Where to run 1/0 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2012, 11:54 AM   #1
austinpetemo
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85098
Location: Hallettsville, TX, TX
What I Drive: 2002 Black ZX5

Posts: 260
FF Reputation: 3 austinpetemo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Where to run 1/0

Hi all. I'd like to run some 1/0 gauge wire to replace the 8 gauge crap that I have right now. My current power wire is ran thru the dead pedal thing (automatic trans) and I was wondering if I could fit 1/0 or if I'd have to find another place to run. The reason being is that I'd rather not drill the firewall. My system consists of a Polk pa-600 (pushes 85rms to 4 chan) running front components and on the future maybe rear coax. And a power acoustic amp (claims 300rms bridged, its prolly 200 tho) pushing a small sub until I can afford to upgrade my sub stage. In the future I plan on upgrading to a actual 300-500w sub amp.

1:0 is overkill for my application but for $54 from Knu (cca, not ofc) it seems like a good plan to minimize voltage loss and if I choose to upgrade farther in the future ill have the headroom to do it.


austinpetemo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-21-2012, 12:03 PM   #2
austinpetemo
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85098
Location: Hallettsville, TX, TX
What I Drive: 2002 Black ZX5

Posts: 260
FF Reputation: 3 austinpetemo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Oh and I thought I'd put this out there. I found the poor mans alternative to ccf for road noise elimination. At Walmart they sell blue tent sleeping pads that are closed cell foam. I bough one pad for $6 and it was enough to cover my hatch floor. It's also pretty thick, I'd say around .5-.75 inch. I plan on buying more and attaching it inside my door panels to try an cancel out more road noise as well as provide padding between my door cards and the doors frame which I'm hoping will help also reduce panel vibrations. I'm thinking GE silicone ought to be able to hold it in place nicely. But I'm open to ideas for better adhesives.
austinpetemo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2012, 03:30 PM   #3
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 4,340
Points 6,120, Level 50
Points: 6,120, Level: 50 Points: 6,120, Level: 50 Points: 6,120, Level: 50
Level Up 85% Completed
Level up: 85% Level up: 85% Level up: 85%
Forum Activity 54%
Activity: 54% Activity: 54% Activity: 54%
FF Reputation: 24 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (22)
3M Super 77 FTW
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2012, 04:25 PM   #4
austinpetemo
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85098
Location: Hallettsville, TX, TX
What I Drive: 2002 Black ZX5

Posts: 260
FF Reputation: 3 austinpetemo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Is that stuff heat proof? In the south Texas heat the interior of my car gets rediculously hot.
austinpetemo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2012, 11:08 PM   #5
Elizabeth
Focus Fanatic
 
Elizabeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89280
Location: SouthEast, WI
What I Drive: '12 Yellow Focus SE stick, 17"rims

Posts: 3,022
Points 12,618, Level 73
Points: 12,618, Level: 73 Points: 12,618, Level: 73 Points: 12,618, Level: 73
Level Up 43% Completed
Level up: 43% Level up: 43% Level up: 43%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 14 Elizabeth Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Planning on welding? Or competing SPLs?
otherwise 8 gauge is totally enough and even overkill.. But it is what folks use. Spend your money on a stiffening cap.
Elizabeth is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2012, 08:38 AM   #6
FocusedSlayer
has a screw loose
 
FocusedSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59042
Location: Crossville, AL
What I Drive: 2007 CD Silver Sedan SE w/Sap

Posts: 8,310
Points 7,696, Level 58
Points: 7,696, Level: 58 Points: 7,696, Level: 58 Points: 7,696, Level: 58
Level Up 73% Completed
Level up: 73% Level up: 73% Level up: 73%
Forum Activity 12%
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
FF Reputation: 34 FocusedSlayer Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I've got 1/0 run down on my drivers side under the carpet to the trunk where I have a distribution block then from there go to my amps with what size wire the amps recommend .
__________________
Team Duratec #01,Sedan Revolution#4, Elder FocusedSlayer, Gump Crew 21


February 2012 Sedan of The Month
FocusedSlayer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2012, 09:19 AM   #7
austinpetemo
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85098
Location: Hallettsville, TX, TX
What I Drive: 2002 Black ZX5

Posts: 260
FF Reputation: 3 austinpetemo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
@ Elizabeth - 8awg CCA I know for a fact is not sufficient for powering 2 amps running 600 rms total and around 900 when my subs are upgraded. If 4awg is only rated for 900-1000w then there is no way 8awg is enough. The higher resistance is going to heat that wire up and reduce the current and voltage reaching my amps. I'm aiming to provide my amps with favorable conditions so they can run their best.
austinpetemo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2012, 10:12 AM   #8
austinpetemo
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85098
Location: Hallettsville, TX, TX
What I Drive: 2002 Black ZX5

Posts: 260
FF Reputation: 3 austinpetemo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The smallest wire I will run is 4awg and only if it's 99.9ofc.

The reason being for the larger wire is because a 1/0 oversized CCA kit from Knu costs $54 where as a 4ofc from knu costs $49. For 5 bucks more I could potentially double my max amp draw in the event that I upgrade farther in the future. If the difference between copper and CCA is significant then I will go with the 4. I a mile from the bay so corrosion of cca could be a possibility???

Also, if you use a dist block for your power should you use a dist block on the ground. I've read that using it could cause ground loops, but I've also read that not using one could cause ground loops as well. Which is it?
austinpetemo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2012, 12:35 PM   #9
02Zetechse
Focus Fanatic
 
02Zetechse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Fan#: 65832
Location: Sardinia / Mt.Orab, OH
What I Drive: 2002 Satin Black SE

Posts: 1,950
FF Reputation: 6 02Zetechse Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
To Answer the OP's Question, Yes it will fit, Is it needed no .

As for the Distro Blocks, If you do it for one, do it for both When people pile multiple wires on top of each other on one ground point, it causes interference

As For CCA Corrosion, Where you live is almost 0% chance , I run CCA in Ohio , and have not had any issues

OH and Dont waste your money on a capacitor its a Big Joke
__________________
Current : 2 15s 149.5@56hz 2k rms Previous Trunk box 1 18 ,146.4@43hz 3500rms,Sony 12s 145.6@63hz
02Zetechse is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2012, 03:16 PM   #10
austinpetemo
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85098
Location: Hallettsville, TX, TX
What I Drive: 2002 Black ZX5

Posts: 260
FF Reputation: 3 austinpetemo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks zetecse, in that case ill go with 4g and ofc due to its lower resistance and peace of mind. Too bad there Arnt really any 2g kits, or at least not that I could find for a reasonable price, rather be extra safe but oh well.

I have a dc to ac converter that I use from time to time. If I hard wired it thru the dist blocks would it cause a loop?


And I found out caps were a waste a few years ago after I had already bought one. Thankfully i only lost $20 on that purchase.
austinpetemo is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.