sportage
Focus Rookie
 
sportage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 113131
Location: dsm, IA
What I Drive: 2013 Blk FORD FOCUS TITANIUM

Posts: 20
FF Reputation: 1 sportage Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Don't care for one touch. I prefer the window only react while I depress the button. I mess with the button(s) and windows constantly trying to get just the opening I want. Finally I give up. The one touch control buttons are just too touchy. (no pun)
I don't mind one touch on the drivers window, maybe, sometimes, but the other windows? Nope.
sportage is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:06 AM   #5
sportage
Focus Rookie
 
sportage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 113131
Location: dsm, IA
What I Drive: 2013 Blk FORD FOCUS TITANIUM

Posts: 20
FF Reputation: 1 sportage Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinxb View Post
It gets disabled when the battery is disconnected. So I'd just remove the ground for a minute and don't do the sequence to restore it.
yeah I read that battery thing in other threads but didn't want to mess with the battery since Im not sure what else that might mess-up considering the high techy-ness of the TI focus.

PS. I might have to call the dealer. They assigned a tech guy to the car after purchase to demonstrate the features, set things up for you, and answer any questions.
When you buy a car that needs a tech guy assigned to it, you know this is not your typical automobile. :D
sportage is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:07 AM   #6
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,269
FF Reputation: 23 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
If you only want the window to go down a certain point don't just push the button once, hold it down until it gets to where you want to stop it and then pull up slightly, or while it's going down automatically pull up to stop it from completely opening.

I can't see a need or desire to remove the functionality, but there are always work arounds.
__________________
Moderator for: DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance, ST Performance, MK3 Focus
suss6052 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:13 AM   #7
kam327
-----<M>-----
 
kam327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 94700
Location: Tampa, FL
What I Drive: '14 Ruby Ti w/ Handling Pkg

Posts: 2,369
FF Reputation: 11 kam327 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by suss6052 View Post
If you only want the window to go down a certain point don't just push the button once, hold it down until it gets to where you want to stop it and then pull up slightly, or while it's going down automatically pull up to stop it from completely opening.
Why even do that? The button has two engagement levels. Just push it down halfway and window movement will stop when you release the button. One-touch down only works if you push the button all the way down.

Least that's how it is on mine.

Which brings up the question - why is it disabled when the battery is disconnected? Mine's been in the shop twice recently, battery disconnected both times, and both times I have to go through the annoying process to reset it.
kam327 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:15 AM   #8
kam327
-----<M>-----
 
kam327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 94700
Location: Tampa, FL
What I Drive: '14 Ruby Ti w/ Handling Pkg

Posts: 2,369
FF Reputation: 11 kam327 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sportage View Post
yeah I read that battery thing in other threads but didn't want to mess with the battery since Im not sure what else that might mess-up considering the high techy-ness of the TI focus.
Dude just disconnect the battery as suggested. Mine's been disconnected numerous times and all it does, besides screw up the one-touch feature, is reset your trip computer and date/time.

Strangely, though it resets your trip computer information, it doesn't delete your radio presets. Why would that be?
kam327 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:37 AM   #9
asting
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 98342
Location: Cleveland, OH
What I Drive: 2012, Tux Blk Met Focus 5d Sport

Posts: 466
FF Reputation: 1 asting Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sportage View Post
yeah I read that battery thing in other threads but didn't want to mess with the battery since Im not sure what else that might mess-up considering the high techy-ness of the TI focus.

PS. I might have to call the dealer. They assigned a tech guy to the car after purchase to demonstrate the features, set things up for you, and answer any questions.
When you buy a car that needs a tech guy assigned to it, you know this is not your typical automobile. :D
The "tech guy" was just the salesman in my case. He just hooked up my phone, and when I say, "he just hooked up my phone" I mean that he fumbled around for 5-10minutes while I guided him through setting up my phone.
Just read the manual. It'll have more than the "tech guy" will know.
__________________
2012 SE Hatch - 5 Speed - Tuxedo Black
Engine: K&N Typhoon CAI, Magnaflow 2.25 exhaust 15072
Suspension: MS3 Springs, Focus electric RMM.
Audio: LC6i, Polk Audio db6501 front, db651s rear, db1040DVC sub, Rockford R600-5 Prime, Fatmat
asting is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 09:44 AM   #10
Gadabout
Focus Enthusiast
 
Gadabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114774
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
What I Drive: 2006 Vermillion Red ZX4 SE

Posts: 429
FF Reputation: 4 Gadabout Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Oddly enough, I'm kinda curious to know if it's possible as well. I also mess about with my windows. My OCD kicks in and i have to have my windows lined up =P . Silly, i know. Its sometimes a pain to get the driver's side just right.
__________________
“Things work out best for those who make the best of the way things work out.” - J Wooden
Team Duratec #42
Gadabout is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.