The ultimate upgrade? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK3 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2012 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 06:19 PM   #1
OPsDad
Focus Addict
 
OPsDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108661
Location: Denham Springs, LA
What I Drive: 2014 Fusion Titanium AWD Moonroof

Posts: 727
FF Reputation: 2 OPsDad Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Question The ultimate upgrade?

I've learned there are a number of things built into our cars (e.g., DRL's) that are something that the dealer can just "turn on" using their magic computer.

I think the ultimate upgrade would be to get one of those magic computers, or even better, software and a cable to use your own computer to do what you want to your car!

How difficult would it be? Could someone perhaps "clone" this and get away with it? I have to wonder...


__________________
SR #265 | "Quia currus certatus, inferius"
13 Focus Ti Sedan w/Handling Pkg, MFT Sony 10 NAV, Leather
13 Focus SE HB Sterling Grey, 201A, Leather
06 F350 6.0L DRW King Ranch, Sunroof, Rhino Bed Liner, 4" MBRP Turbo Back, AirRaid, Edge Chip w/Pyro
OPsDad is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2013, 07:00 PM   #2
thejordan
Focus Addict
 
thejordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107706
Location: Southern, CA
What I Drive: 2013 SGM Focus 5 Speed

Posts: 647
Points 974, Level 16
Points: 974, Level: 16 Points: 974, Level: 16 Points: 974, Level: 16
Level Up 74% Completed
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 4 thejordan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Bcm is programmed from ford per vin. You can't make changes to it without taking someone else's vin program.
thejordan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 07:28 PM   #3
OPsDad
Focus Addict
 
OPsDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108661
Location: Denham Springs, LA
What I Drive: 2014 Fusion Titanium AWD Moonroof

Posts: 727
FF Reputation: 2 OPsDad Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I get that. I'm talking get the machine somehow, or clone its functions with a laptop and cable.... It's all software, anything is possible.
__________________
SR #265 | "Quia currus certatus, inferius"
13 Focus Ti Sedan w/Handling Pkg, MFT Sony 10 NAV, Leather
13 Focus SE HB Sterling Grey, 201A, Leather
06 F350 6.0L DRW King Ranch, Sunroof, Rhino Bed Liner, 4" MBRP Turbo Back, AirRaid, Edge Chip w/Pyro
OPsDad is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:53 PM   #4
I Bleed Ford Blue
Focus Addict
 
I Bleed Ford Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94113
Location: N.E., OH
What I Drive: 2013 F150 FX4

Posts: 845
FF Reputation: 8 I Bleed Ford Blue Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
You would need someone who is a master at hacking code to reverse engineer to program to gain access to all the functions.
__________________
13 Blue Flame F150 FX4 402A on 20's loaded
13 Frosted Glass Escape Ti 401A loaded
13 Performance Blue SE 201A
14 Dark Side Fusion SE 200A
L-CCC #18/HOIA #37
I Bleed Ford Blue is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:44 PM   #5
thejordan
Focus Addict
 
thejordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107706
Location: Southern, CA
What I Drive: 2013 SGM Focus 5 Speed

Posts: 647
Points 974, Level 16
Points: 974, Level: 16 Points: 974, Level: 16 Points: 974, Level: 16
Level Up 74% Completed
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 4 thejordan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OPsDad View Post
I get that. I'm talking get the machine somehow, or clone its functions with a laptop and cable.... It's all software, anything is possible.
the dealer can't even do it. they can only reflash the VIN-specific program, they can't edit it.

so unless you're a wizard...


you're better off wiring it all up manually.
thejordan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 08:03 AM   #6
420Mac
Focus Rookie
 
420Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110174
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2012 - Frozen White Zetec S

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 420Mac Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejordan View Post
the dealer can't even do it. they can only reflash the VIN-specific program, they can't edit it.

so unless you're a wizard...


you're better off wiring it all up manually.

Hi

A Ford Master Tech guy who can use "not all can" their VCM-IDS system can access PCM-BCM-GEM he then can activate such things as Cruise Control - DDS "Deflation Detection System" and by all accounts other items which have not been activated as standard on specific models, hopefully and with any luck soon we ourselves will be able to access these systems once some talented guys get the software up and running

There is a saying "here in the UK anyway" what Man makes Man breaks
420Mac is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 08:27 AM   #7
420Mac
Focus Rookie
 
420Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110174
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2012 - Frozen White Zetec S

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 420Mac Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejordan View Post
Bcm is programmed from ford per vin. You can't make changes to it without taking someone else's vin program.
Again by all accounts "I haven't seen it with my own eyes" you can bypass this by not inputting the VIN.

