1.6 tdci turbo failure (that old chestnut!) - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace

Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Old 02-02-2013, 05:29 PM   #1
Nowfocussed
Focus Rookie

Fan#: 109475
What I Drive: 2003 Focus LX tdci estate in blue

FF Reputation: 1 Nowfocussed Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
1.6 tdci turbo failure (that old chestnut!)

Firstly, let me say hello to you all! I'm a newbie here and a relative newbieto the Ford Focus, my first one being a 2003 tdci estate I purchased before christmas, and what a cracking load lugger it is, hugely impressed!

I (maybe a little blindly) more recently purchased a 55 plate 1.6 tdci estate, lots of service history, overall excellent condition despite wearing 135k on the clock, interior very clean, nicely specced.

However, bought as spares or repair due to knackered turbo bearings (I can hear air being sucked between teeth already), and they were knackered! Around 3mm of play in the turbo shaft though no damage to either the compressor or turbine housings.

So after reading up on this shared development PSA/Ford power unit it appears this is a hugely common thing and just about anything from blocked dpf filters to leaky injector sealsto witchcraft is cited as the reason.

To be fair, as far as my example goes, prior to me removing the turbo either all the fasteners have been replaced at the last turbo replacement or this is the car's original turbo, and I can hand on heart say all fasteners were in a perfect, unburred untouched state.