Wanting wheels but what to do about TPMS sensors??? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack

Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack The place to go for answers on wheel types, tire sizes, offset, wheel patterns and more.
Sponsored By:
Tire Rack


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2013, 11:16 AM   #1
katkrazy2007
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105248
Location: Somewhere, MS
What I Drive: 2008 Ebony Focus SES

Posts: 99
FF Reputation: 1 katkrazy2007 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Angry Wanting wheels but what to do about TPMS sensors???

I am in the market for new aftermarket wheels for my 2008 SES sedan, so I did a little research and on Tirerack.com it says for 320 they will put tpms sensors into my new wheels and tires mounted and balanced which is good. But when I called Ford to see what they charged for the same service and to mount my new already mounted tires and wheels onto my car and they said 200 per wheel to put my old tpms sensors on my new wheels and tires!! Is this true?? They also said I couldn't flash them to make it to where it didn't keep giving a low tire pressure signal if I decided to go without tpms sensors at all because of the high price.. why is it so cheap to have new tpms sensors put in the wheels from Tirerack, but so extremely expensive to move my old sensors to my new wheels and tires??? I feel like something isn't right and I need input from you all. Please and thanks!!


__________________
<Focus Freak>
katkrazy2007 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-05-2013, 11:30 AM   #2
Rubix
Focus Enthusiast
 
Rubix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 109903
Location: Mansfield, TX
What I Drive: 2011 SES

Posts: 238
FF Reputation: 1 Rubix Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Im not 100% sure on this, but I believe our sensors are just the screwed in type, not the kind with the band. It shouldnt be that difficult to just move the ones on the stockers over to the new wheels. Id just get the wheels and take it to a tire shop and have them mount it on.
Rubix is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2013, 11:31 AM   #3
SkyPilot
Jetsetter
 
SkyPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Fan#: 22350
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2004 SE, 2012 Yellow Blaze SE HB

Posts: 6,091
Points 13,468, Level 75
Points: 13,468, Level: 75 Points: 13,468, Level: 75 Points: 13,468, Level: 75
Level Up 55% Completed
Level up: 55% Level up: 55% Level up: 55%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 45 SkyPilot Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (17)
The dealer is most likely charging you for new OEM ford sensors, and mounting of your new wheels plus the breakdown of your old wheels and tires, which IIRC that runs around $50 a wheel and $100 a sensor, so the dealer is about right. The sensors from Tire Rack most likely arn't OEM ford (you'll have to check on this) but they will work, plus they only have to deal with one set of wheels so the price from them sounds about right as well.
__________________
ZETEC Crew #26 SR #20 YELLOW BLAZE OWNERS GROUP#4
Moderator Pilot, 2 foci Owner! 04 SE Sedan [P RNDL], 12 SE HB ╠╬╝
Ford Focus Discussions, Ford Focus Marketplace, Ford Focus Tech Discussions, Movies & Music Fanatics, Regional Forums
SkyPilot is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2013, 12:07 PM   #4
DarderSauce
Focus Addict
 
DarderSauce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95564
Location: Blaine, MN
What I Drive: '08 Vermillion Red 5 speed SEdan

Posts: 1,093
FF Reputation: 5 DarderSauce Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Our style sensors are the band style, I think they switched to the other style in 2010 IIRC. To move your old sensors to the new rims they need to use new bands because the OEM are not reusable. If I were you I would use the valve stem TPMS sensors, as long as they are the same Mhz they will work... Last I checked the frequencies are all the same.
__________________
If you can't wear it out, burn it off
DarderSauce is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2013, 12:10 PM   #5
ThaKillerKlown
Focus Enthusiast
 
ThaKillerKlown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Fan#: 73791
Location: South Central, OK
What I Drive: '11 SES Sedan

Posts: 195
Points 252, Level 5
Points: 252, Level: 5 Points: 252, Level: 5 Points: 252, Level: 5
Level Up 4% Completed
Level up: 4% Level up: 4% Level up: 4%
Forum Activity 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
FF Reputation: 1 ThaKillerKlown Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
2008's use sensors banded to the wheels rather than valve stem sensors...

