cant get usb to work on sync - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2013, 06:22 PM   #1
focustamer
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 109127
Location: south jordan, UT
What I Drive: 2012 race red se sedan

Posts: 24
FF Reputation: 1 focustamer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
cant get usb to work on sync

i cant get the usb feature to work on my sync its not a mft just the regular sync and everything on the dash works like the radio, sirius, cd, line just not usb. when i voice command it "USB" it goes to line in without making a chiming noise, when i manually try it says initializing for like two minutes then goes to line in, can anyone help me with this? i have reset the system reset the ipod and set everything back to factory default nothing seems to work


focustamer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2013, 08:10 PM   #2
Kabigon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88299
Location: Torrance, CA
What I Drive: 2012 sterling gray Titanium

Posts: 3,078
Points 3,786, Level 38
Points: 3,786, Level: 38 Points: 3,786, Level: 38 Points: 3,786, Level: 38
Level Up 91% Completed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Forum Activity 8%
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
FF Reputation: 11 Kabigon Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
For troubleshooting purposes try a USB flash drive with some MP3 files.
__________________
I am Kabigon and I approve this message.
Kabigon is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2013, 03:30 PM   #3
dbenney
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1195
Location: Lansing, MI
What I Drive: 2012 Tuxedo Black SEL

Posts: 285
Points 895, Level 15
Points: 895, Level: 15 Points: 895, Level: 15 Points: 895, Level: 15
Level Up 95% Completed
Level up: 95% Level up: 95% Level up: 95%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 5 dbenney Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
what ipod do you have? I had an old ipod classic 5th gen and it did the same thing. Not all the time, but it was hot or miss. sometimes it would work, sometimes it wouldnt. I bought a 5th gen ipod touch and it works flawlessly.
dbenney is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2013, 05:29 PM   #4
focustamer
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 109127
Location: south jordan, UT
What I Drive: 2012 race red se sedan

Posts: 24
FF Reputation: 1 focustamer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have an old iPhone I use and I have tried my new iPhone neither work its like it won't pick up USB it used to work great then one day stopped, normally even if you have nothing plugged in and you use voice command "USB" it will say no device or whatever mine goes straight to line in
focustamer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2013, 09:08 PM   #5
2stepbay
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 109720
Location: Honaunau, HI
What I Drive: 2013 SE Focus Hatchback…Silver

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 2stepbay Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Have you tried another USB cable?
2stepbay is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2013, 09:42 AM   #6
focustamer
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 109127
Location: south jordan, UT
What I Drive: 2012 race red se sedan

Posts: 24
FF Reputation: 1 focustamer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Ya I've tried two cables too I was hoping to get it working but it doesn't sound like a common problem so maybe the dealership is the answer
focustamer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-11-2013, 06:22 PM   #7
focustamer
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 109127
Location: south jordan, UT
What I Drive: 2012 race red se sedan

Posts: 24
FF Reputation: 1 focustamer Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
pulled the fuse and works like new again thanks guys
focustamer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.