US to UK light conversions - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2012, 10:06 PM   #1
USAFGuerin
Focus Rookie
 
USAFGuerin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107145
Location: Brandon, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2013 Silver Ingot FF Titainum

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 USAFGuerin Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
US to UK light conversions

SO... I just bought a new Titanium 4Dr and i need to figure out a way to get a fog light to work in the REAR. i don't want to install an exterior, and i would like to just convert one of the 3 brake lights (preferrably to boot-top) so that it would turn on and stay on with the front fogs. i've run into a few problems...

1) cut the wire to the brakelight and ran a wire all the way to the fuze relay in the passanger pannel. Problem was... the ground and the hotwire were both hot...

2) attempted to access the wires set behind the light control toggle in the driver side. Problem was... didn't light the rear.

my next option is to completely remove the front fogs and splice the wire from there to the back, but that is a LOT of work for a brand new car.

also, i could just run a toggle switch, but i kind of want to avoid that...

if there are any suggestions or alternatives, feel free to let me know!


USAFGuerin is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-09-2012, 10:50 PM   #2
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 9,749
FF Reputation: 42 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Doesn't that defeat the purpose of a 'fog light' (mounting it too high)?



Look into how the front fogs are switched by the light switch ...
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
iminhell is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 11:07 PM   #3
sailor
"Elder"
 
sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57268
Location: Williamsville, NY
What I Drive: 2004 Pitch Black ZTS 2.3 5spd.

Posts: 9,006
FF Reputation: 57 sailor Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Not quite understanding #1, since "ground" can't be "hot"....

You're in the UK and they sold you a US car?
sailor is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 11:09 PM   #4
goingFocus
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2010
Fan#: 75386
Location: San Diego, CA
What I Drive: 2005 CD silver ZX3 SES

Posts: 110
FF Reputation: 1 goingFocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
There is supposed to be an additional position on the headlight switch for the rear fog, click one and front, second click for the rear for as well as front fogs. Also, there is a pin on the back of the switch, I believe 83a, or 83b for the rear fog. Don't remember which, but if you consult your local Ford dealer service dept, I sure a tech will be able to pinpoint which one. It's a built in the EU lighting code. GL
goingFocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:03 AM   #5
USAFGuerin
Focus Rookie
 
USAFGuerin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107145
Location: Brandon, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2013 Silver Ingot FF Titainum

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 USAFGuerin Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Just a UK requirement. Doesn't really help, but one of those silly things they need for MOT/SVA
USAFGuerin is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:05 AM   #6
USAFGuerin
Focus Rookie
 
USAFGuerin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107145
Location: Brandon, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2013 Silver Ingot FF Titainum

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 USAFGuerin Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sailor View Post
Not quite understanding #1, since "ground" can't be "hot"....

You're in the UK and they sold you a US car?
Tried to wire it to the fuze relay... bad idea... but yes i'm military, so i bought my car from the states because i plan on eventually heading back :)
USAFGuerin is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:07 AM   #7
USAFGuerin
Focus Rookie
 
USAFGuerin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107145
Location: Brandon, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2013 Silver Ingot FF Titainum

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 USAFGuerin Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by goingFocus View Post
There is supposed to be an additional position on the headlight switch for the rear fog, click one and front, second click for the rear for as well as front fogs. Also, there is a pin on the back of the switch, I believe 83a, or 83b for the rear fog. Don't remember which, but if you consult your local Ford dealer service dept, I sure a tech will be able to pinpoint which one. It's a built in the EU lighting code. GL



I forgot to mention this is a US spec. there is no button for the rear fog, because there is no rear fog. i just need to wire a brakelight to make it turn on with the foglight so that i can pass the inspection for the UK req's. i'll look into that switchbox again. thanks!
USAFGuerin is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:18 AM   #8
sailor
"Elder"
 
sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57268
Location: Williamsville, NY
What I Drive: 2004 Pitch Black ZTS 2.3 5spd.

Posts: 9,006
FF Reputation: 57 sailor Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Well, for "quick" wiring since you have a wire run already - if you probe around that relay box 'til you find what wire goes "hot" when the fogs turn on, just tap into that & you're done!

The rear light isn't high power draw, so this should be adequate. It's not like adding high power fogs in the front, when you'd use that feed to run a relay & direct power from the battery to power them....

More like when you're installing a stereo & you just need to find a switched power source & an unswitched one - any wire that supplies what you need is adequate 'cause the extra draw is low.....

luck!
sailor is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.