Does Ford own part of Apple? - Page 3 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2013, 09:59 AM   #21
oritpro
Focus Enthusiast
 
oritpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96148
Location: Portland, OR
What I Drive: 2012 Subaru Impreza Sport Limited

Posts: 441
FF Reputation: 2 oritpro Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsimms63 View Post
I know this, someone had asked why you would hook up a console to a low res screen like the MFT, and I said because its screen was BIGGER than my phone's, which is only 4.3". I was saying that the low res 480x800 MFT screen had the same resolution as my $50 Android tablet. I never stated that size was the same a resolution. Thanks for reading..LOL
I've connected my phone up to the MFT screen. It works OK because my phone is the same resolution, but it wouldn't work so well with a higher res phone. Maybe I'll post some PICs this weekend.
oritpro is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2013, 11:02 PM   #22
dbsimms63
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 733
FF Reputation: 2 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by oritpro View Post
I've connected my phone up to the MFT screen. It works OK because my phone is the same resolution, but it wouldn't work so well with a higher res phone. Maybe I'll post some PICs this weekend.
What kind of phone do you have? I'm not worried about the output resolution, I can change that to match the display. I just need a way to hook it up to my phone, which may be the new Samsung GS4 soon.
dbsimms63 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:30 AM   #23
oritpro
Focus Enthusiast
 
oritpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96148
Location: Portland, OR
What I Drive: 2012 Subaru Impreza Sport Limited

Posts: 441
FF Reputation: 2 oritpro Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsimms63 View Post
What kind of phone do you have? I'm not worried about the output resolution, I can change that to match the display. I just need a way to hook it up to my phone, which may be the new Samsung GS4 soon.
I have the SGS2, the SGS4 is on my list but I have no plans to get a new phone until the end of the year, possibly next year.

Outside of modifying kernel boot params or DPI scaling, how would you change the screen res on an Android device?
oritpro is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:44 AM   #24
dbsimms63
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 733
FF Reputation: 2 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by oritpro View Post
I have the SGS2, the SGS4 is on my list but I have no plans to get a new phone until the end of the year, possibly next year.

Outside of modifying kernel boot params or DPI scaling, how would you change the screen res on an Android device?
My phone is rooted and I have an app that allows me to change the DPI
dbsimms63 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:53 AM   #25
oritpro
Focus Enthusiast
 
oritpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96148
Location: Portland, OR
What I Drive: 2012 Subaru Impreza Sport Limited

Posts: 441
FF Reputation: 2 oritpro Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsimms63 View Post
My phone is rooted and I have an app that allows me to change the DPI
Right. But changing the DPI requires a reboot. Are you going to want to reboot your phone every time you connect it to MFT and then reboot it again to change it back? That would get old pretty fast.
oritpro is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:14 AM   #26
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 3,789
FF Reputation: 21 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
If you really want to know who runs who,

theyrule.net
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:50 AM   #27
dbsimms63
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 733
FF Reputation: 2 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by oritpro View Post
Right. But changing the DPI requires a reboot. Are you going to want to reboot your phone every time you connect it to MFT and then reboot it again to change it back? That would get old pretty fast.
It's not that bad.
dbsimms63 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 09:33 AM   #28
oritpro
Focus Enthusiast
 
oritpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96148
Location: Portland, OR
What I Drive: 2012 Subaru Impreza Sport Limited

Posts: 441
FF Reputation: 2 oritpro Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbsimms63 View Post
It's not that bad.
I posted some PICs of my phone attached to the MFT screen under the My Ford Touch thread. It looks like the screen might actually support a higher resolution than I thought, 1024 x 6xx-7xx or so. I'll try and get the actual resolution mapped out soon. It involves dragging a bunch of hardware out to the car in my driveway and it's been too cold to work outside lately.

Also, I am exploiting a bug in the system that enables video to be displayed even when the car is being driven. At this point though, I don't think it will be practical for this application. If that's the case I'll buy a Lockpick.
oritpro is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 12:03 PM   #29
dbsimms63
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 733
FF Reputation: 2 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by oritpro View Post
I posted some PICs of my phone attached to the MFT screen under the My Ford Touch thread. It looks like the screen might actually support a higher resolution than I thought, 1024 x 6xx-7xx or so. I'll try and get the actual resolution mapped out soon. It involves dragging a bunch of hardware out to the car in my driveway and it's been too cold to work outside lately.

Also, I am exploiting a bug in the system that enables video to be displayed even when the car is being driven. At this point though, I don't think it will be practical for this application. If that's the case I'll buy a Lockpick.
I saw your pics, but you didn't show how you connected it via RCA through the entertainment hub. You use a MHL connector like I do for TV, correct? Where did you get an adapter ?
dbsimms63 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 04:16 PM   #30
asting
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 98342
Location: Cleveland, OH
What I Drive: 2012, Tux Blk Met Focus 5d Sport

Posts: 462
FF Reputation: 1 asting Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What about running a raspberry pi through it for a carputer?
asting is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.