New 2013 - think I blew up the USB interface - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2013, 11:43 PM   #1
ps56k
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
ps56k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 113269
Location: Chicago, IL
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus Hatch/SE

Posts: 40
FF Reputation: 1 ps56k Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
New 2013 - think I blew up the USB interface

Wife just bought a 2013 Ford Focus hatch SE -
It has the basic Ford Sync - with the USB & audio jack in the center armrest.

Well, tonight, sitting the garage, with just the ACC key on -
I was playing with some music on a USB thumbdrive, and all worked well...
Could see the info on the dash display screen, played, etc.

Next tried our little Apple iPod nano 6th gen (tiny square with touch screen)
and connected it via the usual 30-pin Apple connector to USB -
plugged it in - and again, info showed up on the dash screen and worked well...

Went back to thumbdrive - played again - then pulled it out...
That was it - the USB now appears dead :(

Both the thumbdrive and the iPod are NOT recognized,
no USB mesaage - just keeps displaying "Sync - Line In" -

But when removed from the USB socket,
the dash Media screen would display "USB Removed".
Also, when the iPod nano is plugged in,
the nano's screen shows that it is connected "to an accessory" and is also "charging".

SO - it seems that the USB control/audio is somehow blown ?

Suggestions, observations, comments ??

BTW - is this the best place on the forum for this message ?
tnx -


ps56k is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2013, 01:13 AM   #2
matmatician
Cars&Corgis
 
matmatician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Fan#: 81361
Location: Mill Creek, WA
What I Drive: A Garsh Dern 'Murican Flag, Ducatis

Posts: 4,341
FF Reputation: 4 matmatician Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Not a moderator, but it looks like you're in the right section

As someone who works in IT for a living, and as cliche as this may sound... did you turn the car off and back on again? Also, I'm not sure how good MFT is at hot swapping. some systems handle hot swapping better than others. I'd check the flash drive and iPod on your computer and make sure they haven't been corrupted just to narrow it down.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by matmatician View Post
What spare tire? The one that adds weight? Psh. Its wherever my A/C is.
ROTM June '13, PNW Crew #42, SR #245, Rally Rev #02

Last edited by matmatician; 04-16-2013 at 09:26 AM.
matmatician is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 06:28 AM   #3
84Camaro_L69
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 105844
Location: Augusta, GA
What I Drive: 2012 Diamond Tri Coat White SEL HB

Posts: 125
FF Reputation: 1 84Camaro_L69 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I always turn the car off before swapping so I'm curious to know if hot swapping is a bad thing.
__________________
Stock with factory Sony 10-speaker HD stereo and 4-wheel disc brakes.
84Camaro_L69 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 08:00 AM   #4
ShoOff
Focus Addict
 
ShoOff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 109590
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue SE Hatchback

Posts: 794
FF Reputation: 15 ShoOff Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
have you clicked the voice comman and said USB? I know that sounds silly but mine often for no reason after like ive turned the car off or whatever will swtich to line in and I have to tell it to go back to USB
ShoOff is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 09:22 AM   #5
misfire
Moderator
 
misfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Fan#: 31379
Location: West Chester, PA
What I Drive: 2012 SEL Hatch, 2014 Mazda CX-5

Posts: 16,022
FF Reputation: 30 misfire Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Pull the for SYNC and the Radio for 30 seconds and you SHOULD be good.
__________________
Will aka Misfire
2010/2011/2012/2013 Ford Master Certified Service Advisor
2003 LX "traded in"/2010 SES "traded in"/2012 SEL Hatch "current"
misfire is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 11:31 AM   #6
ps56k
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
ps56k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 113269
Location: Chicago, IL
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus Hatch/SE

Posts: 40
FF Reputation: 1 ps56k Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
yeah - I'm pretty sure it's the "Select Source" issue.
Microsoft must have used the old Vista team to create Sync....

I'll have to walk thru the dash Menu Screen and locate the entry for "Select Source" and try to imprint that sequence in my brain. You would think it would be sitting there under the Media Menu - but it's probably over in the main Menu Screen.
ps56k is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 11:40 AM   #7
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 890
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ps56k View Post
Wife just bought a 2013 Ford Focus hatch SE -
It has the basic Ford Sync - with the USB & audio jack in the center armrest.
Well tonight, sitting the garage, with just the ACC key on -
I was playing with some music on a USB thumbdrive, and all worked well...
Could see the info on the dash display screen, played, etc.
Next tried our little Apple iPod nano 6th gen (tiny square with touch screen)
and connected it via the usual 30-pin Apple connector to USB -
plugged it in - and again, info showed up on the dash screen and worked well...
Went back to thumbdrive - played again - then pulled it out...
That was it - the USB now appears dead :(
Both the thumbdrive and the iPod are NOT recognized,
no USB mesaage - just keeps displaying "Sync - Line In" -
But when removed from the USB socket,
the dash Media screen would display "USB Removed".
Also, when the iPod nano is plugged in,
the nano's screen shows that it is connected "to an accessory" and is also "charging".
SO - it seems that the USB control/audio is somehow blown ?
Suggestions, observations, comments ??

BTW - is this the best place on the forum for this message ?
tnx -
Hi, ps56k -

Congrats on your new ride and welcome to the forum! I'm part of the In-Vehicle Technology Team. You'll see me in and out of various threads.

Are you still experiencing the issue with your USB port? Let me know, I'm happy to look into it.

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 03:42 PM   #8
ps56k
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
ps56k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Fan#: 113269
Location: Chicago, IL
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus Hatch/SE

Posts: 40
FF Reputation: 1 ps56k Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
hi - I think I got it figured out... also from your other reply to me in another thread.

I think it is the MENU - Select Source - can't tell until wife gets home with car :)

The default must be - Sync - Line In - and since the choice is NOT within the MEDIA menu,
I was just going around in circles trying to find something related to the USB,
but of course would NEVER find it -
because Microsoft SYNC stuffed it over in the main MENU navigation screens....

Same as you replied on how to simply STOP the music playing
and get back to the list of albums, artists, etc -
you have to leave the MEDIA control screen,
and go to the MENU screen and nav to the PLAY sub-menus....
ps56k is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 04:05 PM   #9
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,110
FF Reputation: 23 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
The easiest way without digging through submenus is to just say USB after pressing the voice command paddle of the Sync controls, and if it detects a device connected to the USB it will start connecting to the device or playing a file if was playing before. Sometimes at the exact same moment of the song it left off from.

Sync has a bad habit of sometimes dropping down to line in, or occasionally not responding at all and getting stuck in radio mode in my car though.

When sync is unresponsive completely it gets frustrating, but then it starts working again, like it was on it's time of the month, lol.
__________________
Moderator for: DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance, ST Performance, MK3 Focus
suss6052 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.