Drivers Window Switch control swap/upgrade - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK3 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2012 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2014, 01:07 AM   #1
SR71Blackbird
Focus Rookie
 
SR71Blackbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Fan#: 180081
Location: Calgary, Canada
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black Focus SE Hatch

Posts: 6
Points 51, Level 1
Points: 51, Level: 1 Points: 51, Level: 1 Points: 51, Level: 1
Level Up 2% Completed
Level up: 2% Level up: 2% Level up: 2%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 SR71Blackbird Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Drivers Window Switch control swap/upgrade

Hey everyone i just bought a 2013 SE with leather, sunroof etc. Love it its a great car but i would like a few more features lol
I talked to a ford guy about swapping the radio consoles out and he said that the ones without the touchscreen dont have all the modules youd need to run them.
My other upgrade would be to switch out the drivers side windows selector from an SE to the titanium. The titanium has an auto feature for all four windows where the SE has only a down auto feature for the drivers side winow.

Does anyone have a clue if this is a simple swap or would there be missing modules like the middle console?

Thanks for your time!


SR71Blackbird is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-17-2014, 04:14 PM   #2
amplifier28
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 97039
Location: La Villa, TX
What I Drive: 2012 Ignot Silver Ford Focus SE

Posts: 54
Points 403, Level 8
Points: 403, Level: 8 Points: 403, Level: 8 Points: 403, Level: 8
Level Up 6% Completed
Level up: 6% Level up: 6% Level up: 6%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 amplifier28 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I am also interested in the window switch upgrade!
amplifier28 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2014, 09:34 PM   #3
Kent253
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Fan#: 181473
Location: Quebec, Canada
What I Drive: 2014 Focus SE Sport 5Speed

Posts: 235
Points 517, Level 10
Points: 517, Level: 10 Points: 517, Level: 10 Points: 517, Level: 10
Level Up 34% Completed
Level up: 34% Level up: 34% Level up: 34%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 1 Kent253 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Would be interesting to know.
Kent253 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2014, 02:52 AM   #4
sailor
Elder
 
sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57268
Location: Williamsville, NY
What I Drive: 2004 Pitch Black ZTS 2.3 5spd.

Posts: 16,811
Points 12,042, Level 71
Points: 12,042, Level: 71 Points: 12,042, Level: 71 Points: 12,042, Level: 71
Level Up 98% Completed
Level up: 98% Level up: 98% Level up: 98%
Forum Activity 99%
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
FF Reputation: 79 sailor Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I think this would be difficult, there was discussion in the MkIII section about the "global open/close" function possibility and apparently the higher trim levels have electronic modules in the doors for window control - how many doors with this varies by trim level.
__________________
"Rubber Side Down"

S.R. #275
sailor is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2014, 07:07 AM   #5
Kent253
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Fan#: 181473
Location: Quebec, Canada
What I Drive: 2014 Focus SE Sport 5Speed

Posts: 235
Points 517, Level 10
Points: 517, Level: 10 Points: 517, Level: 10 Points: 517, Level: 10
Level Up 34% Completed
Level up: 34% Level up: 34% Level up: 34%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 1 Kent253 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sailor View Post
I think this would be difficult, there was discussion in the MkIII section about the "global open/close" function possibility and apparently the higher trim levels have electronic modules in the doors for window control - how many doors with this varies by trim level.
I would at least love the auto windows in the front.
Kent253 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2014, 04:48 PM   #6
SilverPony2001
Focus Fanatic
 
SilverPony2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 27073
Location: Naperville, IL
What I Drive: 2013 SGM Sedan SE

Posts: 1,535
Points 6,241, Level 51
Points: 6,241, Level: 51 Points: 6,241, Level: 51 Points: 6,241, Level: 51
Level Up 46% Completed
Level up: 46% Level up: 46% Level up: 46%
Forum Activity 12%
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
FF Reputation: 9 SilverPony2001 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
It won't work, unless you want to switch out all the windows switches, plus add the door modules, more than likely rewire/add wires to the modules, and flash the BCM.