I know this because I had an 08 SE that I put 09/10 SES rims on and the car would not read the new wheels because the sensors were NOT interchangeable.

Its not hard to remedy however... Simply cut the old bands, buy new bands and move the sensors from the old wheels to the new ones.
ThaKillerKlown is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2013, 12:16 PM   #6
DarderSauce
Focus Addict
 
DarderSauce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95564
Location: Blaine, MN
What I Drive: '08 Vermillion Red 5 speed SEdan

Posts: 1,093
FF Reputation: 5 DarderSauce Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Sensors are interchangeable, PM Slammed2.0 he has done it for a few foci.
__________________
If you can't wear it out, burn it off
DarderSauce is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2013, 12:24 PM   #7
Miller88
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Fan#: 73790
Location: Syracuse, NY
What I Drive: 2011 Focus SE 5 Speed

Posts: 899
Points 1,630, Level 23
Points: 1,630, Level: 23 Points: 1,630, Level: 23 Points: 1,630, Level: 23
Level Up 30% Completed
Level up: 30% Level up: 30% Level up: 30%
Forum Activity 7%
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
FF Reputation: 5 Miller88 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I've seen a few things online that people have done - including grabbing a trailer wheel from Harbor Freight and mounting all 4 sensors inside of it.
__________________
2011 Focus SE 5 Speed 36k - Blue Flame Metallic - Added Rear Swaybar
2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 115k - Lifted with mud tires.
Miller88 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2013, 01:09 PM   #8
gtferrari
Focus Addict
 
gtferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88110
Location: Grand Rapids/Big Rapids/Bangor/South Haven, MI
What I Drive: 2008 Vista Blue SES Coupe

Posts: 578
Points 969, Level 16
Points: 969, Level: 16 Points: 969, Level: 16 Points: 969, Level: 16
Level Up 69% Completed
Level up: 69% Level up: 69% Level up: 69%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 4 gtferrari Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
On my 08 i had the bands. Picked up a set of bands on ebay for $20 the dealer gets 50-75 ea. If your not using the other wheels then transfer the sensors to the other wheels. If not pick up some new sensors on ebay too. Then stop by your dealer and have the car trained to the new sensors
__________________
2008 Vista Blue SES Coupe 5spd FRPP Zx3B Suspension
5000K D2S Retrofit
130,000+ miles and still on factory brakes and clutch!

Rep Points dont add themselves
gtferrari is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2013, 02:39 PM   #9
badazz2010focus
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 4,167
Points 18,365, Level 86
Points: 18,365, Level: 86 Points: 18,365, Level: 86 Points: 18,365, Level: 86
Level Up 3% Completed
Level up: 3% Level up: 3% Level up: 3%
Forum Activity 8%
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have valve stem style sensors all thought there computers say I do not....LOL
badazz2010focus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2013, 03:18 PM   #10
katkrazy2007
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105248
Location: Somewhere, MS
What I Drive: 2008 Ebony Focus SES

Posts: 99
FF Reputation: 1 katkrazy2007 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
All of this is incredibly helpful.. Thanks so much! So, since I have the bands in mine, I can just buy new bands and have the place I am having the tires mounted on at put the new bands in my new wheels and transfer my old sensors? Then is it required to take my car to Ford to have my car trained to the sensors if I just use my old ones?

Also, where I am ordering my new wheels and tires from will mount my new tires onto the new wheels and Hunter Road Force balance my tires for no extra cost -- Can the tech at the tire place still place my new bands and old sensors into my new wheels and tires even if they are mounted and balanced already? Or should I order my tires unmounted from the wheels?? I would like to have them mounted and balanced by tirerack since they use the hunter road force balancing and also do it at no extra charge.
__________________
<Focus Freak>
katkrazy2007 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Cadillac ATS-V, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.