Oxygen Sensors, OL faults, and crazy volts - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 02:36 PM   #11
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,057
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Someone doesn't know how to wire up O2 sensors, or have any basic understanding of how electrical circuits work- assuming all 3 wires were twisted together.

If you have to purchase new O2 sensors, pay the extra like $10 for an OEM. In fact, check with Village Ford, one of our vendors, and see what his price is on Motorcraft sensors for your car. It might be cheaper than you think. Supposedly we get employee discounts through them. We have had more than a few people blame problems on Bosch O2 sensors.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2013, 11:11 PM   #12
SanduskySerpents
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78065
Location: Va Bch, VA
What I Drive: 02 Silver Focus SE

Posts: 202
FF Reputation: 4 SanduskySerpents Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
so rewired installed harness and new o2 and it didn't change anything....still going into open loop fault after warm up. above 1100 rpms the engine sounds fine but below that it sounds like its dieseling.....putter putter...similar to a misfire but its not???.....almost like its out of time but i dont think that a higher rpm would fix that if it was a timing issue....i cant get this thing to throw a code for the life of me either....i can drive it it just cant idle!!!!!


also it started in OL as expected....warmed up a bit switched to CL and then bottomed out the O2 sensor readings and switched to OL FAULT....so they are working the PCM just switched to OL Fault and i dont know why.
SanduskySerpents is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:47 PM   #13
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 4,080
FF Reputation: 21 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Sure you don't have vacuum leak? Will start up fine cold and warm up until going to CL then when O2 doesn't switch the system shows fault. Motor goes to crap at that point. Upstream will show like .1 volt and no switching, stuck on low volts.........I've have them run for a good while (week plus) and never post a light doing that. Will run fine at higher than idle speeds since the leak affects less there.

On both of mine the PCV entry point at manifold was cracked open.

My cars read 18-19% TPS at idle running normally.
amc49 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:53 PM   #14
SanduskySerpents
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78065
Location: Va Bch, VA
What I Drive: 02 Silver Focus SE

Posts: 202
FF Reputation: 4 SanduskySerpents Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
already did the PCV vacuum hose last year and checked it again while running....sprayed carb and choke cleaner around no spikes..... unplug IACV instant death....unplug MAF instant death....

if it had a vacuum leak wouldn't still go into CL???
SanduskySerpents is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:58 PM   #15
jetrinka
Focus Fanatic
 
jetrinka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45622
Location: Snohomish, WA
What I Drive: 88 5-speed XR4TI

Posts: 7,528
FF Reputation: 180 jetrinka Excellent Standing Memberjetrinka Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
How are you sure its in open loop? Do you have a scantool with the ability to tell you so?

If it is going into open loop and staying there it will be ignoring the O2 sensors completely and running purely off predetermined tables. This is what you must find out. I still think you need to verify your powers and grounds to the ECU.
jetrinka is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:10 AM   #16
SanduskySerpents
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78065
Location: Va Bch, VA
What I Drive: 02 Silver Focus SE

Posts: 202
FF Reputation: 4 SanduskySerpents Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
You must not have read the previous posts.....yes i do....its a snap on ethos....its not that the sensors arent working it just stays in OPEN LOOP, FAULT..... if i reset the pcm and run the car i can get it into CL....it just switches once it idles for a minute.
SanduskySerpents is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:14 AM   #17
SanduskySerpents
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78065
Location: Va Bch, VA
What I Drive: 02 Silver Focus SE

Posts: 202
FF Reputation: 4 SanduskySerpents Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
also if the main ground for ECU isn't connected it you cant start the engine...since the ECU is a series of signal and ground wires what you are suggesting is that i back probe ever single wire to the ECU? there's about 104 wires in that thing....thought i did check the power distribution box...all fine.
SanduskySerpents is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:54 PM   #18
jetrinka
Focus Fanatic
 
jetrinka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45622
Location: Snohomish, WA
What I Drive: 88 5-speed XR4TI

Posts: 7,528
FF Reputation: 180 jetrinka Excellent Standing Memberjetrinka Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Just trying to help...

The fact that the car isn't setting any codes and running so poorly gives me the gut feeling that something is wrong with the ECU or one of the power or ground feeds to it. The ECU will have several powers and grounds, not just one. It is not in a series circuit.
jetrinka is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:04 PM   #19
SanduskySerpents
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78065
Location: Va Bch, VA
What I Drive: 02 Silver Focus SE

Posts: 202
FF Reputation: 4 SanduskySerpents Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I know it's not a series circuit, just a a turn of phrase. I think I have it solved not sure yet. Update in a few
SanduskySerpents is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:08 PM   #20
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,427
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Did you ever check the o2 fuses ? You wouldnt have a bad ECU for these issues and it doesnt surprise me your not getting any codes for this , check the o2 fuses

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.