Possible to add nav to my ford touch without nav - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2012, 08:43 AM   #11
Kenpo_zx3
Focus Enthusiast
 
Kenpo_zx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18282
Location: Garden City, United States
What I Drive: 2010 Evolution GSR

Posts: 289
FF Reputation: 1 Kenpo_zx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Haha it's all yours. I still need to find me a foci first. I may just make myself hold out till I find one with the right package for the right price.
__________________
Wicked White 2010 Lancer Evolution GSR SSS. Cobb Accessport, Perrin catback, UR test pipe, UR UICP, Cobb intake.
Kenpo_zx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2012, 08:46 AM   #12
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,148
FF Reputation: 23 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenpo_zx3 View Post
I looked those up. Sure enough it does list the head into with nav. I may have to dig into this a little bit.

Thanks for the other responses too.
If you hack the car by buying the unit that's already provisioned from a wrecked car (including the entire MFT module, as well as the screen, just changing one part alone won't work). Avoid taking it to the dealer for any other future updates or they will remove the navigation feature if they have to reflash the as-built data for the car based on its VIN and therefore this is very much at your own risk.
__________________
Moderator for: DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance, ST Performance, MK3 Focus
suss6052 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:49 AM   #13
Kenpo_zx3
Focus Enthusiast
 
Kenpo_zx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18282
Location: Garden City, United States
What I Drive: 2010 Evolution GSR

Posts: 289
FF Reputation: 1 Kenpo_zx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
This makes sense! I knew there would be a catch to it. Thanks for the input!
A dealer looking for me found a titanium with nav for me but no leather seats. It's in my range but I wonder if it is worth giving up the leather seats. What do you guys think? Go with the one with the nice two tone leather with MFT and no nav or cloth with nav. Or just wait to find both in my range?
__________________
Wicked White 2010 Lancer Evolution GSR SSS. Cobb Accessport, Perrin catback, UR test pipe, UR UICP, Cobb intake.
Kenpo_zx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:58 AM   #14
cheekedave
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103448
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Silver

Posts: 149
FF Reputation: 1 cheekedave Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by suss6052 View Post
If you hack the car by buying the unit that's already provisioned from a wrecked car (including the entire MFT module, as well as the screen, just changing one part alone won't work). Avoid taking it to the dealer for any other future updates or they will remove the navigation feature if they have to reflash the as-built data for the car based on its VIN and therefore this is very much at your own risk.
I am getting the scrap yard to provide me with the VIN of the car so I can have on hand if any updates are needed. I will make very sure any dealer, if ever they have to, will not screw up the software :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenpo_zx3 View Post
This makes sense! I knew there would be a catch to it. Thanks for the input!
A dealer looking for me found a titanium with nav for me but no leather seats. It's in my range but I wonder if it is worth giving up the leather seats. What do you guys think? Go with the one with the nice two tone leather with MFT and no nav or cloth with nav. Or just wait to find both in my range?
I bought the SEL with leather and LOVE it. I would purchase the leather over NAV, etc.. any day. Probably would be much more expensive to add Leather rather than get a NAV unit and work on doing that. Good luck!
cheekedave is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:06 AM   #15
terpsnation
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 105797
Location: College Park, MD
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Platinum White Titanium

Posts: 10
FF Reputation: 1 terpsnation Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I thought that w/ MyTouch and the 10 inch touchscreen, all you had to get was the Nav SD card to plug in to the console.

Mine came w/ the Nav SD card already plugged in. Pulling it out disables my nav, even though the option is still in the top right.

I guess I was mistaken :)
terpsnation is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:08 AM   #16
cheekedave
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103448
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Silver

Posts: 149
FF Reputation: 1 cheekedave Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by terpsnation View Post
I thought that w/ MyTouch and the 10 inch touchscreen, all you had to get was the Nav SD card to plug in to the console.

Mine came w/ the Nav SD card already plugged in. Pulling it out disables my nav, even though the option is still in the top right.

I guess I was mistaken :)
Just another trick Ford does :) With my car, I can not plug a SD card in. Well, I physically can (durrrr) but it will not enable Nav for me. I have to track down and physically change the whole head unit to basically frankenstein it to make it work with NAV.
cheekedave is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:21 AM   #17
gsxrboy
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103574
Location: Brampton, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Black Focus Titanium

Posts: 175
FF Reputation: 3 gsxrboy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I never believed in the NAV systems car companies provide. They are never updated as quickly as I would like and you are limited on the information it provides. (corrections and POI's are always outdated). I simply purchased a Pro Mount located by the passenger vent, use my Google Nexus phone with Waze to view up to the second traffic conditions and up to the second POI's. Currently Waze is available with Gas Station prices displayed if you enable it. They are always updating the software and all of this for free!
__________________
2012 Focus Titanium Black Manual

http://www.fuelly.com/driver/gsxrboy/focus
gsxrboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:21 AM   #18
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,148
FF Reputation: 23 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by terpsnation View Post
I thought that w/ MyTouch and the 10 inch touchscreen, all you had to get was the Nav SD card to plug in to the console.

Mine came w/ the Nav SD card already plugged in. Pulling it out disables my nav, even though the option is still in the top right.

I guess I was mistaken :)
You mean 8" screen, its not a 10" screen.

Secondly no, the SD card does contain the map data, but at the same time its not enough to allow you to enable navigation on a car that was not provisioned for navigation from the factory.

If your car was built with navigation from the factory the software and hardware is prepared for the SD card, but without the modules being programmed for navigation you'd have to frankenstein the system from an activated sync/mft module/ screen/ system from a wrecked car.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekedave View Post
Just another trick Ford does :) With my car, I can not plug a SD card in. Well, I physically can (durrrr) but it will not enable Nav for me. I have to track down and physically change the whole head unit to basically frankenstein it to make it work with NAV.
Well yes, its not directly tied into the sd card, but the SD card contains the map data that the navigation software needs to run.
__________________
Moderator for: DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance, ST Performance, MK3 Focus
suss6052 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:25 AM   #19
terpsnation
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 105797
Location: College Park, MD
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Platinum White Titanium

Posts: 10
FF Reputation: 1 terpsnation Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by suss6052 View Post
You mean 8" screen, its not a 10" screen.

Secondly no, the SD card does contain the map data, but at the same time its not enough to allow you to enable navigation on a car that was not provisioned for navigation from the factory.

If your car was built with navigation from the factory the software and hardware is prepared for the SD card, but without the modules being programmed for navigation you'd have to frankenstein the system from an activated sync/mft module/ screen/ system from a wrecked car.
I do indeed mean 8" :)

So basically, the Nav is already installed in the car, and the SD card is basically just the key to turn it on (w/ the map data in it of course)?
terpsnation is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:35 AM   #20
cheekedave
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103448
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Silver

Posts: 149
FF Reputation: 1 cheekedave Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I am only thinking about the nav head unit because I am going to be adding on park assist and the backup camera. Would look silly if I have all those features but no NAV :)
cheekedave is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.