GPS and Nav question... - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2013, 12:44 PM   #1
cwmehring
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105016
Location: Manteca, CA
What I Drive: 2012 Black Ford Focus Titanium

Posts: 18
FF Reputation: 1 cwmehring Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
GPS and Nav question...

I see that there are a few eBay sellers who have GPS and the Nav SD cards for sale. Does anyone know if its possible to add the GPS to my current MFT w/o Nav?

I have a 2012 FF HB Ti with MFT and Sync.

Thanks!


__________________
2012 Tuxedo Black 5-DR Hatchback Titanium|2.0L I4 GDI Engine|6-SPD Auto Transmission (SST)|18" Alloy Wheels|MFT V3.0.2
cwmehring is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2013, 02:36 PM   #2
hotleadsingerguy
Focus Addict
 
hotleadsingerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86687
Location: Cleveland, United States
What I Drive: 2012 Black Titanium 5-Door

Posts: 882
FF Reputation: 5 hotleadsingerguy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It's possible, but not just with adding an SD Card. It's purely a software change, but Ford won't do it. The only way it's currently possible is replacing the 3 main units in your car with ones that have previously been provisioned in a car made for Nav.

It should be easily done, but it's not.
hotleadsingerguy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 06:03 PM   #3
lddavis
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 104180
Location: Petaluma, CA
What I Drive: 1997 Red Outback

Posts: 180
FF Reputation: 2 lddavis Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Do they install and wire the GPS antenna in all the cars, as well as the electronics?
lddavis is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 07:37 PM   #4
Dgc333
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85422
Location: Pembroke, MA
What I Drive: 2012, candy blue, SEL

Posts: 724
Points 750, Level 14
Points: 750, Level: 14 Points: 750, Level: 14 Points: 750, Level: 14
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Dgc333 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
All the cars with Sync have a GPS receiver and antenna.
Dgc333 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 08:25 PM   #5
OakvilleFocus
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108912
Location: Oakville, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Grey Titanium

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 OakvilleFocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Given the GPS receiver is built into the ARM processor, it would only need an antenna.

I don't see how it would make sense to leave out the antenna, I imagine retooling the assembly line to exclude the functionality would actually cost Ford more then including it. Not to mention lost potential accessory sales in the future.

My guess is its some kind of firmware setting, or they're using some kind of PSK / Key system on the Nav SD cards to enable it. I tried my Edge SD card in my Focus and it did not accept it.

That means there's more to it then a simple SD card.
OakvilleFocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 08:30 PM   #6
hotleadsingerguy
Focus Addict
 
hotleadsingerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86687
Location: Cleveland, United States
What I Drive: 2012 Black Titanium 5-Door

Posts: 882
FF Reputation: 5 hotleadsingerguy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
All of the hardware is there. It's a few switches in the firmware that need to be set, but they can't be set on the hardware unless they're in a car that can support the features. When the techs connect to set all of the switches it checks the VIN and downloads the switch settings from the Ford database. There's no way to "bypass" this unless you can find a way to alter the firmware yourself.
hotleadsingerguy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 10:40 AM   #7
danno428cj
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Fan#: 38992
Location: Canada, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Titanium 4dr. Silver

Posts: 14
FF Reputation: 1 danno428cj Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have added NAV to my car. I had a 12 TI with MFT but no NAV. I found a smashed up 12 focus with NAV, took the APIM out (behind the screen) and the nav card. I changed the APIM with the one in my car, slammed the nav card in and bingo, I now have NAV.

Even did the 3.5.1 update on it, put in the new A4 sd card in, not a problem. It only takes 30 minutes to change an APIM max.

The only issue i have is that the doner car had a backup camera, so when in reverse the car show camera error and the screen goes blank. As soon as i go back to drive everything returns to normal.
danno428cj is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 02:31 PM   #8
hotleadsingerguy
Focus Addict
 
hotleadsingerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86687
Location: Cleveland, United States
What I Drive: 2012 Black Titanium 5-Door

Posts: 882
FF Reputation: 5 hotleadsingerguy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by danno428cj View Post
I have added NAV to my car. I had a 12 TI with MFT but no NAV. I found a smashed up 12 focus with NAV, took the APIM out (behind the screen) and the nav card. I changed the APIM with the one in my car, slammed the nav card in and bingo, I now have NAV.

Even did the 3.5.1 update on it, put in the new A4 sd card in, not a problem. It only takes 30 minutes to change an APIM max.

The only issue i have is that the doner car had a backup camera, so when in reverse the car show camera error and the screen goes blank. As soon as i go back to drive everything returns to normal.
Ya, it's easy to switch it all out. So which part, exactly, did you replace? I purchased an APIM through Ford (the all metal-exterior module screwed into the back of the screen) and even had it provisioned in a car that came with Nav (a FF user helped me out) and it still wouldn't provision with Nav.

It just didn't ever install that piece.
hotleadsingerguy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 02:54 PM   #9
danno428cj
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Fan#: 38992
Location: Canada, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Titanium 4dr. Silver

Posts: 14
FF Reputation: 1 danno428cj Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I replaced just the APIM, the metal box on the back of the screen.

If oyu get a new APIM from ford, it must be programed in a vehicle with nav using the proper ford IDS method. Confirm that the NAV works then transplant the part to your vehicle.

It sounds to me that the APIM programing procedures were not followed correctly.

If it was programmed in your car, the NAV will not be active.
danno428cj is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 03:31 PM   #10
hotleadsingerguy
Focus Addict
 
hotleadsingerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86687
Location: Cleveland, United States
What I Drive: 2012 Black Titanium 5-Door

Posts: 882
FF Reputation: 5 hotleadsingerguy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by danno428cj View Post
I replaced just the APIM, the metal box on the back of the screen.

If oyu get a new APIM from ford, it must be programed in a vehicle with nav using the proper ford IDS method. Confirm that the NAV works then transplant the part to your vehicle.

It sounds to me that the APIM programing procedures were not followed correctly.

If it was programmed in your car, the NAV will not be active.
I understand that. I initially had it programmed in my car, which may be where the problem lies, but I also had it re-flashed from scratch in another car (that came factory-equipped with nav) and it still didn't catch.

Maybe the issue is that I flashed it in mine, originally. Too bad. If that's the case, then the Nav APIM module can be purchased for like $700 from Ford (that's what I paid for the module). You'd have to find someone to let you throw it in his/her car to provision at a dealership...but it's like a 20 minute process on each end. Offer to buy them lunch
hotleadsingerguy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat