Does Ford own part of Apple? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2013, 03:42 PM   #1
dbsimms63
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 736
FF Reputation: 2 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Does Ford own part of Apple?

This is the only reason I can fathom for why Ford would put an ANALOG interface in the center arm rest to hook up a video source for the MFT screen. I wanted to use it to watch movies I downloaded on my HTC Amaze 4g while waiting on my wife on the Nav screen, but my phone has a digital, HDMI, output, not an analog like the Apple iPhone and iPad. I mean really, this is 2013, not 1982. Who still uses RCA inputs for video, but Apple?


dbsimms63 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2013, 03:46 PM   #2
wacky
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110451
Location: Vancouver, Canada
What I Drive: 2013 Black Focus Titanium Hatch

Posts: 125
FF Reputation: 2 wacky Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i doubt it - considering the SYNC system is "powered by Microsoft"
__________________
wacky is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 03:49 PM   #3
1slofofo
Adam
 
1slofofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 92422
Location: Chicago, IL
What I Drive: Mk3

Posts: 2,061
FF Reputation: 6 1slofofo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I think it was intended to plug in things like game consoles (Xbox, PlayStation).
__________________
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
1slofofo is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 03:54 PM   #4
SkyPilot
Jetsetter
 
SkyPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 22350
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2004 SE, 2012 Yellow Blaze SE HB

Posts: 6,061
FF Reputation: 45 SkyPilot Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slofofo View Post
I think it was intended to plug in things like game consoles (Xbox, PlayStation).
This.

And Apple hasn't used RCA in a long time.
__________________
ZETEC Crew #26 SR #20 YELLOW BLAZE OWNERS GROUP#4
Moderator Pilot, 2 foci Owner! 04 SE Sedan [P RNDL], 12 SE HB ╠╬╝
Ford Focus Discussions, Ford Focus Marketplace, Ford Focus Tech Discussions, Movies & Music Fanatics, Regional Forums

Advocare 24 Day Challenge!
SkyPilot is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 03:56 PM   #5
dbsimms63
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 736
FF Reputation: 2 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1slofofo View Post
I think it was intended to plug in things like game consoles (Xbox, PlayStation).
Maybe, don't know where the hell you would put an xbox in the Focus..LOL. BTW, I use a HDMI cable to plug in my xbox and PS3 to my TV also. I still wouldn't use an analog connector, and frankly don't know why anyone would. One cable carries video, 720p, 1080i, 1080p, and audio. Much cleaner install.
dbsimms63 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 03:58 PM   #6
dbsimms63
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 736
FF Reputation: 2 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wacky View Post
i doubt it - considering the SYNC system is "powered by Microsoft"
I know Sync was made by Microsoft, it was a joke since the only mobile devices I know of that use an analog connector is Apple. Hell even my $60 Android tablet has a micro HDMI output on it, but the $600 iPad uses analog. Way to go Apple.
dbsimms63 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:00 PM   #7
1slofofo
Adam
 
1slofofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 92422
Location: Chicago, IL
What I Drive: Mk3

Posts: 2,061
FF Reputation: 6 1slofofo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yeah, I use HDMI for my Xbox, too lol.

I saw someone fit a PS2 somewhere, but yeah, I think it's more mess than it's worth.
__________________
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.
1slofofo is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:03 PM   #8
Wasney
Focus Enthusiast
 
Wasney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 109571
Location: Saginaw, MI
What I Drive: 5SPD 2013 Focus SE

Posts: 428
FF Reputation: 2 Wasney Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
You could use a converter like this and a standard micro hdmi or whatever you phone has as the output.

Well, maybe. Just a idea.
Wasney is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:09 PM   #9
dbsimms63
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 736
FF Reputation: 2 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
This looks analog to me:http://www.phonesale.com/accessories...tml?rid=931217
I know the new iPhone 5 and iPad3 have a digital connector, like my MHL for my HTC, that has a HDMI port.
dbsimms63 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:13 PM   #10
dbsimms63
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 736
FF Reputation: 2 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wasney View Post
You could use a converter like this and a standard micro hdmi or whatever you phone has as the output.

Well, maybe. Just a idea.
Might be worth a try for $40. I can always return it if it doesn't work. Just wish they, Ford, would have put a bit more thought into it, that's all.
dbsimms63 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.