factory or aftermarket? - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 08:26 PM   #1
CBen
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Fan#: 51928
Location: Illwaukee, WI
What I Drive: 2003 ZTW

Posts: 31
FF Reputation: 1 CBen Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
factory or aftermarket?

I recently replaced the transmission mount in my FoFo. The original (or, what I assume to be the original) clearly needed it as the rubber was basically just flaking off. I replaced it with a Duralast (Autozone) part. This actually made the noise and vibration worse. Are the factory mounts really that much softer?


CBen is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-23-2013, 08:35 PM   #2
05focusST91
Focus Addict
 
05focusST91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Fan#: 83640
Location: Westchester, NY
What I Drive: 2008 chevy cobalt SS/TC.

Posts: 1,089
FF Reputation: 6 05focusST91 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Factory mounts are always better, if you spend extra on the poly urethane mounts they wont necessarily last longer but they can take quite a beating.
__________________
Funtion>form.
FLOOR IT!
2005 focus ST (gone)
Still here!
05focusST91 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 08:45 PM   #3
pasta
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Fan#: 62350
Location: queens, NY
What I Drive: 2003 eap svt

Posts: 1,420
FF Reputation: 5 pasta Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (34)
factory way to go tousleyford.com
pasta is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 09:00 PM   #4
mikeeshaq
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 72526
Location: Sugar Land,TX ex MN, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Transit Connect

Posts: 1,017
FF Reputation: 15 mikeeshaq Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
You probably need to do the passenger mount and the dog bone

There seems to a majority consensus (although there is one that says the no name mounts work) that the passenger side needs to be FORD OEM .
mikeeshaq is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:11 PM   #5
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 3,522
FF Reputation: 19 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Aftermarket mounts will use like one rubber compound on everything they make and it will be hard as rock. Factory will often use different rubber compounds based on what engineering has shown to be the proper amount of damping for particular engine/chassis combinations. On the hydraulic mounts the aftermarket will be made very much shoddier with some new ones coming apart in weeks or days...............

Oh, and a lifetime warranty on those particular parts really means absolutely nothing, they are made so cheaply they actually plan on you coming back to get replacements which will fare no better. BTDT several times.
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:19 PM   #6
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 23,708
FF Reputation: 46 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
When replacing one it's best to replace them all.
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:23 PM   #7
xxMichaelAnthony
Focus Fanatic
 
xxMichaelAnthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58459
Location: Orange County, CA, CA
What I Drive: 2001 CD Silver ZX3

Posts: 2,465
FF Reputation: 20 xxMichaelAnthony Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Poly inserts.
__________________
http://effyeahfordcars.tumblr.com
[HOONIGAN]
iTroll
xxMichaelAnthony is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:34 PM   #8
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 23,708
FF Reputation: 46 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
I poly the lower one and leave the top ones. On a stock engine the vibes can be a bit annoying. I'd also recommend the Energy Suspension inserts over the Prothane ones.
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 11:39 PM   #9
xxMichaelAnthony
Focus Fanatic
 
xxMichaelAnthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58459
Location: Orange County, CA, CA
What I Drive: 2001 CD Silver ZX3

Posts: 2,465
FF Reputation: 20 xxMichaelAnthony Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
I always hear Energy over Prothane. Why? Different compound? Firmer? Softer?
__________________
http://effyeahfordcars.tumblr.com
[HOONIGAN]
iTroll
xxMichaelAnthony is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:05 AM   #10
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 23,708
FF Reputation: 46 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
The ES mount has a lip on it to keep the mount from slipping out of the dog bone. I've also had a new Prothane mount split on me before which caused some damage to my car. Now I have a leaking PS rack and a bent exhaust. Though the exhaust was a tad too close to my PS rack to begin with but when the mount gave it whacked it good. I've had the ES mount last years before failing. Poly mounts do wear out they just take a lot longer to do it. Oh and the other Prothane mount I had is slipping out the mount. You can order the ES mount directly from ES for less than 25 bucks shipped. I have pics but can't post them due to my work internet.
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.