'05 audiophile subwoofer wiring harness - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2013, 02:20 PM   #1
lap561
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 112281
Location: San Antonio, TX
What I Drive: 2005 Gray ZX4 ST

Posts: 12
FF Reputation: 1 lap561 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
'05 audiophile subwoofer wiring harness

Originally when I bought my car, it came with the OEM sub and amp combo but the HU didn't have the output for the sub wiring harness. I found another HU online with the output and swapped it out. I'm still not getting anything out of the sub and now I'm wondering if I even have the right wiring harness.

Here's what mine look like:

in-dash harness:


Color from left to right:
red/white
green/yellow
black/gray
black/white

Trunk harness:




Can anyone tell me what's wrong and why no sound is coming out of the sub?


lap561 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2013, 06:15 PM   #2
I Bleed Ford Blue
Focus Addict
 
I Bleed Ford Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94113
Location: N.E., OH
What I Drive: 2013 F150 FX4

Posts: 845
FF Reputation: 8 I Bleed Ford Blue Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Did you check the sub fuse? Also make sure both plugs are hooked up, the one under the dash is the sub out put that goes into the back of the HU, its identical to the one I had in my 07 F150 w/audiophile.

Stick a paper clip between the blk/gray and blk/white on the in dash harness and stick an ohm meter on pins 3 and 4 on the trunk plug and you should have continuity. Also plug in the dash plug to HU and you should get +5v at pin 10, that is the remote signal. If all this checks out and the fuse is good, then most likely the audiophile amp is blown.
__________________
13 Blue Flame F150 FX4 402A on 20's loaded
13 Frosted Glass Escape Ti 401A loaded
13 Performance Blue SE 201A
14 Dark Side Fusion SE 200A
L-CCC #18/HOIA #37
I Bleed Ford Blue is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 06:21 PM   #3
I Bleed Ford Blue
Focus Addict
 
I Bleed Ford Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94113
Location: N.E., OH
What I Drive: 2013 F150 FX4

Posts: 845
FF Reputation: 8 I Bleed Ford Blue Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lap561 View Post
Originally when I bought my car, it came with the OEM sub and amp combo but the HU didn't have the output for the sub wiring harness. I found another HU online with the output and swapped it out. I'm still not getting anything out of the sub and now I'm wondering if I even have the right wiring harness.

Here's what mine look like:

in-dash harness:


Color from left to right:
red/white___remote
green/yellow___shield and/or ground
black/gray___sub input -
black/white___sub input +
I added what each wire on the in dash plug should be.
__________________
13 Blue Flame F150 FX4 402A on 20's loaded
13 Frosted Glass Escape Ti 401A loaded
13 Performance Blue SE 201A
14 Dark Side Fusion SE 200A
L-CCC #18/HOIA #37
I Bleed Ford Blue is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 10:52 PM   #4
lap561
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 112281
Location: San Antonio, TX
What I Drive: 2005 Gray ZX4 ST

Posts: 12
FF Reputation: 1 lap561 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by I Bleed Ford Blue View Post
Did you check the sub fuse? Also make sure both plugs are hooked up, the one under the dash is the sub out put that goes into the back of the HU, its identical to the one I had in my 07 F150 w/audiophile.

Stick a paper clip between the blk/gray and blk/white on the in dash harness and stick an ohm meter on pins 3 and 4 on the trunk plug and you should have continuity. Also plug in the dash plug to HU and you should get +5v at pin 10, that is the remote signal. If all this checks out and the fuse is good, then most likely the audiophile amp is blown.
Yes. The 30A fuse on #F24 is good. What do you mean that both plugs are hooked up? I just unplugged them to take pics.

Sorry for the dumb multitester question but when I test pin 10, do I put the other one on ground I assume?

Aside from getting another stock amp, what amp options are there available?
lap561 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 10:54 PM   #5
lap561
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 112281
Location: San Antonio, TX
What I Drive: 2005 Gray ZX4 ST

Posts: 12
FF Reputation: 1 lap561 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by I Bleed Ford Blue View Post
I added what each wire on the in dash plug should be.
Thanks!
lap561 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 03:48 AM   #6
I Bleed Ford Blue
Focus Addict
 
I Bleed Ford Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94113
Location: N.E., OH
What I Drive: 2013 F150 FX4

Posts: 845
FF Reputation: 8 I Bleed Ford Blue Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes. The 30A fuse on #F24 is good. What do you mean that both plugs are hooked up? I just unplugged them to take pics.


Yes after you test everything, hook them back up and see if the sub now works.


Sorry for the dumb multitester question but when I test pin 10, do I put the other one on ground I assume?

Yes the other lead from the meter goes to ground. Also check pins 4 and 5 and make sure you have 12v there.

Aside from getting another stock amp, what amp options are there available?

Anything you want. If the amp power requirements are 30A or less you can use the factory power leads. And the remote signal may have to be stepped up to 12v for an aftermarket amp. You can do this by running it thru a relay, by putting the 5v to the coil of the relay. Run pins 3 and 4 to a male RCA plug with pin 4 to the center of plug.
__________________
13 Blue Flame F150 FX4 402A on 20's loaded
13 Frosted Glass Escape Ti 401A loaded
13 Performance Blue SE 201A
14 Dark Side Fusion SE 200A
L-CCC #18/HOIA #37
I Bleed Ford Blue is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 04:49 PM   #7
lap561
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 112281
Location: San Antonio, TX
What I Drive: 2005 Gray ZX4 ST

Posts: 12
FF Reputation: 1 lap561 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks to 'I Bleed Ford Blue' for helping me out. It turns out that the ground on the wiring harness was the problem. I was getting +12v when testing the red wires (pins 5 and 6) against the chassis but not the blue/black wires (pins 8 and 9). So I cut those two wires and rigged it to one of the bolts at the bottom where the sub mounts on to. I had to use some speaker wires to make it long enough to reach.
lap561 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.