So I broke the locking clip on my MAF Sensor wiring harness... - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2013, 04:48 PM   #1
lawdogwes
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 109472
Location: Aiken, SC
What I Drive: 2005 Silver ZX5

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 lawdogwes Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
So I broke the locking clip on my MAF Sensor wiring harness...

Greetings all. While removing my mass air flow sensor for cleaning I broke the ears off the red locking clip inside the wiring harness. Anyway to replace it without replacing the whole harness? Thanks in advance.


lawdogwes is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2013, 06:09 PM   #2
Squareleft
Focus Enthusiast
 
Squareleft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Fan#: 33224
Location: Olympia, WA
What I Drive: 01 zx3

Posts: 133
Points 1,036, Level 17
Points: 1,036, Level: 17 Points: 1,036, Level: 17 Points: 1,036, Level: 17
Level Up 36% Completed
Level up: 36% Level up: 36% Level up: 36%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Squareleft Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
you could cut the harness if you had another connector and repair it that way. but highly unlikely you have access to a connector. id say just lightly dab a small amount of silicone on the insides of the connector being carefully no to get it in the pins themselves. Hondabond works great. better than most
Squareleft is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2013, 06:28 PM   #3
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,219
Points 27,353, Level 98
Points: 27,353, Level: 98 Points: 27,353, Level: 98 Points: 27,353, Level: 98
Level Up 1% Completed
Level up: 1% Level up: 1% Level up: 1%
Forum Activity 17%
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Man, that stuff happens, it's very likely that the MAF will stay plugged in. Its not exactly loose. All that red clip does is prevent accidentally pushing down on the release clip. It's no big deal that you lost it.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2013, 06:41 PM   #4
lawdogwes
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 109472
Location: Aiken, SC
What I Drive: 2005 Silver ZX5

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 lawdogwes Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks to you both! I've reconnected it and it does fit pretty snug. If it come off I'll try the silicone. Also, I had the MAF sensor out to clean thinking it was causing idle problems but that was not it. Any experience with what else I may check? I"m going plugs and wires next. I'm at 96,000 miles.
lawdogwes is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2013, 06:57 PM   #5
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,219
Points 27,353, Level 98
Points: 27,353, Level: 98 Points: 27,353, Level: 98 Points: 27,353, Level: 98
Level Up 1% Completed
Level up: 1% Level up: 1% Level up: 1%
Forum Activity 17%
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Are you sure your car is an 05? Those don't have plug wires. They do have plug boots though which fit on the bottom of the coils- and those can be changed. Mine went out about 80k or so- it might be time for yours. If your plugs are factory, then those are definitely bad. I don't think 100k mile plugs last 100k miles.

What exactly is your problem?
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2013, 06:59 PM   #6
JakeTheSnake
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97620
Location: Battle Creek, MI
What I Drive: 2004 Twilight Blue ZTS, 2.3L PZEV

Posts: 71
FF Reputation: 1 JakeTheSnake Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Do you have two solenoids on top of your intake manifold?

Your basic symptom sounds just like what I just fixed:
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=307992
JakeTheSnake is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2013, 07:02 PM   #7
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,219
Points 27,353, Level 98
Points: 27,353, Level: 98 Points: 27,353, Level: 98 Points: 27,353, Level: 98
Level Up 1% Completed
Level up: 1% Level up: 1% Level up: 1%
Forum Activity 17%
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
05s don't have vacuum actuated tumble flaps. Ford switched to a more reliable electric actuator.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2013, 07:04 PM   #8
TheGlassMaker
REVOLT.BUILD.RISE
 
TheGlassMaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Fan#: 69510
Location: De Graff, OH
What I Drive: 97 Impreza coupe, 04 Mazda6

Posts: 8,227
Points 32,586, Level 100
Points: 32,586, Level: 100 Points: 32,586, Level: 100 Points: 32,586, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 13 TheGlassMaker Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
NVM I didn't realize you had a duratec.
__________________
Do one thing every day that scares you. -Eleanor Roosevelt
TheGlassMaker is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2013, 07:04 PM   #9
JakeTheSnake
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97620
Location: Battle Creek, MI
What I Drive: 2004 Twilight Blue ZTS, 2.3L PZEV

Posts: 71
FF Reputation: 1 JakeTheSnake Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
DAMN! Just my luck - a model year short of "more reliable"! :)
JakeTheSnake is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2013, 07:06 PM   #10
lawdogwes
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 109472
Location: Aiken, SC
What I Drive: 2005 Silver ZX5

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 lawdogwes Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ha! That shows you how much I know about cars. It is a 2005. I had no idea about plugs and wires just was hypothesizing about what to try next. Thanks for the info, I will check it out. Don't know why I didn't find this board years ago. :)

Exact problem is rough idle and then it shuts off. While driving it's fine but slowing down it shuts off. Either in a turn or while sitting still.

Last edited by lawdogwes; 02-02-2013 at 07:10 PM. Reason: Did not fully answer question.
lawdogwes is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Cadillac ATS-V, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.