Aftermarket remote starters - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2013, 06:49 AM   #1
JesseE1981
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88551
Location: Lansing, MI
What I Drive: 2012 Sterling Grey Focus Hatchback

Posts: 187
FF Reputation: 1 JesseE1981 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Aftermarket remote starters

Quick question....

For those of you who have installed an aftermarket remote starter, did those also require an additional key for the starter itself? I ask because, 1.) I've never owned one before and was told that was required in the past 2.) a friend of mine just gone an aftermarket starter installed in his car (not a Focus), and he said that there's some sort of device that just reads the key and that information gets stored somewhere within the starter unit, that you don't actually need another key.


JesseE1981 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2013, 09:51 AM   #2
SaToX
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94321
Location: Moncton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Titanium Hatch

Posts: 124
FF Reputation: 4 SaToX Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
That is correct they put in what is called a Bypass module. There are three main companies that make them Fortinhttp://www.ifar.ca Idatalink http://www.idatalink.com and Xpresskit http://www.xpresskit.com Some of these bypass' do more than just chip key overide's they can give you all kinds of status of your vehicle provided the remote starter they are hooked to accepts the data. The neat thing about some is that they will allow factory remotes to talk to aftermarket components such as alarms. AKA arm you aftermarket alarm by hitting lock on your factory key :)
SaToX is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:47 AM   #3
alfack
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91684
Location: Marysville, WA
What I Drive: 2012 sterling gray Titanium sedan

Posts: 112
FF Reputation: 1 alfack Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
So no, you don't need to use an additional key :)
alfack is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:13 AM   #4
PDQEagle
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Fan#: 9356
Location: Massachusetts
What I Drive: 03 Focus ZX3

Posts: 672
FF Reputation: 11 PDQEagle Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I put one in my wife's 08 Escape. All it gets is another push button fob. You need an automatic trans, though
PDQEagle is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:25 AM   #5
clayton89
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108214
Location: Fort Dodge, IA
What I Drive: 2006 Sonic Blue ZXW

Posts: 97
FF Reputation: 1 clayton89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
When working for my uncle he had a remote start put in his 2010 F250 Powerstroke. He had a bunch of spares made for it in case keys got lost. Long story short is that with we were able to use the Walmart cut keys to start it. That was awesome so that we didn't have to find the Original Ford keys everytime we went to go somewhere or move it.
clayton89 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:58 AM   #6
JesseE1981
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88551
Location: Lansing, MI
What I Drive: 2012 Sterling Grey Focus Hatchback

Posts: 187
FF Reputation: 1 JesseE1981 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Awesome, thanks for the info. I think I will investigate this a bit more after work and see about getting one installed.
JesseE1981 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:38 PM   #7
vegachicago
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89988
Location: Chicago, IL
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Sterling Grey

Posts: 170
FF Reputation: 2 vegachicago Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I got a Viper system installed and they said I needed to sacrifice one of my keys or spend 100.00 dollars more for the bypass module. I went with the module. My Viper system is just one long range 2way dongle with one button. It's great with below zero weather. And no, the engine does not stop when the door is opened like some Ford dealer installed systems. Ford techs really aren't experts in this field. It's amazing how stereo car geek installers know a lot more about remote installs than Ford.
vegachicago is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.