There is a guy on this forum that didn't have Cruise Control fitted as standard on his car but he got a Steering Wheel fitted with the Controls on it and then got the dealer "again some dealers said it couldn't be done" to activate it and it works perfectly.

e.g

- Connect with VCM-IDS
- They should "not" enter your cars VIN code.
- Select "module programming"
- Select > Chasis > GEM
- There is a option selection screen. It looks a bit like an excel sheet.
There is check boxes. Tick the check box for Cruise Control, save and exit.

Working Cruise Control
420Mac is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 08:36 AM   #8
OPsDad
Focus Addict
 
OPsDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108661
Location: Denham Springs, LA
What I Drive: 2014 Fusion Titanium AWD Moonroof

Posts: 727
FF Reputation: 2 OPsDad Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Thumbs up This seems to fit the data better than any other explanation!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 420Mac View Post
Again by all accounts "I haven't seen it with my own eyes" you can bypass this by not inputting the VIN.

There is a guy on this forum that didn't have Cruise Control fitted as standard on his car but he got a Steering Wheel fitted with the Controls on it and then got the dealer "again some dealers said it couldn't be done" to activate it and it works perfectly.

e.g

- Connect with VCM-IDS
- They should "not" enter your cars VIN code.
- Select "module programming"
- Select > Chasis > GEM
- There is a option selection screen. It looks a bit like an excel sheet.
There is check boxes. Tick the check box for Cruise Control, save and exit.

Working Cruise Control
Exactly. This seems to fit the data of those who have been successful, while others not. It's a matter of knowing to tell them NOT to enter VIN, bypass, and away you go. So I stand by my thread starting post: This is very possibly the ultimate upgrade for a Focus.
__________________
SR #265 | "Quia currus certatus, inferius"
13 Focus Ti Sedan w/Handling Pkg, MFT Sony 10 NAV, Leather
13 Focus SE HB Sterling Grey, 201A, Leather
06 F350 6.0L DRW King Ranch, Sunroof, Rhino Bed Liner, 4" MBRP Turbo Back, AirRaid, Edge Chip w/Pyro
OPsDad is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 08:42 AM   #9
mikebontoft
Derpy Cheetah
 
mikebontoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58647
Location: SLC, UT
What I Drive: 5.9L Grand Cherokee ZJ

Posts: 26,112
Points 23,312, Level 93
Points: 23,312, Level: 93 Points: 23,312, Level: 93 Points: 23,312, Level: 93
Level Up 97% Completed
Level up: 97% Level up: 97% Level up: 97%
Forum Activity 14%
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
FF Reputation: 76 mikebontoft Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
someone just megasquirt the damn thing.
__________________
SR #127 | '02 Focus SE "Foci" (5.0 RWD - parting) | '90 Mazda 626 GT "Greenie" (2.2L turbo T3/T4 rebuild-sold) | '75 BMW 2002 "Carby" (resto-mod racecar) | '75 BMW 2002 (donor -sold) | '98 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.9L (lifted and fast) | '99 BMW 328is (alt. daily).
Moderating General Chat Lounge, General Technical Chat, Ford Focus & General Car Chat, and Rocky Mountain Fanatics
mikebontoft is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 02:07 PM   #10
thejordan
Focus Addict
 
thejordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107706
Location: Southern, CA
What I Drive: 2013 SGM Focus 5 Speed

Posts: 647
Points 974, Level 16
Points: 974, Level: 16 Points: 974, Level: 16 Points: 974, Level: 16
Level Up 74% Completed
Level up: 74% Level up: 74% Level up: 74%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 4 thejordan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 420Mac View Post
Hi

A Ford Master Tech guy who can use "not all can" their VCM-IDS system can access PCM-BCM-GEM he then can activate such things as Cruise Control - DDS "Deflation Detection System" and by all accounts other items which have not been activated as standard on specific models, hopefully and with any luck soon we ourselves will be able to access these systems once some talented guys get the software up and running

There is a saying "here in the UK anyway" what Man makes Man breaks
a bit idealistic trying to get a dealer to do it though don't you think?

OP should just get a job at as a tech at a ford dealer, it'd be cheaper than all the hardware/software to get it done.
thejordan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.