Dyno Question - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > DURATEC Performance (2003-2007)

DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) The place to chat about any Duratec 23, 23E, and 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2013, 05:19 PM   #1
lacole725
Focus Enthusiast
 
lacole725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85112
Location: Auburn, AL
What I Drive: 2010 Ingot Silver Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 470
Points 2,903, Level 33
Points: 2,903, Level: 33 Points: 2,903, Level: 33 Points: 2,903, Level: 33
Level Up 2% Completed
Level up: 2% Level up: 2% Level up: 2%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 3 lacole725 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Dyno Question

Hey Everyone,

I ran my car on the dyno today at the Mid-Atlantic Mega Meet in Glen Burnie, MD at the Marley Station Mall. I had a few questions though.

1. Does tire pressure ever effect dyno results?

I noticed when they were strapping my car down that my tires looked a little under-aired. They are definitely not at the recommended tire pressure.

2. Do my numbers sound O.K.?

I put down 139 FWHP @ 3,850 RPM and 205 FWTQ @ 3,500 RPM. It was on a Dyno Dynamics Mobile Dynamometer. I was thinking the torque was a little high. There were a few people there that were telling me that they had run their cars on different dynamometers, receiving higher results than what they got today. Is it possible my car is making even higher numbers? All of my modifications are listed in my signature.




__________________
Adam
lacole725 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2013, 09:55 PM   #2
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,389
Points 7,380, Level 57
Points: 7,380, Level: 57 Points: 7,380, Level: 57 Points: 7,380, Level: 57
Level Up 15% Completed
Level up: 15% Level up: 15% Level up: 15%
Forum Activity 19%
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
the tq seems pretty high.. id expect it to be much closer to your hp numbers, maybe +/-4

Check here for similar mods on a 2.0l for comparable.
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=101159


Did you get a print out of your results? If you did post up a graph
rambleon84 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2013, 06:28 AM   #3
lacole725
Focus Enthusiast
 
lacole725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85112
Location: Auburn, AL
What I Drive: 2010 Ingot Silver Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 470
Points 2,903, Level 33
Points: 2,903, Level: 33 Points: 2,903, Level: 33 Points: 2,903, Level: 33
Level Up 2% Completed
Level up: 2% Level up: 2% Level up: 2%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 3 lacole725 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
There is a picture of the graph on my post. Can you not see it? I thought the torque was high also, gasoline motors are typically around the same hp and tq.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using FF Mobile
__________________
Adam
lacole725 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2013, 07:21 AM   #4
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,389
Points 7,380, Level 57
Points: 7,380, Level: 57 Points: 7,380, Level: 57 Points: 7,380, Level: 57
Level Up 15% Completed
Level up: 15% Level up: 15% Level up: 15%
Forum Activity 19%
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacole725 View Post
There is a picture of the graph on my post. Can you not see it? I thought the torque was high also, gasoline motors are typically around the same hp and tq.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using FF Mobile
no picture in your first post, but i found it:


rambleon84 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2013, 07:58 AM   #5
lacole725
Focus Enthusiast
 
lacole725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85112
Location: Auburn, AL
What I Drive: 2010 Ingot Silver Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 470
Points 2,903, Level 33
Points: 2,903, Level: 33 Points: 2,903, Level: 33 Points: 2,903, Level: 33
Level Up 2% Completed
Level up: 2% Level up: 2% Level up: 2%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 3 lacole725 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Thanks. It showed up when I hit preview post but I guess since it hadn't been approved yet it wouldn't show up.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using FF Mobile
__________________
Adam
lacole725 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2013, 08:00 AM   #6
lacole725
Focus Enthusiast
 
lacole725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85112
Location: Auburn, AL
What I Drive: 2010 Ingot Silver Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 470
Points 2,903, Level 33
Points: 2,903, Level: 33 Points: 2,903, Level: 33 Points: 2,903, Level: 33
Level Up 2% Completed
Level up: 2% Level up: 2% Level up: 2%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 3 lacole725 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-IL...e_gdata_player

Here is the link for the video, maybe it will work.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using FF Mobile
__________________
Adam
lacole725 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2013, 08:45 AM   #7
dyn085
That Guy
 
dyn085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 98047
Location: Fayetteville, NC
What I Drive: 2014 FiST/FoST

Posts: 12,205
Points 23,823, Level 94
Points: 23,823, Level: 94 Points: 23,823, Level: 94 Points: 23,823, Level: 94
Level Up 48% Completed
Level up: 48% Level up: 48% Level up: 48%
Forum Activity 11%
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
FF Reputation: 49 dyn085 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Your graph only spans 2k rpm. That combined with your torque reading is an indication of a bad calibration.
__________________
FocusFest 2013: Best of Show
Gateway FFW: Show Class Outstanding
September '13 ROTM
2014 FiST-
dyn085 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2013, 09:08 AM   #8
lacole725
Focus Enthusiast
 
lacole725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85112
Location: Auburn, AL
What I Drive: 2010 Ingot Silver Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 470
Points 2,903, Level 33
Points: 2,903, Level: 33 Points: 2,903, Level: 33 Points: 2,903, Level: 33
Level Up 2% Completed
Level up: 2% Level up: 2% Level up: 2%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 3 lacole725 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I was wondering why it didn't show through the entire RPM range. I did hear some people complain about the numbers they got. I met a guy with a Ti-VCT Focus and he said on another dyno he ran 150 hp stock, 163 hp w/ an intake, but on the dyno there he only made 153 hp. A lot of people were saying mobile dynos aren't as reliable as the fixed ones in shops.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using FF Mobile
__________________
Adam
lacole725 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2013, 09:32 AM   #9
dyn085
That Guy
 
dyn085's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 98047
Location: Fayetteville, NC
What I Drive: 2014 FiST/FoST

Posts: 12,205
Points 23,823, Level 94
Points: 23,823, Level: 94 Points: 23,823, Level: 94 Points: 23,823, Level: 94
Level Up 48% Completed
Level up: 48% Level up: 48% Level up: 48%
Forum Activity 11%
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
FF Reputation: 49 dyn085 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lacole725 View Post
I was wondering why it didn't show through the entire RPM range. I did hear some people complain about the numbers they got. I met a guy with a Ti-VCT Focus and he said on another dyno he ran 150 hp stock, 163 hp w/ an intake, but on the dyno there he only made 153 hp. A lot of people were saying mobile dynos aren't as reliable as the fixed ones in shops.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using FF Mobile
Well, there are lots of variables that have to be controlled or documented when doing a run on a dynamometer of any sort. The more controlled the variables-the more accurate the results.

As for the Mk3 owner and his situation, he can't compare coherent dyno's and different days. Temp, pressure, and especially humidity all play in to the final numbers. Use one dyno, each time-every time.

It's important to remember that dyno's are simply tools used to help tune a car. A lot of people want to use them for bragging rights, but is kind of a moot point. Is nice to have an idea of what you're putting down on the ground, but it's meant more for analyzing what an engine is doing under given conditions.
__________________
FocusFest 2013: Best of Show
Gateway FFW: Show Class Outstanding
September '13 ROTM
2014 FiST-
dyn085 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2013, 12:58 PM   #10
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,054
Points 6,891, Level 54
Points: 6,891, Level: 54 Points: 6,891, Level: 54 Points: 6,891, Level: 54
Level Up 71% Completed
Level up: 71% Level up: 71% Level up: 71%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
I have seen anywhere from 140-152 whp on the 08+ with your mods. I wouldn't put the numbers you got in stone. For more reliable numbers I would go up to McNews and have Ray do some runs for you.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.