HIDs and DRL, question about installing a Capicator - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Second Generation > MK2 Focus

MK2 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the second generation 2008-2011 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2013, 12:17 PM   #1
freakwithracket
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114681
Location: Columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2010 Ford Focus SEL

Posts: 12
FF Reputation: 1 freakwithracket Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
HIDs and DRL, question about installing a Capicator

I was wondering if someone can explain something to me. I am going to be installing a Capacitor on my fiance's 2010 Focus to prevent the issue that occurs in HID systems because of the pulsing DRL systems on these cars. I have an axial capacitor rated at 4700 uf. Now, all of the diagrams I have seen are like the one in the link below, and they have one side of the capacitor soldered to the + low beam wire (that triggers the relay), and the other side of the capacitor soldered to the - ground wire. My question is, why? Why not just install the capacitor on the lowbeam/trigger wire and that be it?

http://www.hidplanet.com/forums/show...-NO-FLICKERING

Instead of :

__lowbeam wire__________________________relay
l
Capicator
___ground wire________l__________________relay


Why not instead have it like this:


__low beam wire_____________capicator____________relay

??


freakwithracket is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2013, 12:23 PM   #2
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,497
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Because of how a capacitor works.
It draws power from the ground, stores it and redistributes it through the power wire.
That way it does not increase the load or voltage on the power wire.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 12:46 PM   #3
zetecDon
Where am I?
 
zetecDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Fan#: 62506
Location: east of Cincinnati, Ohio, OH
What I Drive: 02 ZX3, 02 MX-5

Posts: 7,535
FF Reputation: 28 zetecDon Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (45)
Moved to "MK2 Focus".
zetecDon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 01:12 PM   #4
freakwithracket
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114681
Location: Columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2010 Ford Focus SEL

Posts: 12
FF Reputation: 1 freakwithracket Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hmm, I don't fully understand to be honest. Your comment help but I am clearly missing a step. Anyway, sometimes its best to just trust people who know better. So would I be correct in saying that connecting it as described by others is correct, and that doing it the 2nd way I listed would result in it not functioning?
freakwithracket is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.