Cheap alternative:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=324298
SilverPony2001 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2014, 04:04 PM   #7
SR71Blackbird
Focus Rookie
 
SR71Blackbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Fan#: 180081
Location: Calgary, Canada
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black Focus SE Hatch

Posts: 6
Points 51, Level 1
Points: 51, Level: 1 Points: 51, Level: 1 Points: 51, Level: 1
Level Up 2% Completed
Level up: 2% Level up: 2% Level up: 2%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 SR71Blackbird Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
that's an affordable alternative!
thank you for the help guys
SR71Blackbird is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2014, 04:50 PM   #8
ELCouz
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Fan#: 157898
Location: montreal, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 focus SE hatchback candy blue

Posts: 536
Points 1,611, Level 23
Points: 1,611, Level: 23 Points: 1,611, Level: 23 Points: 1,611, Level: 23
Level Up 11% Completed
Level up: 11% Level up: 11% Level up: 11%
Forum Activity 49%
Activity: 49% Activity: 49% Activity: 49%
FF Reputation: 1 ELCouz Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverPony2001 View Post
It won't work, unless you want to switch out all the windows switches, plus add the door modules, more than likely rewire/add wires to the modules, and flash the BCM.

Cheap alternative:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=324298
Also Door module to BCM wiring is different... it needs to provide power at all time which anything lower than Titanium (or maybe SEL) don't provide.
ELCouz is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2014, 02:07 AM   #9
Kyle51895
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Kyle51895's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Fan#: 131161
Location: Tampa, FL
What I Drive: 2014 Sterling Gray Focus SE

Posts: 48
Points 275, Level 5
Points: 275, Level: 5 Points: 275, Level: 5 Points: 275, Level: 5
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 Kyle51895 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It's funny to see this here, I was about to post about how I was going to switch out my window switches with an SEL tonight purely for the chrome aesthetic value, and to my surprise found the auto up/down feature. Anyway, long story short the SEL/Titanium connector has about 5 prongs/wires while my SE had about 10 wires and a huge clip. I was thoroughly surprised (and disappointed) Ford really made it so that the S/SE models really can't take much from the higher trims!

I was eyeballing the Homelink visor in the 2012 or 2013 SEL I was taking the switches out of, however I'm not too sure I want to give up the sliding feature my visor has currently. I also noticed the SEL I was in didn't have leather, which I was pretty sure the "L" signified. That said, I have an SE with leather haha.
__________________
2003 Saturn Vue 5 Speed - 08/22/11-12/27/13 (Given to my sister)
2011 Ford Focus SES - 12/27/13-4/4/14 Traded
2014 Ford Focus SE 5 Speed - 4/4/2014-Present
I love my American car!
Kyle51895 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2014, 09:06 PM   #10
SilverPony2001
Focus Fanatic
 
SilverPony2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 27073
Location: Naperville, IL
What I Drive: 2013 SGM Sedan SE

Posts: 1,535
Points 6,241, Level 51
Points: 6,241, Level: 51 Points: 6,241, Level: 51 Points: 6,241, Level: 51
Level Up 46% Completed
Level up: 46% Level up: 46% Level up: 46%
Forum Activity 12%
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
FF Reputation: 9 SilverPony2001 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle51895 View Post
It's funny to see this here, I was about to post about how I was going to switch out my window switches with an SEL tonight purely for the chrome aesthetic value, and to my surprise found the auto up/down feature. Anyway, long story short the SEL/Titanium connector has about 5 prongs/wires while my SE had about 10 wires and a huge clip. I was thoroughly surprised (and disappointed) Ford really made it so that the S/SE models really can't take much from the higher trims!

I was eyeballing the Homelink visor in the 2012 or 2013 SEL I was taking the switches out of, however I'm not too sure I want to give up the sliding feature my visor has currently. I also noticed the SEL I was in didn't have leather, which I was pretty sure the "L" signified. That said, I have an SE with leather haha.
Yeah, a while back I bought a couple SEL/Ti switches from Ford to see how easy they would be to switch into an SE just for the looks. But since the SEL/Ti switches are controlled by door modules, they are wired completely different. You can't even pop off the cover of one switch and put it on the other because they are different.



SilverPony2001 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat