help!! got a 01 ztec that won't fire - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2013, 08:57 PM   #1
jshreve
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114347
Location: st.albans, WV
What I Drive: 01 gray focus

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 jshreve Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
help!! got a 01 ztec that won't fire

Alright my girlfriend just bought this car...had to replace the starter an battery before I could start it...well did that an I had nothing... not even gauge cluster lights...traced that down to the 30or 40 maxi fuse in the engine bay under ignition.. now I got everything working but car will not fire.. I replaced the crank position sensor an nothing changed.. I decided to swap ignition coils an nothing... so then I checked with a test light to see if I was getting power to the coil an cam sensor was getting power while cranking it over an its not getting anything. Any suggestions guys.. I need some help on this one...


jshreve is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2013, 09:29 PM   #2
CotyM
Focus Addict
 
CotyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85558
Location: woodsfield, OH
What I Drive: blue, y2k, 5spd ZX3, zetec inside

Posts: 748
FF Reputation: 3 CotyM Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
first of all is the dash light above the hazard light flashing? That is the PATS security system, the wrong and or bad key will set off the PATS and the car will crank over but will not fire.

Second, is the mile thingy that shows the miles covered in dashes and not numbers, if so that means the computer is BAD and you need a new one, this is not common, but is normally caused by a power surge by not jumping the car correctly or something. you can pull one off an old focus from a junk yard, but only do it if it has the an key ignition switch in it, because those are mated to the PCM (power train control Modual (computer))

Sorry if my post isn't 100% coherent, i've had a few...
__________________
Hatch Nation #32

I'm mad! Your mad! We're all mad here!
CotyM is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:32 PM   #3
jshreve
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114347
Location: st.albans, WV
What I Drive: 01 gray focus

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 jshreve Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The pats light only flashes when the key is out of the ignition... flashes once while u crank it then goes off...and I have numbers not dashes on the cluster
jshreve is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:39 PM   #4
CotyM
Focus Addict
 
CotyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85558
Location: woodsfield, OH
What I Drive: blue, y2k, 5spd ZX3, zetec inside

Posts: 748
FF Reputation: 3 CotyM Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Have you checked the "pig tail" voltage? (The wirering harness that connects to the ignition coil), these have been known to get shorts in them.
__________________
Hatch Nation #32

I'm mad! Your mad! We're all mad here!
CotyM is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:41 PM   #5
jshreve
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114347
Location: st.albans, WV
What I Drive: 01 gray focus

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 jshreve Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I checked it with a test light while cranking it didn't get anything.... but I haven't checked with a voltmeter
jshreve is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:41 PM   #6
ZXthrizzle05
TURBO ZX3
 
ZXthrizzle05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24434
Location: Marysville, WA
What I Drive: 2007 mazda 3 I sport, TURBO ZX3

Posts: 8,293
FF Reputation: 6 ZXthrizzle05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
pig tail to coil is a good one to do. also the plug wires themselves, check the resistance. mass air flow sensor as well. replace and or clean it
__________________
FF MODERATOR
RISE AGAIN EGGYOLK130 WHP 124 WTQ ZETEC CREW #271
RIFF CREW
TURBO DYNO COMING SOON
ZXthrizzle05 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:44 PM   #7
CotyM
Focus Addict
 
CotyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85558
Location: woodsfield, OH
What I Drive: blue, y2k, 5spd ZX3, zetec inside

Posts: 748
FF Reputation: 3 CotyM Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Oh, I wondered why you were using a test bulb on the ignition coil, LOL, I thought you were checking the actually spark plug connection points (OUCH!) LOL...

Anway, I'd trace the connector and check for shorts along the way.
__________________
Hatch Nation #32

I'm mad! Your mad! We're all mad here!
CotyM is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:47 PM   #8
jshreve
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Fan#: 114347
Location: st.albans, WV
What I Drive: 01 gray focus

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 jshreve Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Will check that tomorrow... an will a mass air flow sensor cause it not to get any spark?
jshreve is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:50 PM   #9
CotyM
Focus Addict
 
CotyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85558
Location: woodsfield, OH
What I Drive: blue, y2k, 5spd ZX3, zetec inside

Posts: 748
FF Reputation: 3 CotyM Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Well, I guess anything is possible, but when I forgot to reconnect mine after installing a CAI it did run, it just didn't run well... Of course mine is a very early 2000, and some things were changed between early and late 2000, I don't know everything off of hand, but there were some changes...
__________________
Hatch Nation #32

I'm mad! Your mad! We're all mad here!
CotyM is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 09:58 PM   #10
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 4,206
FF Reputation: 23 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
No.

Probably need to look at things on the maxi-fuse circuit, that thing didn't blow just because it wanted to, there's a reason for it.

Everybody just wants to change the fuse and get on with changing other parts not related to the fuse at all. While some of the time you can get away with it, doing so is what makes people think you change it and all is done there. The fuse is the finger pointer 'that says the problem is here'. Going elsewhere often costs you plenty and unnecessary, unless you like fragging yourself. Some people (apparently, a lot) like to do that though.
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.