How To: Reset TPMS with no learning tool - Page 3 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack

Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack The place to go for answers on wheel types, tire sizes, offset, wheel patterns and more.
Sponsored By:
Tire Rack


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2013, 08:28 PM   #21
annamal
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
annamal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67306
Location: Cleveland, OH
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Focus ST1

Posts: 26
FF Reputation: 1 annamal Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
This is fantastic! Just put the all-seasons on my ST and now I don't have to worry about idiot lights going off for no reason at all.
annamal is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-28-2013, 01:20 PM   #22
leppylep
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102648
Location: winnipeg, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 blue Ford Focus hatchback

Posts: 19
FF Reputation: 1 leppylep Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hi guys, been checking out this forum for a few things and seeing winter is on its way im looking at getting a set of winters for my 2012 focus titanium. It has currently 18's on it and for said i should put on 195/65R15's so pricing out tires and such, but im on the fence about bothering to get TPS sensors on my winter set. I love it on my truck so more then likely ill do it. But they want almost 70 a sensor. I normally look on Rockauto for all my parts and they have 7 to chose from ranging from $34 to $56. Has any one ever looked at these? dont have a specific link to the sensors because how they have their catalog set up but if some one could go to rockauto.com and take a look to give me a idea?
leppylep is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 10:43 AM   #23
CunFFS13
Focus Fanatic
 
CunFFS13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Fan#: 117411
Location: Cancun, Mexico
What I Drive: 2013 Sterling Gray Ford Focus S MT

Posts: 2,339
Points 2,226, Level 28
Points: 2,226, Level: 28 Points: 2,226, Level: 28 Points: 2,226, Level: 28
Level Up 51% Completed
Level up: 51% Level up: 51% Level up: 51%
Forum Activity 27%
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
FF Reputation: 6 CunFFS13 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What is a "hazard light button"??????
TY FYI
CunFFS13 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 04:48 PM   #24
block
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Fan#: 133889
Location: Baldwinsville, NY
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue SE 5 speed

Posts: 201
Points 119, Level 2
Points: 119, Level: 2 Points: 119, Level: 2 Points: 119, Level: 2
Level Up 38% Completed
Level up: 38% Level up: 38% Level up: 38%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 1 block Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I think those of you that are NOT getting errors but did not calibrate the sensor might be fooling yourselves. Based on posts, it seems the system requires us to tell it what the pressure the tire is when filled all the way and zero pressure. If you do not do this, it might assume the current pressure is the max pressure (or does it not notice a new sensor has been installed - the car's computer thinks the prior tires are installed?).

Let's assume your winter tire is 20% low when we install it and we leave it that way. Since the car has nothing else to go by, it might assume the tire is filled 100%. If it falls 10% (from already being underinflated by 20%), the "dummy light" won't come on because the car thinks the tire is only 10% low.

The sensor needs to be either an absolute pressure sensor AND be told what the correct pressure is for the tires currently in use, OR we need to tell it (calibration) what the correct pressure is for the tires. Otherwise there's no way the car can know what pressure is "low" for your tires. Since (according to various posts) we need to calibrate them, it seems to me the sensor is likely not absolute.

I have barely done anything with my car yet. i bought it recently and am driving a winter rat (my 99 Contour with V6)). Couldn't pass up $4500 in incentives, $500 coupon/cash form ford, and the dealer knocked off $1640. $6640 total off. A plain SE sedan manual coudl have been purchased for $13k I think. I paid under $16k and had $3k (or slightly more) in options. I paid $16k (new) for my 99 Contour, which other than the sweet/smooth V6 has no options on it.
block is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 11:16 AM   #25
mishka
Focus Addict
 
mishka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107408
Location: Germantown, MD
What I Drive: 13' TB SE Sport Sedan DCT 201A pack

Posts: 987
Points 2,178, Level 28
Points: 2,178, Level: 28 Points: 2,178, Level: 28 Points: 2,178, Level: 28
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 4%
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
FF Reputation: 1 mishka Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
hey all. just saw this thread first time. I've yet to read it all, but I got a message saying "train left front tire" i've never seen before. The air pressure was okay. I guess i'll try doing the step by step to train the tires . I'm under warranty... will the dealership do it for me?

thanks
__________________
~ Shadowfax ~
mishka is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 06:03 PM   #26
5speedRuby
Focus Enthusiast
 
5speedRuby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Fan#: 119198
Location: Phillipsburg, NJ
What I Drive: 2013 Ruby Red 5 Speed Hatchback

Posts: 259
FF Reputation: 1 5speedRuby Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
i find i dont believe this, not so the procedure but i have had 3 sets of wheels and 3 different sets of TPMS sensors of off 3 different types of cars and never once has my focus needed a relearn. i had factory 16" wheels with ford tpms. than switched to 18" aftermarkets with TPMS sensors from an ST. and currently have 19" 2014 ford fusion wheels with the factory fusion TPMS sensors installed and as soon as i switched my wheels all three times the focus automatically relearns itself like its supposed to. never once had a tire light on due to needing a relearn procedure
__________________
I Live My Life A Quarter Mile At A Time -Vin Diesel
Inked and Employed, Full Time Mechanic
Hatch Nation #94
Instagram - amu_chodie follow me!
16.8 seconds at 88.9 mph 3rd gear
5speedRuby is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 01:05 PM   #27
fixyasometea
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86919
Location: tampa, FL
What I Drive: Grey ZX3

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 fixyasometea Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hello thought I'd let you guys know titantpms.com carries pretty much every make and model tpms. I have all the relearns. I'm a agent for them email me with any questions! Andrewtitantpms@gmail.com.
fixyasometea is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.