2008 focus sub and amp install - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Second Generation > MK2 Focus

MK2 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the second generation 2008-2011 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2013, 08:31 PM   #1
Kurtsmith2013
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108102
Location: Denton, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 08 focus titanium grey

Posts: 38
FF Reputation: 1 Kurtsmith2013 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
2008 focus sub and amp install

so i decided to hook up a sub and amp in my focus. i ran the power wire from my battery (fused) to my power in my amp, i ran my remote wire from the amp to a fuse under my glovebox (fuse tap) and my ground i ran from amp under the carpet to a metal seat belt holder thing, i had the stock sony head unit, so i bought a LOC converter and tapped into my rear speaker wires.(connected to amp. my sub came on and i listened to it for 2minutes, then switched it off and just made sure my wires were tooked away properly, i turn my car back on and no sound from the sub. so i checked over all wires and noticed the fuse in power wire had blown, so i decided to upgrade my stereo to the new sony/sat nav/dvd. i installed that and it had lots of extras on the back, rear left/rear right so i connected my rca cables to that to the amp, left my remote wire where it was as i wasnt sure if the new one had a remote wire built in? still no noise from the sub but it pops when i turn the stereo on then the power fuse blows, i had a 30amp fuse in the power fuse and 30 amp fuse in the amp itself, i swapped amps to see if the amp was toast, my other amp i had 2 30amp fuses in and it still blows the fuse in my power cable? do i need a 50amp fuse in my power fuse? and why doesnt my sub work? the sub isnt blown or anything because i have checked? thanks in advance.


Kurtsmith2013 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-09-2013, 11:07 PM   #2
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,391
Points 8,365, Level 61
Points: 8,365, Level: 61 Points: 8,365, Level: 61 Points: 8,365, Level: 61
Level Up 72% Completed
Level up: 72% Level up: 72% Level up: 72%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Sounds to me like you have a short somewhere. Possibly in your amp. Pics would help too.
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2013, 12:18 AM   #3
Slammed_2.0
Boosted HB.
 
Slammed_2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84306
Location: LA, LA
What I Drive: 2013 TB ST

Posts: 1,697
FF Reputation: 20 Slammed_2.0 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Since your running a LOC make sure all your inputs are right. Pos to Pos and Neg to Neg. The Remote wire needs any 12v switch source to turn on which you have right. To determin the right Fuse size go with this. MAX RMS Divide by 14 (volts) = ams needed to power amp. For example. If you have a 1400w RMS amp with a vehicle that supplies 14v (focus does) you need atleast a 100a Fuse.

so remember. Watt/Volt=Amp
__________________
2013 Ford Focus BOOS[ST]ED
2010 Ford Focus "S"edan (11 Psi, GT28RS) - Sold
ROTM Nov '11 (2010 Focus S)
Slammed_2.0 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2013, 11:38 AM   #4
Kurtsmith2013
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108102
Location: Denton, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 08 focus titanium grey

Posts: 38
FF Reputation: 1 Kurtsmith2013 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
im not running a LOC anymore i bought the upgraded stereo, and well iv got a 1000w amp and 1000w sub so that would be 70w fuse? would i be best getting 2, 1 for the amp itself and one for the power wire? also im going to try my other sub and amp out of my old focus, see if that works, if they do then my amp is prob toast, if my old amp works with the sub iv got now, my amp is toast, if it doesnt then something is wrong with the sub, will sort it all tomorrow and let you know what it was. thanks for the replies
Kurtsmith2013 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2013, 02:41 PM   #5
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,391
Points 8,365, Level 61
Points: 8,365, Level: 61 Points: 8,365, Level: 61 Points: 8,365, Level: 61
Level Up 72% Completed
Level up: 72% Level up: 72% Level up: 72%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtsmith2013 View Post
im not running a LOC anymore i bought the upgraded stereo, and well iv got a 1000w amp and 1000w sub so that would be 70w fuse? would i be best getting 2, 1 for the amp itself and one for the power wire? also im going to try my other sub and amp out of my old focus, see if that works, if they do then my amp is prob toast, if my old amp works with the sub iv got now, my amp is toast, if it doesnt then something is wrong with the sub, will sort it all tomorrow and let you know what it was. thanks for the replies
You will NOT change the the fuse on the amp unless it is blown and in that case it should be replaced with the exact same size. As for the power wire that is the one you should change if needed. But honestly it should not blow unless you have a short at some point along it or at the amp.
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2013, 02:45 PM   #6
Kurtsmith2013
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108102
Location: Denton, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 08 focus titanium grey

Posts: 38
FF Reputation: 1 Kurtsmith2013 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
im going to buy a bigger fuse tomorrow for the power wire fuse, and how can i tell if i have got a short somewhere. what can be causing it?
Kurtsmith2013 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2013, 07:12 PM   #7
badazz2010focus
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 4,138
Points 18,108, Level 85
Points: 18,108, Level: 85 Points: 18,108, Level: 85 Points: 18,108, Level: 85
Level Up 52% Completed
Level up: 52% Level up: 52% Level up: 52%
Forum Activity 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It could be pinched somewhere what gauge?
badazz2010focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2013, 07:16 PM   #8
Kurtsmith2013
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108102
Location: Denton, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 08 focus titanium grey

Posts: 38
FF Reputation: 1 Kurtsmith2013 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It could be cos i couldnt find a whole in my firewall and im not drilling, so i ran it acroass my engine bay, down the side above wheel arch, door the door sleeve and down the side into the boot, will look later on, and erm i got a 1000w amp kit sure its 10 gauge?
Kurtsmith2013 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2013, 07:20 PM   #9
badazz2010focus
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 4,138
Points 18,108, Level 85
Points: 18,108, Level: 85 Points: 18,108, Level: 85 Points: 18,108, Level: 85
Level Up 52% Completed
Level up: 52% Level up: 52% Level up: 52%
Forum Activity 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
it should be a 100amp fuse for every 1000 watts
badazz2010focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2013, 07:21 PM   #10
badazz2010focus
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 4,138
Points 18,108, Level 85
Points: 18,108, Level: 85 Points: 18,108, Level: 85 Points: 18,108, Level: 85
Level Up 52% Completed
Level up: 52% Level up: 52% Level up: 52%
Forum Activity 9%
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
wtf bro 10 gauge....? you need at least 4 at the least
badazz2010focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.