2007 duratec ecu - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > DURATEC Performance (2003-2007)

DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) The place to chat about any Duratec 23, 23E, and 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2013, 01:22 AM   #1
WSkobra
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 93397
Location: Surprise, AZ
What I Drive: 2007 Focus SE 4dr Dark Shadow Gray

Posts: 103
FF Reputation: 1 WSkobra Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
2007 duratec ecu

So I have a 2007 focus se with the dtec20. Here in the future I plan on finding out if the ecu from the 07 st sedan will work and help increase the performance of my motor just by swapping the ecu. I have been wondering though if anyone has done this already. I have don't the research for the specs on the dtec20 vs the dtec23 and only difference I am finding is the stroke and bore. From the info I found the head is the exact same specs from the 20 to 23. If anyone has tried this let me know and if no one has then I guess we will find out if it works the hard way.


WSkobra is offline  
   
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2013, 01:24 AM   #2
sam fisher
I hate dents!
 
sam fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103137
Location: royal oak, MI
What I Drive: 2006 silver zx4 ses

Posts: 3,050
FF Reputation: 3 sam fisher Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Why dont you just get a tune ? fswerks or tom on here will get you a nice one , but I believe tom give free updates

Sent from my SPH-M820-BST using FF Mobile
sam fisher is offline  
   
Old 02-08-2013, 01:34 AM   #3
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 25,055
FF Reputation: 47 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
The head is not the same spec. The head flows much better on the 2.3 than the 2.0. Your best bet would be to just get a tuner and a tune.
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
   
Old 02-08-2013, 04:29 AM   #4
WSkobra
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 93397
Location: Surprise, AZ
What I Drive: 2007 Focus SE 4dr Dark Shadow Gray

Posts: 103
FF Reputation: 1 WSkobra Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
First of all I will not get a tune from Tom. I have seen videos and heard bad reviews on his tunes. Second I do plan on getting the sct excalibrator 3 programmer but my thought is my ecu is tuned differently because it does have less flow. So I figured by swapping out to the st ecu it will help adjust things better because it is tuned from the factory for a better flowing motor so it should help increase power just from the swap, I think. No two ecu's are programmed the same from the factory, especially a base model ecu vs a sportier tuned ecu. And if it does help just swapping the ecu out then I can hold off getting the programmer for a bit. Right now I have an issue with my current manifold with the tumble flaps. I am trying to beat some Hondas without having to tune the ecu. I have already ran one Honda with a motor swap with a full tune and he only gets me by a car length. He's got a jdm B16 vtec motor in his ef sedan civic. All I got is a couple bolts ons so like I said I want to beat these guys without having to tune my ecu just yet. I would rather swap out some parts that are going go help the motor out more.
WSkobra is offline  
   
Old 02-08-2013, 04:47 AM   #5
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 25,055
FF Reputation: 47 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Tom is not the only tuner there is for the focus, there is also FSWerks. Where are these "video's" you claim to have seen?
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
   
Old 02-08-2013, 08:09 AM   #6
Egz
Sückn' n Blown
 
Egz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 442
Location: Tappahannock, VA
What I Drive: 2003 2.3l ZX3

Posts: 7,742
FF Reputation: 111 Egz Excellent Standing MemberEgz Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Swapping out the ECU will do nothing but cause headaches. Just get a tune.
Egz is offline  
   
Old 02-08-2013, 12:35 PM   #7
WSkobra
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 93397
Location: Surprise, AZ
What I Drive: 2007 Focus SE 4dr Dark Shadow Gray

Posts: 103
FF Reputation: 1 WSkobra Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egz View Post
Swapping out the ECU will do nothing but cause headaches. Just get a tune.
How do you know swapping out the ecu is going to cause headaches? Have you swapped one out before for one that came out of an st model focus? Swapping them out is as easy as just unplugging three harnesses then grab the new one and plug in the harnesses so that seems pretty damn easy especially coming from a person that has already done this once be aide I had converted my car from auto to standard properly unlike some people making it a hack job. If you have swapped it out for the st model focus ecu and it didn't work for you then just say that instead of its just going to cause headaches.
WSkobra is offline  
   
Old 02-08-2013, 01:05 PM   #8
felixthecat
Focus Fanatic
 
felixthecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80663
Location: Renton, WA
What I Drive: '05 Silver Sport Technologies

Posts: 8,504
FF Reputation: 53 felixthecat Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
WSKobra, I'd pass on the pcm swap & get your pcm reflashed. Its well worth it. A reflash gets you so much more then you think. You will find the motor runs so much smoother.
__________________
Introduce Mr. Torsen to the mix D23 crew- D-Tech- Sedan Revolution= #131
felixthecat is offline  
   
Old 02-08-2013, 02:52 PM   #9
drewts86
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Fan#: 72974
Location: san jose, CA
What I Drive: 2004 Burgundy ZX3

Posts: 121
FF Reputation: 1 drewts86 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WSkobra View Post
How do you know swapping out the ecu is going to cause headaches? Have you swapped one out before for one that came out of an st model focus? Swapping them out is as easy as just unplugging three harnesses then grab the new one and plug in the harnesses so that seems pretty damn easy especially coming from a person that has already done this once be aide I had converted my car from auto to standard properly unlike some people making it a hack job. If you have swapped it out for the st model focus ecu and it didn't work for you then just say that instead of its just going to cause headaches.
I smell a troll! Come out from under that bridge if you know what's good for you! Otherwise just stay under that bridge and ignore the good advice of many seasoned FF veterans. Don't bring any more hate on Tom into this thread until you bring some context to support your claims. We don't like blind accusations around here.
drewts86 is offline  
   
Old 02-09-2013, 07:11 PM   #10
Egz
Sückn' n Blown
 
Egz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 442
Location: Tappahannock, VA
What I Drive: 2003 2.3l ZX3

Posts: 7,742
FF Reputation: 111 Egz Excellent Standing MemberEgz Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WSkobra View Post
How do you know swapping out the ecu is going to cause headaches? Have you swapped one out before for one that came out of an st model focus? Swapping them out is as easy as just unplugging three harnesses then grab the new one and plug in the harnesses so that seems pretty damn easy especially coming from a person that has already done this once be aide I had converted my car from auto to standard properly unlike some people making it a hack job. If you have swapped it out for the st model focus ecu and it didn't work for you then just say that instead of its just going to cause headaches.
Lets assume there aren't any wiring differences, because we all know Ford never changes the wiring ever....

The ST ECU is going to look for the solenoids for operating the dual runner intake manifold, and probably will throw an CEL. Which then means you need to flash that ECU to turn off the CEL. Which you can do to your original ECU.

(then there is PATS you have to worry about)

Ok, maybe not a headache, just overkill and unneeded.
__________________
January 2008 Focus Fanatics ROTM
2003 Ford Focus ZX3 2.3l N/A = 221 HP, 162 ft-lbs, 13.967@100.88MPH
2006 Ford Fusion 2.3l Turbo = 244HP, 247ft-lbs

duratec.wikispaces.com - Duratec Wiki - Sign up and contribute!
Egz is offline  
   
Closed Thread

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.